We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lucerne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lucerne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dedham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful and classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

stayed one night on our way to Bar Harbor. Beautiful old inn with picturesque Maine views. The staff was very friendly except for the bartender. He was not great. Ate at the restauraunt and it too was excellent. A beautiful breeze came through all night in the junior suite. Not sure what one would be doing in that area for vacation but if you are this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    51
    27
    12
    8
See reviews for
39
98
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very nice room with fire place overlooking lake. Lounge was very friendly. wish I had time to try golf course. Very quaint - enjoyed stay - lovely setting. good location between Ellsworth and Bangor. ss

Room Tip: Used Coupon book and everything was lovely. Planed on taking a picture of the lake etc. in the am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherlockSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very pleasant property. Room was large, homey, and quiet. Staff is great and the Sunday brunch was excellent with plenty of choices. The fireplaces in the rooms are large and have their own shutoff timer. It would be an ideal choice for a couple looking to have a quiet romantic get-away. The only area I can suggest improvement is it could use some new carpets. They keep them very clean, but they are dated and well used. Overall great value for the price and I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

While this wonderful 200-year old Inn is clean and comfortable, the suite we stayed in was not furnished well - there were no mirrors anywhere but in the too-small bathroom, which could have used a shelf or two for the placement of toiletries - balancing two guests' brushes, toothpaste, and whatnot on the back of the tollet was very inconvient. In the suite itself, there was a lovely old fold-down desk, but no place to sit at it and no light provided for it - decorative, but totally useless to guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful and relaxing time at the Lucerne Inn. This is an absolute jewel of an establishment. Our room was very large and included a gas fireplace. If not for the lousy weather, the view from our room would have been incredible with the lake just behind the trees.

We decided to eat in last night and had an amazing gourmet meal with one of the best chowders I have had (we are chowder connoisseurs).

Just about to take in their Sunday brunch, which has a very good reputation on its own.

Overall, very pleased. Will definitely recommend and come back again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JJS_in_NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our party of 27 was graciously cared for at every step of the way for the weekend. Even the winter weather in spring let up so that we had a gorgeous sunny view of the lake and Bald Mountain off in the distance.

The new room furnishings was a plus.

Room Tip: Plent of space for kids and it worked well for the 8 week old, with out disturbing others. Pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonlee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We had an over night stay while we were visiting Acadia National Psrk. The hotel is amazing with great location and view. Room is had the things that you msy need to make it comfortable stay.

I will surely suggest to others.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pranav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
9.3 mi away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
14.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
11.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
10.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Inn

Property: The Lucerne Inn
Address: 2517 Main Rd., Dedham, ME 04429
Region: United States > Maine > Dedham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lucerne Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lucerne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lucerne Hotel Holden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing