We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boarders Inn and Suites Shawano, WI
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shawano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel and staff perfectly met the needs of our extended family who was getting together for an important family event. They informed us weeks ahead that the pool would be under construction, and were very accommodating in allowing us to use the breakfast room as a gathering place for some family time instead. The staff and management is top notch and all about service to the customer. Would certainly stay here again. The other properties we considered in Shawano aren't even close to the caliber of this hotel. Thank you for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fam6plus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

This hotel is simple & basic, yet it met our needs and I found it to be a nice place to stay overall. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the pillows soft. Comfortable pillows and beds are very important to me when staying in a hotel and I was pleasantly pleased with this hotel. My only complaint about the hotel room itself was that it did not come with a mini-fridge and the water pressue was too low for the type of shower head. The water didn't spray out of the shower head like it should....it just ran down, because of low pressure. But, the water was at least hot and the bathroom was clean.
The hotel offers a nice pool. However, they could do something to improve the noise level - it was exceptionally loud and I had to leave after awhile.
They offer a decent continental breakfast...not the best food in the world, but your standard complimentary breakfast foods.
We stayed during a kids hockey tournament weekend. Considering the number of kids staying in this hotel, the noise level wasn't bad. Although...parents could have left the knee hockey at home. Kids playing knee hockey in their room on the 2nd floor isn't appreciated by guests staying below on the 1st floor. Some kids were running up & down the halls and knocking on doors...not the fault of the hotel of course. Parents could have done a bit better job managing the kids.
Amico's is in the same parking lot as the hotel, but I did not hear anything positive about eating there. Negative comments were largely based on very poor service....after one hour a table was told they hadn't even started making their pizza yet. I was surprised there were not very many restaurants in town, other than fast-food. We attempted to eat at one local place down the highway (The Lumberyard I believe it was called), but was greeted with a woman swearing under her breath at us. Apparently, she didn't want to surve more than the 2 people already there. So, we ended up driving to Green Bay for lunch. Green Bay is only 30 miles away, so I recommend eating there. There is a Domino's in Shawano, but other peole said it took more than 1 hour for their pizza to arrive. The hotel was great, but the town doesn't offer much for eating establishments if you don't want fast food.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mart0551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This Comfort Inn does all of the basics well. It is clean, has courteous service, the beds are comfortable, and there is a breakfast of sorts. In terms of amenities and decor this is just a very average, slightly outdated place. But when you are looking for a safe and clean place to spend the night it is very good, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarheel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

No complaints about the hotel itself, our room was both clean and comfortable. However, it was obvious that the young lady who checked us out had been drinking. Her hair was a mess, it looked like she had just woken up (she was "out of it") and we could still smell the beer on her breath. Not a very good last impression.

Room Tip: they were very accomodating, just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Wonderful newer hotel. Clean, quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ednat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

No complaints with the facility itself but, after a long drive, we were told by the desk clerk at 1pm that we couldn't check in til 3pm..despite the fact there were rooms clean/being cleaned. We were hoping we'd be able to freshen up and change clothes prior to attending a wedding but, because it started at 3, that wouldn't be possible. We asked if she could call housekeeping to see if even one room was available and she said she didn't want to bother/annoy them. We weren't able to find another hotel nearby - they're pretty scarce - so we stressed for the next 40 minutes wondering what to do before we were finally allowed to check in.

This is the first hotel we've come across that was so rigid and unaccommodating. It was an awkward and uncomfortable stay because of the experience and we will not be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmariena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Spent a Saturday nite here, the room, hallway and lobby were very clean,
Only complain was being able to hear a room door slam shut a couple times.
The breakfast area was nice, scrambled eggs and ham, waffles, juice, milk, coffee,
There a person working the breakfast area keeping the tables clean and making sure there
was enough fresh food,
There's a Pizza place with a full bar across the parking lot.. that unfortunately, I didnt get a chance to visit..
If I find myself back in Shawano WI and need a room, I will be going here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troubled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawano
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Shawano
55 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shawano Four Seasons Resort
2.5 mi away
Odisha House of Rest
Odisha House of Rest
#5 of 5 in Shawano
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Konkapot Lodge
Konkapot Lodge
#2 of 2 in Bowler
49 reviews
20.5 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Pulaski
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Shawano
Super 8 Shawano
#4 of 5 in Shawano
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boarders Inn and Suites Shawano, WI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boarders Inn and Suites Shawano, WI

Address: W7393 River Bend Rd, Hwy 29 & Hwy 22, Shawano, WI 54166-6165 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Shawano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shawano
Price Range: £61 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boarders Inn and Suites Shawano, WI 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smoke-free Boarders Inn and Suites in Shawano, Wisconsin is at the junction of Highway 29 and Highway 22, minutes from Shawano Lake and the Shawano County Expo Center. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access. Competitive corporate rates are offered. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Boarders Inn and Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Our guest rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryer, iron, ironing board and cable television. We also offer whirlpool suites and business-class rooms. Some rooms come with refrigerators and microwaves. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Boarders Inn and Suites hotel provides friendly customer service, top-notch accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Shawano, Wisconsin area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Boarders Inn and Suites Shawano, WI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shawano
Shawano Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing