We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have driven by for years and not stopped, we finally did and discovered a great find!”
Review of The Lucerne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lucerne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dedham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

The food was good, and the service was excellent. We found our room to be very clean and fresh! The location is very convenient with nice views of the lake. Over all a great value, and a pleasant experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIIIMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you, we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed one night en route from Bar Harbor to Baxter State Park. My expectations were low, and I would recommend that you not have the same mindset when you go. The staff is awesome - very friendly and willing to go the extra mile to accommodate vagabonds like me. As stated by others there are beautiful views of the lake. I hiked down to the lake and took a morning swim that was memorable. The kitchen staff were willing to make a chicken dish that was not on the menu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you, our kitchen will always try to accommodate requests with pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed at this Inn on my way to Bar Harbor for the weekend. The Inn is warm and welcoming with beautiful views. The the Inn's greatest asset is the staff. From the front desk to the dining room, the staff cannot do enough to meet your needs and requests, and certainly make you feel it is a pleasure to serve you. Especially Jason in the dining room. So warm and friendly, great personality for hospitality, and very professional. Would love to return to this Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmerrill119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you, our staff is wonderful and yes, Jason is great!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here this past weekend for a getaway. Had an executive room, lovely! We used the pool, ate dinner in the dining room and had the cont. breakfast. The staff is wonderful! From the phone conversations, front desk, dining room staff. Our room was very clean and the food was superb!

Room Tip: Rooms in the overlook have wonderful views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Celebrating our 25 th anniversary and stayed in the honeymoon suite. Loved it here. Something's a bit outdated here but very homey. Super large room w. comfy bed / sofa easy chair and fireplace. Staff was really helpful and really nice.
A wedding was going on while we were here...what a wonderful setting. Definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite....on end of main building and no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiMath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your stay. We have all new furniture and fixtures ready to be installed which will freshen up the feel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Lucerne Inn could be a comfortable and attractive property with a thorough cleaning and update. Our room had badly stained carpets, a sagging water damaged ceiling, unappealing odor of grilled meat and furniture that was very worn and uncomfortable, including the mattress and box springs.

There was a wedding the night we stayed at the Lucerne (it was a Saturday night) but mercifully, the festivities surrounding the reception commenced at about 6:30 and ended by about 9:30. While the reception was underway, the noise level in our room was only slightly less than the noise of the party taking place in the lawn directly beneath our window. Our room was literally at the top of the stairs coming from the lobby and due to its location and about a 1 inch gap under the entry door, the passage of even normal traffic of individuals going to and from their rooms during the night was very distracting.

The included continental breakfast consisted of an uninspiring fruit tray, cold cereal and some forgettable donuts wrapped in cellophane. Access to the continental breakfast was rushed as the hotel also offers a Sunday brunch which begins at 11:00 and they obviously want overnight patrons early to clear the dining room to facilitate the changeover to the brunch.

On the positive side, the view from our room was very pretty and the hotel's location was convenient for our weekend plans.

If asked for a lodging recommendation, however, I would advise the use of one of the chain hotels in nearby Bangor before I would send someone to the Lucernce in its current state of operation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnC97435805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay. Our mattresses are Serta Presidential suite Perfect Sleeper models. We would have certainly tried to rectify any problems if you had called the front desk. We work very hard to make everyone's stay comfortable and enjoyable so I truly apologize for your bad experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

stayed at the Lucerne Inn beautiful view overlooking the lake and hills, the inn is a very nice historic Inn. when we first arrived the room appeared to be dirty with spots on the bed spead, the rug needed a good cleaning, the furiture had spill stains, I was very dissapointed! We went to front desk to mention these things lovely lady was fast to offer us a upgraded room which as a litter better the mattess was old and sagged in the middle, my friend and I had a bad back afer 3 nights at the inn. Continntal breakfast was ok the fruit was the same basket from the morning before, the room was nice.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us and i wish that you had a better experience. We have received many compliments on our mattresses and pillows, which are not old, so I'm not sure what happened there, may have been a broken bed slat? I am truly sorry that you were unhappy with your stay and would hope that you would give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
14 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
15 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
9.3 mi away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
724 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Inn

Address: 2517 Main Rd, Dedham, ME 04429-4701
Region: United States > Maine > Dedham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dedham
Price Range: £63 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lucerne Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lucerne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lucerne Hotel Holden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing