We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back !”
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Germain
Reviewed 5 November 2006

We have stayed at Black Bear Lodge for several years and will not return after this year's visit. The restaurant has been closed and all the long time staff who made the stay so pleasant have been terminated. Our unit reeked of cigarette smoke and there were cigarette butts all over the patio, which tells me the standards have been lowered ( the office sent us Febreeze also). The lodge homes have gotten to be in desperate need of new mattresses to replace the old, lumpy ones, along with new carpeting and furniture. You pay a premium price to stay here and it seems that no one cares anymore now that the old staff is gone. I agree with the other review regarding the lack of toilet paper and paper towels, how cheap is that ? It's a shame to see a once lovely resort being neglected.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NorthwoodsTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane C, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

New Owners of the Resort since Sept. 2014. Many improvements made and lots more on the way. Consider giving Black Bear Lodge another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 169 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2006

We've stayed at Black Bear Lodge for 10 years and will not be returning again. We normally stay in a lodge home and altho very nice, the prices at this resort have gotten way out of hand. Every year there are huge increases and as of this year they have changed dates of quiet and low season to be almost non-existenet. We've tried to get a response from the owners (who we've come to know over the years) and they just aren't interested. They've let a number of there long-time employees go, only to have office staff that acts as if they don't care and are doing you a favor by assisting you. I find this outrageous after being very loyal guests over the years and also referring many people to them. It's not that the resort property isn't kept up or nice, but when going to such an upscale and very expensive resort, the staff should be pleasant and try to be at least courteous. Also, their cheapness re towels and toliet paper (you have to pay extra or bring your own) is just petty. If your looking for just a nice place, this will do, but if your also looking for a pleasant experience from the resort staff and owners, this is not the place for you!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank chowcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane C, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

New owners as of Sept. 2014. Lots of Improvements with many more on the way. If you need more TP or towels - just call the front desk, no problem.
Give the new owner and staff a chance. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
111
Reviewed 2 July 2006

We stayed at Black Bear Lodge for a week in June 2006. My parents, sister, her husband and kids joined us. We had a total of 10 people (including kids) in the Tree House cabin. The cabin itself was large enough and accomodated our group nicely. The grounds of Black Bear are also meticulously maintained and beautiful. Unfortunately, those are the only nice things I am able to say.
We arrived around 4pm after driving 7hrs from the South Suburbs of Chicago to St. Germain. This was our second trip to Black Bear. We had stayed the previous year in a lodge condo two bedroom suite and were pleased with that experience. So, we thought we'd head back there this year. I wish we hadn't!
After checking in, we unloaded the baggage for three families and entered the unit only to find it stunk to high heaven of animal urine. The smell was so strong and disgusting I thought I'd puke. It was especially prominent in the back master bedroom. We opened windows thinking that would help. It didn't. We went back to the office and spoke to Julie. She followed us back to the unit to have a whiff herself. She smelled it as well and said she'd have to call her boss. Julie called back to say that the following day they would have someone come to clean the carpets and she further
told us it could not possibly be animal urine as they don't allow pets. So, Julie thought it had to be human urine. I explained to Julie that there was no way we could sleep in that master bedroom with it smelling like that and human urine it was not, but a very distinct smell of either cat or dog urine. It is unmistakable and I didn't care if they allowed pets or not, someone snuck a pet in there. Julie got rather snippy and asked "well what do you want me to do, we don't have any other vacancies"
We waited about an hour and got a call from Diane, one of the owners of Black Bear. After insisting to us again that they don't allow pets, Diane reiterated they would get cleaning in there the next day and offered us a one night stay in another unit while we waited. We went back down to the office to talk to Julie about what units they had available. By this time, it was 7pm, we had not even had diinner, all the kids were crabby and hungry. We decided on a unit to use for sleeping that night while we waited for cleaning people.
The following day two cleaning girls showed up in the morning and advised they had been instructed to "smell" around to see if they could locate the odor. I have never seen anything more ridiculous than these two girls on their hands and knees in the bedroom smelling the carpet for urine. Finally, one of the girls said "we have a winner" and found a large area by the head of the bed that smelled of urine. The girls left to go report what they had found. Some time later, another woman showed up with a small carpet cleaning machine and cleaned only that spot. She advised they carpet cleaning company wasn't open on weekends, so this was the best she could do.
We had also gone to the store our first night there and purchased Febreeze. Between that and the cleaning, the odor subsided enough to sleep in the room.
While the smell did dissipate somewhat, it came back through out the week. It was chilly at night and we closed the windows so as not to be freezing. When the windows were shut, the smell reappeared and we'd have to spray Febreeze.
To top this all off, we paid over $2000 for the week and we had to pay extra for towels, there was no housekeeping whatsoever, we even had to purchase our own toilet paper and Febreeze!
We never heard back from management that week to check on how things were. At check out we inquired about a discount for our trouble and after much hem hawing, they gave us $100 off the room. Needless to say, we were not happy with that and we definately won't be returning to Black Bear Lodge.
For over $2000/wk with no housekeeping or towels included, I don't think it's too much to ask for the unit to smell clean and not like urine. And, when we did bring the problem to their attention, all they could do was insist that they don't allow pets and send girls in to actually get down on their hands and knees to smell the carpet as if they did not believe us. Take my advice and stay somewhere else....

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane C, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

I'm sorry for you bad experience! That is definitely unacceptable!! Here's the good news... NEW OWNERS since Sept 2014. Many Improvements have been made and many, many more on the way. You might want to give Black Bear Lodge and the New Owner and Staff another chance! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Germain
11.2 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
176 reviews
12.2 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
250 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Holiday Acres Resort
Holiday Acres Resort
#3 of 8 in Rhinelander
121 reviews
8.2 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
61 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Waters of Minocqua
The Waters of Minocqua
#3 of 7 in Minocqua
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 1330 Halberstadt Rd, Saint Germain, WI 54558-8748
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Saint Germain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Germain
Price Range: £72 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family resort and restaurant overlooks Little St. Germain Lake and offers cottages and lodge homes year 'round. Abundant peace and quiet, sports and activities, amenities too numerous to mention, and the best guest service staff in the business. Golf and fishing packages, family reunions, weddings, business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Saint Germain
Black Bear Resort
Black Bear Lodge Saint Germain, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing