We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience”
Review of The Lucerne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lucerne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dedham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We had an over night stay while we were visiting Acadia National Psrk. The hotel is amazing with great location and view. Room is had the things that you msy need to make it comfortable stay.

I will surely suggest to others.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pranav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    51
    28
    12
    9
See reviews for
39
99
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Newfield, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My partner and I chose Lucerne Inn to tie the knot because I love the setting and after having visited in 2013 we loved the service. Jason helped us with every detail and made it a very special day for us. We found this day to be relaxing and enjoyable. The entire staff was very accomodating and interested in helping any way that they could.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stay at the Lucerne Inn several times each year. The rooms are great and we enjoy the food very much. The staff is very friendly and helpful we always look forward to a stay at the inn. The rates were reduced in the off season, making the stay a real bargain!

Room Tip: The executive suites have the only king beds at the inn. These rooms are lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kckmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampden, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a fun time at the Lucerne Inn, enjoying a craft Beer dinner. Our room was cozy and very affordable, friendly staff. Continental Breakfast could be improved a bit. Overall, very relaxed and enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
235 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Restaurant is a GEM in disguise. It's nice and the food is tremendous. Sarah as the waitress was wonderful!! Food was some of the best I've experienced in Maine. Definitely a favorite now.
The room was pleasant, especially with a beautiful gas fireplace and a wonderful view! The bathroom dated....1980's tile and tub...rather than dated to the time period of the hotel..just worn.
Doors still use Keys...which is cute. Everything was exceptionally clean. Even the darker area's you expect lots of dust....were spotless.

I think the updating should be done with nicer products rather than "cheap" ...door moldings....rugs...furniture....bathroom wall tile.... the cheapness shows.

I understand the undertaking of this property is HUGE and you gotta do what you gotta do...but as it's redone and updated, I hope the owners value a little luxury....and make the updates NICE...like the bedding...nice bed....HORRID comforter cover...straight out of the 70's....although it was new...must have been clearance. Just those touches show.

People were wonderful and friendly. Maybe add the history of the buildings in the public places to be enjoyed....pictures and framed news, etc along the halls. There is SO much history....
It was off season (March) and very quiet.

Breakfast was the big disappointment . It's not busy (I think there were 2-4 other rooms occupied...max) and the breakfast room was not maintained...out of coffee....out of plates..bowls...and it's only doughnuts (seemed from box) boxed cold cereal, OJ that couldn't be drank due to separation in the serving container and no way to "shake it up".... there were two pastries offered, a cinnamon roll like pop n cook...the can, you break the side seal..pop, cook and eat...like that...and a croissant they offered..pop the can, unroll, cook and serve...
I think a little more attention to the breakfast area would have made the "leaving" better. I returned to the breakfast room over an HOUR after we dined and the dishes we used were JUST being picked up...so dirty dishes sat at the table over an hour. When we arrived, I had to clean a table to sit near the window....so the staff was lax there....maybe figured no one there..why monitor the dining area?

Overall it was VERY nice, but has the potential to be SO MUCH NICER with a few touches....maybe just training.

Room Tip: Spa rating is error...Can't take OFF....We did ask for massages and nothing avail due to time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainah65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our stay at the Lucerne Inn was wonderful. The room was comfortable and the tavern service and dinner was very nice. The location is ideal, surrounded by beautiful scenery of mountains, hills, fields, and a lake. Each morning took a crisp walk around the Lucerne's golf course, and we spent the day time exploring Bangor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nature G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very fortunate to have such a quality staff and beautiful views. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Manan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have often driven past the Lucerne Inn and said we would love to stay there one day. We finally did on Monday night and we were very pleased! We will certainly return. Beautiful scenery, pleasant staff, and an inn steeped in history. A perfect place for a midwinter break!

Room Tip: Rooms with rear facing windows have fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyjuniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you, we enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
9.3 mi away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
14.0 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
11.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
10.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Inn

Property: The Lucerne Inn
Address: 2517 Main Rd, Dedham, ME 04429-4701
Region: United States > Maine > Dedham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lucerne Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lucerne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lucerne Hotel Holden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing