We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best front desk ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
La Porte, IN
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“best front desk ever”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had the best front desk experience ever. Very efficient check in. I called the front desk a little later asking for advice on Pizza deliveyr, she recommended a place across the street and she had a menu if I wanted to come to the front desk and get it. When I went down there to pick it up she had not only the menu but had printed off a list of all pizza places in town and high lighted the ones that delivered. Sometimes it is just those little things that can make a difference.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boaterbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    29
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
62
29
4
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Hard to get to because of construction! But worth the effort!
Great room, great staff. Had refrigerator, 2 burner stove, micro, and a dishwasher. more than we needed for our 1night stay. BUT the only motel I've ever stayed in with NO ice machine ! Everything else is very good

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrnjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Needed a place to stay for an early flight out of Central Wi airport. This was the best deal in town. This place does not disappoint! We entered and the front desk staff were friendly and handed us a key in no time. Our room had a king size bed, mini stove, full sized fridge, dishwasher, and sink. The bathroom is spacious with a new tub shower. And the place is amazingly clean! I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMck07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAUWATOSA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My dog and I stayed here while attending a dog show at the Patriot Center. Room was clean and stocked. Nice they had a designated dog walk area complete with plastic bags and waste receptacle. Upon our arrival, my dog received a special treat bag and there was a dog treat jar located in the lobby! Nice touch! (Just wish she could also get points towards her getting a free stay too!) Everything in the room worked and appreciated having enough outlets, including one at the desk for the computer. Comfy desk chair, too. I was delightfully surprised to find a pack of popcorn in the microwave when I opened it, another nice touch!
I was very impressed with the staff, they were all very pleasant. There was a young man working in the evenings that seemed to be a jack-of-all trades, he was not only pleasant but seemed to have a strong work ethic. This staff understood HOSPITALITY. I really felt welcome. Even though I didn't have any special needs or concerns, I think they would have been well handled if I did. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyann73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Very clean and comfortable Candlewood. Staff was very courteous and friendly. Location was far enough off the highway that noise was not an issue. I would not hesitate to stay here again for business or with family.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpharkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekka S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at Candlewood Suites. We appreciate hearing your comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here fall of 2012' neighborhood had a power outage, the staff ha d no idea what to do. One flashlight in hotel, told
To use out cellphone to find our way around, no lights in the staircases how nobody got hurt was very lucky. Had to be on south end of Wausau for work so decided to try it again ( power was on when I pulled in) rooms ok lady at desk could not tell me how to get the tv to work (a guest got it to work for me) they do have a free shuttle to the local airport which is nice as you can leave your vehicle at the hotel and avoid the airport parking fee.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MIFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear MIFire,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the shuttle service.

However, We’re sorry about the power outage during your stay. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slinger, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

we were in town for some business, we generally stay at a different hotel but they decided not to honor the rate I have received there for the past 2 years so we stayed here. All I can do is thenk the Days for not honoring the rate, this hotel is far superior, much nicer in every way! When we return to Wausau area this is where we will be staying,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chevydmax04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Rothschild
52 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
Address: 803 W Industrial Park Avenue, Rothschild, WI 54474
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of Hwy 51/I-39 at Exit 185, on Wausau's south side, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau/Rothschild Hotel is the perfect choice for your stay. In addition to our easy to find location, we are just a short walk to the Patriot Center & only 11 miles from the Central Wisconsin Airport (CWA) & Granite Peak Ski Hill at the Rib Mountain State Park. During your stay, relax in one of our spacious guest rooms & one-bedroom suites complete with fully-equipped kitchens, free HSIA and wireless Internet access, 37-inch flat screen TVs with cable & DVD players. Our guests can enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning in our comfortable breakfast area. During your stay, take advantage of our state-of-the-art fitness center which is adjacent to our free guest laundry facility. Grill out during the great summer days in our Gazebo Grill available to guests or relax in the great atmosphere of our pool area. In town for business? Utilize our well-equipped business center & well-lit executive desk, two-line speaker phone & voicemail in each guest room. Our hotel offers easy access to all Wausau area business destinations including Greenheck(R) Fan Corporation, United Healthcare, Siemens, Domtar, WPS(R) and the Weston Power Plant. Make BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau/Rothschild Hotel your base of operations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Rothschild
Candlewood Rothschild
Rothschild Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing