We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place sux” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint Germain
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place sux”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

It has really gone downhill since the Misanas took over...Horrible food,rude people..Don't waste your money here whatever you do...

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nobleenigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane C, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
New Ownership since Sept 2014. Lots of improvements have been made and many, many more on the way. Give the new owner and staff a chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    42
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
69
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

What we'll remember is Renee at the front desk who took the time to research geocaching opportunities in the area for us. Her extra effort made our experience special.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northwoodsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

My family is quite diverse & we all enjoy different things. The one thing we all agree on is going to the Black Bear for a vacation. The resort remains true to the northwoods feel that I appreciate from going to this area all of my life for vacations, but it is modern enough for my husband & son who are true city people. The cabins are emaculate & well maintained & even the beds are comfortable!! It is obvious that the resort owners & staff at this location really care about this property & about the people who come to stay with them. What a great value!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osborne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison, wi.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

Black Bear Lodge 7/4 – 7/11/2009

We arrived about 10:00 pm and were greeted by a very helpful reception. I felt at ease and relieved to be treated as a welcome guest. The grounds were very quit and peaceful. We were given resort information about kids activities, the facilities, even the local fishing guide came by and gave a presentation about the history, kinds of fish, where to catch them & many tips and pointers. The Lodge had a very nice bar and restaurant, with a very tasteful décor - the food was Excellent and very cheap. The beer when down smooth and the camaraderie was very pleasant, my whole family felt special. Even though we arrived after the restaurant had closed the owner opened it back up and made the food himself ! We stayed in the “Mallard” lodge, within 10 feet of the beach, it has a huge deck overlooking the peaceful bay. It had 3 bedrooms and all the kitchen items needed, even some complementary coffee. We could sit and watch the kids play and walk 30 feet to the boat pier, where we even caught enough fish for a great fish fry. We rented one of their pontoon boats, that was a very fun day. The whole family had plenty of room to roam around and cruise the lake. We met a lot of other guests that were all very friendly and we would not hesitate to come back in the future.

Mike

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmdmiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chgo hts, il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

You can not go wrong with your stay here. We have been coming here fishing on Little Saint for over 35 years, the past 18 with our grandson and extended family. We decided to try black bear for the beautiful view we would get from passing by in the boat at night. We stayed fall of 2007 in one of there cottages on the lake, changed fall 2008 to the lodge home and came back summer of 2009 , we are now spoiled. Will be coming back next year. They have a fantastic staff working here, everyone is so kind and they go out of there way to help you. I even called them asking for a phone # for a restaurant we wanted to eat at , from our car , and no problem at all they looked up the # for us. There house keeping staff is great . The place is so clean , and I am fussy. We had awful weather half of the week we were there, but thank goodness we were staying in this beautiful place overlooking the water, with fireplace and all . In our fall stay , my sister in law got very sick and had to stay in almost the whole week, she was so happy she had such a great place to recoup in. Black Bear staff when they heard of her being sick , sent over tea and soup for her to make her stay more comfortable. They are the best. One of the other resorts we stayed at were only out for the cash and could have cared less about people, but black bear and there staff truely care about making your stay with them a great time. They also now have extended there menu in the Black Bear den with the best Walleye ever. Even tho our weather for this summer was poor it did not stop us from having a great time and fishing was still as good as ever.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank altymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

Went on the golfing special with my three adult sons. Played three different very nice courses (plus a short Par 3) and had a thoroughly good time (although it did snow on us a little bit on our third day!) The package deal allowed us to sample different places to eat/drink/shop! All-in-all we thought it was a great bonding experience for us and have told many friends about it -- some will be following through with a visit most likely.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Razz1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at Blackbear lodge for our honeymoon. It was the quiet time of the year and it was so peaceful! We stayed in one of the jacuzzi lodge homes. It was very clean, very spacious and we loved the fireplace. We will definitely be returning in the future. The fishing was good, we caught many crappies and blue gill, even a couple bass, but we weren't real familiar with the lake. I would recommend a fighing guide. As we sat on our patio, right in front of the water, all we could hear were birds, squirrels, and the quiet hum of boats in the background. We ate dinner at the Bears Den Lounge 2 nights. Great food and atmosphere! We highly recommend Blackbear Lodge!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylaandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Germain
11.3 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
9.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#10 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn
1.4 mi away
Rustic Manor Motor Lodge
Rustic Manor Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Saint Germain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Property: Black Bear Lodge
Address: 1330 Halberstadt Rd, Saint Germain, WI 54558-8748
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Saint Germain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint Germain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family resort and restaurant overlooks Little St. Germain Lake and offers cottages and lodge homes year 'round. Abundant peace and quiet, sports and activities, amenities too numerous to mention, and the best guest service staff in the business. Golf and fishing packages, family reunions, weddings, business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Saint Germain
Black Bear Resort
Black Bear Lodge Saint Germain, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing