We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lucerne Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
90
54
36
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
54
36
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplaceheated towel rackbar harborbrunch on sundayloxdessert tablegreat countryromance packagenew ownerstourist seasonwhirlpool tubchain hotelovernight staybaked stuffed haddockacadia national parkfront desk personstayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stay at the Lucerne Inn several times each year. The rooms are great and we enjoy the food very much. The staff is very friendly and helpful we always look forward to a stay at the inn. The rates were reduced in the off season, making the stay a real bargain!

Room Tip: The executive suites have the only king beds at the inn. These rooms are lovely and spacious.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kckmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a fun time at the Lucerne Inn, enjoying a craft Beer dinner. Our room was cozy and very affordable, friendly staff. Continental Breakfast could be improved a bit. Overall, very relaxed and enjoyable!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Restaurant is a GEM in disguise. It's nice and the food is tremendous. Sarah as the waitress was wonderful!! Food was some of the best I've experienced in Maine. Definitely a favorite now.
The room was pleasant, especially with a beautiful gas fireplace and a wonderful view! The bathroom dated....1980's tile and tub...rather than dated to the time period of the hotel..just worn.
Doors still use Keys...which is cute. Everything was exceptionally clean. Even the darker area's you expect lots of dust....were spotless.

I think the updating should be done with nicer products rather than "cheap" ...door moldings....rugs...furniture....bathroom wall tile.... the cheapness shows.

I understand the undertaking of this property is HUGE and you gotta do what you gotta do...but as it's redone and updated, I hope the owners value a little luxury....and make the updates NICE...like the bedding...nice bed....HORRID comforter cover...straight out of the 70's....although it was new...must have been clearance. Just those touches show.

People were wonderful and friendly. Maybe add the history of the buildings in the public places to be enjoyed....pictures and framed news, etc along the halls. There is SO much history....
It was off season (March) and very quiet.

Breakfast was the big disappointment . It's not busy (I think there were 2-4 other rooms occupied...max) and the breakfast room was not maintained...out of coffee....out of plates..bowls...and it's only doughnuts (seemed from box) boxed cold cereal, OJ that couldn't be drank due to separation in the serving container and no way to "shake it up".... there were two pastries offered, a cinnamon roll like pop n cook...the can, you break the side seal..pop, cook and eat...like that...and a croissant they offered..pop the can, unroll, cook and serve...
I think a little more attention to the breakfast area would have made the "leaving" better. I returned to the breakfast room over an HOUR after we dined and the dishes we used were JUST being picked up...so dirty dishes sat at the table over an hour. When we arrived, I had to clean a table to sit near the window....so the staff was lax there....maybe figured no one there..why monitor the dining area?

Overall it was VERY nice, but has the potential to be SO MUCH NICER with a few touches....maybe just training.

Room Tip: Spa rating is error...Can't take OFF....We did ask for massages and nothing avail due to time of year, which is fine...so SPA is N/A, not Very Good. Ask for Lake/mountain view...room not on road side....then you get a view. Our suite "C" was large and pleasant...private.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainah65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our stay at the Lucerne Inn was wonderful. The room was comfortable and the tavern service and dinner was very nice. The location is ideal, surrounded by beautiful scenery of mountains, hills, fields, and a lake. Each morning took a crisp walk around the Lucerne's golf course, and we spent the day time exploring Bangor.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nature G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very fortunate to have such a quality staff and beautiful views. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have often driven past the Lucerne Inn and said we would love to stay there one day. We finally did on Monday night and we were very pleased! We will certainly return. Beautiful scenery, pleasant staff, and an inn steeped in history. A perfect place for a midwinter break!

Room Tip: Rooms with rear facing windows have fabulous views!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyjuniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you, we enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews