We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and Old Fashioned” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Pines Restaurant & Bar

Golden Pines Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious and Old Fashioned”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Enjoyed the Wisconsin Supper Club experience. Good, hearty German food and rustic, but pleasant atmosphere. Prime rib was cooked well, but my husband thought a little garlicky taste. I enjoyed the wiener schnitzel. Any dish can be "oscarized" for a true Wisconsin/German taste. Very good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lori1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Just a great up north feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I love the rib eye here. Although I have had other meals. that is my favority. Usually the nightly specials are great because the owner really puts a focus to what is on special. The problem is uncertainty as to how many people will come in. They sometimes run out. So check early.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank biknrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not the restaurant it use to be!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

First of all, some of the staff do not like children. I know that because of the dirty looks I got. Second of all, they serve reheated, store bought frozen chicken patties that they use for their Chicken Oscar. Not homemade! Not only was it dry and tasteless, it cost $18 for a poor rendition of this meal. The sandwiches are okay, but the "out of the can" food is not! This use to be a much better restaurant! We're done till we hear something's changed (maybe new management).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
196 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Had the steaks, both meals were great. Came with an excellent rice. Parking easy, was crowded, but service was fast and attentive. Will be going back here each Summer from now on. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seanyy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We have been visiting St.Germain for years, and about 4 years ago we found the Golden Pines, now it on our list!We were snowmobiling with a group of 8 on valentines day, I called at 9:00, when they normally stop serving, told them we could be there in 30 min, and they waited for us! Now our friends are believers also, do yourself a favor and find out, not cheap,but worth it!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Pines Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Golden Pines Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing