We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but they do the basics well”
Review of Cedarberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cedarberry Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sauk City
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a nearby family reunion. Check in was efficient and the front desk staff was very nice. This was possibly the cleanest hotel room I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in many luxury hotels! Bed was comfortable, coffee maker, hair dryer and nice toiletries were in the room. Continental breakfast each morning. Nothing fancy but decent. Lots of good coffee. Did not use the pool, but again, the whole area was sparkling clean. There are not a lot of hotel options in the area so I was prepared to deal with whatever, but it turned out to be an experience that I could recommend. Plus, you are right across the street from the world's first Culver's restaurant. Stop in for the frozen custard flavor of the day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Came to the area on a motorcycle trip thru Wisconsin. Stayed here on the recommendation of Sauk City Harley Davidson which you can walk to from the hotel. Have traveled in many states. Have not met kinder people or cleaner establishmemts anywhere. Whether you ride or not this is a fantastic area and a better launching point for area activities than larger Madison There's a reason the Sauk City Harley dealership has won so many awards! Awesome staff. Great ride and restaurant tips..get to Leland for the best fish and cold brews at Schellter's.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2hotrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have stayed at the Cedarberry Inn on and off over the last 10 years. It is a simple no frills place to stay. We stayed for three days over the Memorial Day Weekend and were very happy. The place is very clean and has comfy beds. I asked for a roll away to accommodate my children with their own beds and both were very happy. Bathroom was spotless as well as the room. Front desks clerks were all very friendly and attentive to all our needs. Kids loved the indoor pool and would have stayed in all day if we would have let them. My complaints if any were minor. The TV's could use some updating to flat screens as its hard to watch old style tubes which seemed very dim and were hard to watch. Also I appreciate the free WIFI however it was very slow and would not support any video streaming. With all that said I would definitely recommend this place to stay. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very large but if you want lots of space for a large family then consider the two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aguilara01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We were given a two night stay at the Cedarberry Inn as a wedding present so we could go Eagle watching. Although the rooms aren't fancy, they were extremely clean and spacious. We didn't use the pool, but it looked like other guests really enjoyed it! The check in was fast and easy and the front desk employee was very helpful, offering menus and maps. My only complaint was the continental breakfast - everything was cold and the selection was limited (no tea, only coffee). All in all, a very pleasant stay out in a cute little town.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmaleighBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I actually live near the Cedarberry Inn and have used their pool facilities for many years with our family. It's always clean and nice people.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPWISC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

What I liked best about this place was the definite pride the staff seemed to feel in keeping everything running smoothly. The room was big and spotless, the bed was comfortable. The pool was very large compared to pools in other hotels we stayed at on this trip, and the water was a nice temperature. Not too cold, but not warm. Fine jacuzzi too. There was a sauna too, but I did not use that. Standard continental breakfast, but the people running the place are constantly making sure there’s enough of everything, and doing so in a friendly fashion. I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Urban_Hillbillly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We've stayed at the Cedarberry several times because it's the only hotel in town. While the receptionist is always polite, the hotel in general has a very old, musty, feel to it. Our rooms have always been clean, but the occasional insect or mold growing in the shower has put us off. We most certainly don't think the $110-$130 they charge on some weekends is an absolute rip off.

Perhaps our biggest complaint is the complete lack of respect. My husband, newly returned from Iraq and Afghanistan, drove 8 hours to spend the weekend with our family in Sauk City for Memorial Day weekend. When we checked into the Cedarberry, we inquired as to if there was a military discount, which every other hotel (including in other countries) has offered to him. Not only did the Cedarberry refuse, but when we asked to speak with the manager/owner, we were told "No, he won't speak with you regarding this." We felt horribly disrespected and dishonored, especially on a holiday weekend that is dedicated to veterans. We have been treated with more respect in hotels in other countries than in the Cedarberry.

Overall, I wish to God there was someplace else to stay in Sauk City. It's overpriced, disrespectful, and not exactly the cleanest place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ldybug1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauk City
14.3 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
14.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
14.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
321 reviews
11.2 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
158 reviews
18.0 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarberry Inn

Address: 855 Phillips Boulevard, US Hwy 12, Sauk City, WI 53583
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Sauk City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sauk City
Price Range: £75 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedarberry Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come share with us all the natural beauty and excitement of Wisconsin's Heartland. Sauk City and Prairie du Sac (Sauk Prairie) are on the Wisconsin River, only 25 minutes northwest of Madison on Hwy 12. The river offers perfect canoeing, eagle watching, a walleye hot spot and great scenery. Four seasons of fun include fine shops, excellent dining, birding, camping and a fantastic escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cedarberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedarberry Hotel Sauk City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing