We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint Germain
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Another great stay at the Black Bear Lodge while snowmobiling in the beautiful northwoods. We stay at the lodge every year in February and it continues to be our favorite place to stay. It is so nice to come back after a day riding the trails to a nice cozy place to warm up and rest. The office staff are most helpful and enjoyable. The housekeepers and the maintainence are right there if you need anything. The unit is always clean. Although I could not use my computer in the room, I was able to use the Business office computer. God willing we will return next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janella22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    42
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
69
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

I stayed at the Tall Pines at Black Bear with 10 friends. The service was outstanding, not that I asked for much. My couple of requests were quickly taken care of by the staff. This resort sits on Little St Germain Lake in the beautiful Wisconsin northwoods. We ate cheeze sticks and pizza in the Bears Den. I'm a Chicago guy who loves good pizza and doesn't always get it when away from home. But the Bear's Den's homeade pizza was delicious. My entire group enjoyed our stay. The accomodations can hold small or large groups and the staff never disappoints.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muzikman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

I have stayed at Black Bear about 6 times. I have been in the 2 bedroom lodge homes and also rented the Tall Pines house for a party of 10. The front desk is friendly, helpful, very responsive to my needs, and a pleasure to deal with. The location is beautiful, in the woods on Little St Germain Lake. Thank you for making my trips very memorable.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muzikman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

I recently stayed at the Black Bear Lodge and from the time I booked to check out, the staff couldn't have been more friendlier. We stayed in the Lodge Condos near on the water and also docked our boat right down the path from our condo. Electricity for your boat is located on the dock. The rooms were well equipped with everything you need to stay comfortably. There was a microwave, coffee pot, dishes, glassware, silverware, etc. The satellite tv was great. The gas fireplace warmed the place wonderfully! There was a roomy patio overlooking Little St. Germain. The grounds are kept up up beautifully and everything is nicely manicured. The restaurant/bar located on the premises had great pizza and the bartender, Alicia and chef, Joe were extremely pleasant and accommodating. Diane in the office was wonderful to book with and very easy to communicate with. I would whole heartedly recommend anyone who wants to visit St. Germain to stay at the Black Bear Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MuskieRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

My family has been vacationing in the Wisconsin Northwoods for decades, and about 16 years ago we decided to try Black Bear Lodge. After spending our first week there, we have never stayed anywhere else. Our annual trip includes several families with kids of all ages and grandparents. Black Bear Lodge offers something for everyone. Activities for young children, a beautiful lake and beach for swimming, fishing, kayaking, canoeing etc. and an onsite bar & restaurant. The lodge homes have all the modern conveniences with beautiful lake views. The resort staff are fantastic, and go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. We love Black Bear Lodge so much, we book our following year's stay the day we check out, and can't wait to get back there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenFam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBLManager, Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Thnaks so much for the kind words - we value your business and work hard to keep our guests smiling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

We had the most pleasant of stays recently at the Black Bear. The Front Desk Staff was responsive and enthusiastic in helping us. So much so that we extended our stay and then came back on our way back south. We were delighted with the condo, They also have cabins available but those were booked long before we came along. Waterfront on Little St Germain lake, the Lodge has complementary kayaks, row boats and water bikes. Docks to fish from and docks to swim too. Family oriented but we 2 50 somethings felt comfortable and not over run. A great stay. Thanks to Robin and the staff. We hope to return.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Inbetweeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

From the time you arrive, to the time you leave, they make you feel warm and welcome at The Black Bear Lodge.
Need a boat? Want to go for a hydro bike ride on the water? Need a good tasting sandwich? We did and the friendly staff made it happen with their upbeat personalities. Beautiful condo rooms, did we say clean too? Rooms with a view overlooking beautiful Little St. Germain Lake.
The Memorial Day weekend was a special weekend for myself and my wife.
We can't wait to go back to enjoy some more fun in the sun and water.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobHollMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Germain
11.3 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
9.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#10 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn
1.4 mi away
Rustic Manor Motor Lodge
Rustic Manor Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Saint Germain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Property: Black Bear Lodge
Address: 1330 Halberstadt Rd, Saint Germain, WI 54558-8748
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Saint Germain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint Germain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family resort and restaurant overlooks Little St. Germain Lake and offers cottages and lodge homes year 'round. Abundant peace and quiet, sports and activities, amenities too numerous to mention, and the best guest service staff in the business. Golf and fishing packages, family reunions, weddings, business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Saint Germain
Black Bear Resort
Black Bear Lodge Saint Germain, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing