We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schofield
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, United States
1 review
“Clean, friendly hotel”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is convenient and good buy for central Wisconsin, Wausau area. Staff very friendly, rooms clean and well furnished. Pool great for families and kids. The fitness area is very small and not available during my stay. Complimentary breakfast has both hot and cold food, very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Kathy C. thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. So many people come together every day to make sure our guests experience wonderful service and amenities. We very much appreciate your compliments, as well as your patronage. We look forward to the next time we can welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    70
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
90
29
6
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed one night here. The staff was friendly, and the room was large and clean. The room decorating was kind of drab with gray walls. The mattress was lumpy and needs to be replaced. Right now its a work in progress with the remodeling, should be nice when finished.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kodachromeshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Good morning, Kodachromeshooter., and thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are so happy that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We great such great feedback from guests regarding our decor and cleanliness, as well. Thank you so much. We hope to see you again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed one night on our way up north and I am glad we did. They are remodeling the hotel and it is looking very nice. The wall colors and rugs they chose look very nice together. The staff was very friendly the desk clerk very professional called me by my last name which not many hotels do that any more they just say sign here and here is your key.
Very quiet rooms and comfy beds, The breakfast had a good selection and the lady that was running the breakfast room made sure that everything was full and all the tables were clean.
I would definitely stay at this Country Inn & Suite again.

Room Tip: I highly recommend this hotel ask for a king high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm3534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Jim3534, thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel for TripAdvisor. We are so happy that we were able to provide you with a clean and friendly environment. Our staff are consistently working to ensure guests are not just satisfied, but that their expectations are exceeded. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayville, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
194 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Considering the number of hotels I stay at in a year I would give this a high recommendation if you are in the Wausau area. The bed slept wonderful and the pillows were flat which I love. Grounds were clean and the free breakfast had a nice variety.

The only downside is no restaurant within the hotel but many fast food down the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you, Kim S, for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We know that there are many different hotels to choose from in the Wausau area, so we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to Wausau. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chadman154
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel staff was great, breakfast was good. Overall it was a good stay. Pool area was also very clean. Hotel was nice to accommodate an early check in. Hotel is located right on the edge of weston. Hotel is in the process of being updated

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadman154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N P, Public Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Good morning, Chadman 154! Thank you so much for taking the time to rate our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your detailed response regarding your stay and are so happy that you were able to enjoy the wonderful city attractions and our hotel amenities. Thank you for recognizing our front desk staff; they work extremely hard to ensure guests are fully satisfied. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Wausau. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed on second floor, room 221. King sized bed and a sofa. Small table and two chairs. Space was large and roomy. Bathroom adequate. Woman at front desk was friendly and professional upon check in. Morning breakfast was great, lots of options and well attended to. Disappointments, check out is noon and housekeeping was vacuuming the hallways at 8:00am, and there was no refrigerator or microwave in the room so I would not stay there multiple days.

Room Tip: 221 faced main drag and it close to an intersection so some road noise, also close to housekeeping c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine55416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Good morning,Christine55416. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! Our staff works extremely hard to make sure that our hotel is well-kept. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast. We do apologize that our housekeeping was vacuuming the hallways at 8:00 am. We are in the process of remodeling the hotel and by March 2015 our rooms will have refrigerator and microwave. Thank you again for your kind words and your business; we look forward to seeing you again, the next time you are in Wausau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here with 3 other families. We had SEVERAL requests, nothing huge, but still the staff was VERY willing to help us out. The rooms are good size and very clean. Breakfast was good too in the morning! I would highly recommend!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank flynner8297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you so much for not only choosing to stay with us, but for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast, location, and clean hotel. Our staff works very hard to ensure that our hotel is kept up, and that guests are warmly invited in. We look forward to your next stay in Wausau. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schofield
2.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
3.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,047 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
Address: 1520 Metro Dr, Schofield, WI 54476-2379
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Schofield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schofield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Schofield
Schofield Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing