We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Harbor Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor Winds
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sheboygan
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a wedding party. This hotel is very small (28 rooms?) and from the pictures online I was a little nervous of it being very rundown. We were so pleasantly surprised. The staff was extremely friendly. The room we stayed in looked newly renovated. Newer carpet, chair, and flooring. The room had a fridge and microwave. One thing that made me nervous was a big tv (CRT) was sitting on top of the armoire. With a small child running around i could just see it getting pulled down (admittedly I didnt look to see if they had it anchored any way, i just kept him away from it completely.) The continental breakfast was great, especially for a hotel of its size. They had donuts, muffins, fruit bars, bagels, English muffins, bread, waffles, oatmeal, cereal, cottage cheese, yogurt, eggs, juice, milk... I was expecting a few crusty donuts slapped on a plate so that was a nice touch.

For the cons: the beds are awful. When I say awful I mean beyond bad. I have no trouble sleeping anywhere but the bed was soo lumpy. They are worse than the beds in Mexico that sit on concrete slabs. My husband also disliked the pillows. The shower head was old. It was one of those oxygenator ones. My husband loved it but it was hard for me to rinse my hair. You can also hear everything. Someone upstairs walking to the bathroom at 2, 3, and 4am you hear it. They do provide a clock radio with soothing sounds so if you're a light sleeper I recommend turning it on to drown out some of the noise.

Overall very decent and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iheartplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWHotel, Manager at Harbor Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and also your concerns. As of June 3rd we now have flat screen televisions and we have removed the old bulky ones. We will also be uploading new photo's very soon. I do appreciate your feedback about the beds and the shower head. We are in the process of making your stay more comfortable and we hope that the next time you visit us we will have accomplished that. Have a wonderful summer and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is a utilitarian kind of hotel, nothing fancy, however, the rooms are big and comfy, they have a nice easy chair in each one, a view of the river, free breakfast in a nice breakfast room overlooking the river and for this price, it's great to be right on the board walk a few feet from the Weather Center Cafe, a few blocks from the Charcoal Inn (great burgers wrapped in paper and dripping with butter) and a short, pleasant walk to the beach in front of the massive Blue Harbor resort. I've been coming to Harbor Winds for five years with a friend and it's perfectly situated, a surprising amount of things to do nearby, quiet, friendly and a great value. I almost didn't want to write this - I want to keep it for myself. $79 in the off - season, you can't beat it.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, and come just before the rates go up which is I think in april or May. Off Se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWHotel, Manager at Harbor Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you so much for your very nice review. We appreciate that you have chosen our hotel over the past five years. We are in the process of updating our rooms and our goal is to make your next visit even more comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I recently stayed, me and my Mom at this wonderful hotel for 7 days and 6 nights. They are located on the River and the views were wonderful. They have the most helpful and friendly staff I have come across in many years. The hotel was very clean and the beds were the most comfy beds I have slept in at a hotel. The towels were big and fluffy, which you do not find that in most places I have stayed. I would stay here again and recommend if your visiting Sheboygan, Wisconsin to stay here.

Sincerely,

Kim Upfold an Valli Francis

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor facing the water, the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWHotel, Manager at Harbor Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

I am very pleased that we made your visit so special. We enjoyed having you here and we hope that on any return visit that we will be able to enhance your experience even more. Thank you for your kind remarks and have a great holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at Harbor Winds a week ago. Over all, they stay wasn't bad. Our room was clean and the free breakfast bar in the AM was nice - nothing fancy - but nice. The only issue we encountered was a stairwell that smelled like someone had gotten sick there. We didn't see any attempt to clean the carpet. They did put some type of electric odor eliminator there, but it didn't due much. Stanley Steamer probably could have eliminated the problem. This stairwell was also packed with large plastic bags full of laundrey for most of our stay. The staff was nice, but not overly friendly. Easy to walk to stores and restaurants. Great little hot dog stand right across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elroy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWHotel, Manager at Harbor Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. I do apologize in regards to the stairwell issue. I went over the steps taken to correct the issue with my staff and they immediately did what was required to eliminate the smell. We did find the source of the smell and the entire hallway was cleaned. As we are a small hotel we do have to send our laundry out to be cleaned. It is picked up throughout the day and when we are busy it is a continuous process to make sure that the hallway stays clear.
We do appreciate your business and your comments and I assure you that any improvements that we can make to improve the guest experience will always be our first priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed there 2 nights, when we got to our room a vacuum was sitting in front of there door, and when we entered you could tell it was not vacuumed. When we looked at the sheets one of the beds had a soiled spot about 6 inches big and wide, so when we talked to housekeeping she told us that it didn't look used so they don't change it. Our ac unit didn't work on a 83 degree day and front desk did nothing! Our door didn't lock so anyone could walk in, they did fix that. Our fridge didn't work and they did nothing. When they cleaned the room they did not change the sheets as they state they change daily! Don't walk around bare foot your feet turn black! The breakfast was great! When checking out I had walked past a room that was being cleaned, and the house keeper was talking on her cellphone on speaker phone swearing up a storm!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWHotel, Manager at Harbor Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay. We do listen to our guests and use your comments to improve in all areas of the hotel.
In regards to the room issues I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We did have maintenance come and fix the door issue. They also checked the AC unit and the refrigerator which seemed to be in working order and I believed the issues to be resolved. The housekeeper comments were investigated and I assure you that we do make sure to change the bedding when the guest requests it. There are special cards in each room that are placed on the beds when the guest would like their linens changed and the housekeepers are required to do so.
As I stated in the beginning your comments are important and we do our best to make sure that if your stay is less than exceptional that we immediately address any issues. I do hope that when you return to the area that you will allow us to provide you with the exceptional guest experience that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stopped at this quaint hotel without a reservation and were fortunate that there was a cancellation. The clerk was fun and friendly and very accomodating. The room was nice, breakfast was delicious, the location was wonderful. Right on the river with a boardwalk that led to many restaurants very close by. And the rates were Resonable. Sheboygan was a nice experience all around.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWHotel, Manager at Harbor Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

We were very pleased that we could accomodate you and that your experience was pleasant. We do have a great location and there is so much more to offer you. I hope that the next time you would like to get away that you will choose to return to the area and allow us to accomodate you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We had a charter fishing trip booked for the next day. Dumper Dan's recommended this hotel. Stay away from the ice machine, room 203 and any room close. It runs all night and was more than I had patience for. Room was clean and a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWHotel, Manager at Harbor Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you so much for your response. We do appreciate hearing from our valued guests. I apologize that your stay was not 100% satisfactory as we do try to make sure that your comfort is our first priority. When you return for your next fishing charter or just for leisure, please make sure to ask for the manager and we will be able to place you in a more suitable location in the hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheboygan hotels
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#3 of 11 in Sheboygan
271 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Sheboygan
89 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 11 in Sheboygan
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Winds

Address: 905 S 8th St, Sheboygan, WI 53081-4493
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Sheboygan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sheboygan
Price Range: £51 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Winds 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated and located on Sheboygan, WI's beautiful riverfront the Harbor Winds Hotel provides an idyllic atmosphere for guests. With direct access to the boardwalk, guests can explore local shops, restaurants or just go for a stroll along the river. We are a 28 room property, entirely non-smoking, with rooms that have 2 double beds that face the peaceful Sheboygan river or 1 queen bed that overlooks Riverfront Drive. Guests will enjoy an extended continental breakfast each morning, free wireless internet,and access to a pool and fitness room at our sister property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Winds Hotel Sheboygan
Harbor Winds Sheboygan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing