We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Found Heaven in the Northwoods”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Germain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serenity Bay Resort
Appleton, WI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We Found Heaven in the Northwoods”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have been going "up north" since we were kids and this is, by far, the best place we've ever stayed at. We stayed in the new townhomes and loved every minute of it! The townhomes are beautiful, spacious and clean! It looked like the unit was never used by anyone else! Mary and Bill were very welcoming and helpful, no matter what the question or request. The grounds are simply beautiful and perfectly maintained. My husband enjoyed fishing to the max--the fish were biting! The boat and motor he rented were in great shape. The resort also has cabins they rent out but we prefer the townhomes. We are eager to come back and enjoy telling all of our friends about the great time we had at Serenity Bay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poipupatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This resort is in the heart of the NorthWoods. It is minutes away from the shops and supper
Clubs, [Restaurants] of St. Germain - Eagle River - Minocqua- Boulder Junction and
Rhinelander.
The whole resort is so well kept and clean, that it looks like Disney World of the Northwoods!!


The fishing can be great, and it is not uncommon to come in with a limit of pan-fish,for
a fish fry or to be thrilled by a bass- a northern pike - or a musky!!!!!
Clean your fish in a brand new fish operating room; designed for fish surgery of all kinds!!!!
If you bicycle, bring the bikes along or rent them. Ride the miles of paved trails through the woods. It's Amazing!!!!!
The kids have a blast with the unending things to do-play with- and enjoy at this resort.
They don't want to go home.
The people that run this resort will take care of everything, there middle name is WORK and they enjoy there job.
The Fall Colors are breathtaking in this area and they have many Fall Festivals here in the northwoods. A day trip to the U.P. is very enjoyable, Bond Falls or porcupine Mts. are highly recommended.
After Thirty-eight years of vacations in this area ''SERENITY BAY'' is the most enjoy-able time we have ever spent up here. Thanks for great vacation!!!!
The Knopf''s

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ralph k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We have vacationed at Serenity Bay for 30 years and hope to do it for 30 more. It's been such a special part of our family life that our adult children fly in from both coasts to join us each summer.
The minute we drive in we at home again ! We know exactly what to expect because Bill and Mary (the owner's) work tirelessly to keep the cottages (homes) and grounds beautifully maintained --- we have never been disappointed ! The cottages are warm and friendly and are always being updated.... it would be hard to find anything nicer.The beach is the finest we've seen in the North woods.
Bill and Mary provide a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and do whatever they can to make our stay more enjoyable. We can't rate it highly enough.3

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TandJ465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

After spending fifteen weeks over the span of as many years at this resort I believe it's time to save many of you time if you're looking for a superb getaway destination. Keep in mind that this resort has gone condo several years ago and is NOT owner operated. To that point, the current on site management team (Bill & Mary) are a magnificent pair which have demonstrated their fine tuned business acumen along with extraordinary grounds/cabin upkeep. They have accomplished this while they have always treated my family like they are apart of their own.
Most of the cabins/units have a terrific view of Little St. Germain's South Bay framed by the wonderful beach, which happens to be not natural, thus leads to an expense this resort proudly maintains. The two fire pits, tennis courts shuffle board, and gaming room are all welcome extras. Our cabin provides us with more than enough amenities, since our owner recently "sprung" to remodel the kitchen, bathroom, and master bedroom mattress.
We love the fact that Serenity Bay has provided our family with so many wonderful vacation memories over a decade and a half, yet truly dislike the fact that it seems to always be the fastest week of the year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank djhazer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Friends always ask us why we don't change our vacation plans from year to year, and we always say we cannot mess with perfection! This was our sixth year, and each year it keeps getting better! The resort is immaculate, the sandy beach is awesome, the cabins are beautiful, the management is always accomodating, and the friendships we have made are everlasting. We spend our days on the beach swimming, boating, tubing, and socializing. Whenever we need anything, Mary and Bill are right there to help. Having onsight management keeps everything working perfectly, and it also helps keep the resort limited to Serenity Bay guests only. The cabins are equipped with the modern conveniences of home, are updated beautifully, and all have a lake view. There are tennis courts, a playground, basketball hoop, campfire pit with fresh-cut wood, fishing boats, piers, paddle boat, and kayaks for all to enjoy for free. There is also a gift shop with sweat shirts, t-shirts, and other items to purchase.

If you're looking for a getaway vacation that your children will cherish forever, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: Cottages are two or three-bedroom, fully furnished with full kitchens. Not a hotel, but a resort w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joemama31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My family and I just returned from our annual summer vacation in the Northwoods. We have been going for several years to the area but this will be our third at Serenity Bay Resort. I went to Trip Advisor to write a glowing review of the resort as well as for the owners Mary and Bill and was taken aback by the recent posting of a guest.

As I mentioned, we have been going to the Northwoods for several years which means we have stayed at many resorts and none can compare to Serenity Bay Resort as well as its owners - Mary and Bill.

Mary and Bill work tirelessly to meet the expectations of its guests. They have gone above and beyond to make each guest welcome. I can attest to this because of the treatment we receive as well as what we have witnessed with other guests.

Mary and Bill are above reproach as owners of a resort and should be commended on the job they do, not criticized.

My family and I count the days until we are there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed there last week it was a nice place and clean but the husband and wife team that run the place were very rude!!! If you have anyone visit you they are basically attacked in the parking lot if they are not " reported to the front desk". We had friends that stayed next door at a another resort and they walked over to say hi when they were grilled about what they were doing there. Then in the morning I was brewing coffee and had something in the microwave and the power went out we had blown a fuse. I couldn't find the breaker box so I called Bill the manager/owner and he said the breaker box was in the basement which is locked he came right over a fixed the breaker. A couple days later my wife is in the bedroom using a hair dryer and I was using the microwave and boom power is off again. I called Bill again and he could not have been more rude and he said he was 2 hours away and wouldn't be back for hours, basically too bad deal with it, after I complained he did get someone out to fix it . FYI, if you are going to have limited electrical service in these cabins TELL THE PEOPLE AND GIVE THEM ACCESS TO THE BREAKER BOX SO THEY DON'T BOTHER YOU!! Like I said it's a nice place but if you want to pay a lot of money to be be treated like dirt and like you are imposing on the owners then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jrh60622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Germain
9.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
63 reviews
11.3 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
167 reviews
11.8 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#10 of 12 in Eagle River
53 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rustic Manor Motor Lodge
Rustic Manor Motor Lodge
#3 of 4 in Saint Germain
83 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Bay Resort

Property: Serenity Bay Resort
Address: 1276 Halberstadt Road, Saint Germain, WI 54558
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Saint Germain
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Saint Germain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Northwood's finest housekeeping resorts! Nine of our fourteen cabins are located on our 600 ft. of beautifully groomed sand beach. Our cabins are classic well maintained north woods lodges with spacious living rooms, cable TV, updated tile bathrooms with shower and tub, and up-to-date kitchens fully furnished for housekeeping, including microwaves and coffee makers. The Lakeview Townhomes are three bedroom newly built homes. Each unit features an open concept kitchen, dining and living room with vaulted ceiling, queen bedroom, two twins, full bath, gas fireplace, air conditioning and deck overlooking the lake. The lower level has a master bedroom with king bed, family room, second bath, washer/dryer and walk out patio. St. Germain is located in the center of it all with many area activities to make your visit enjoyable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serenity Bay Resort Saint Germain, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing