We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding and Authentic Italian Pizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Ritrovo

Il Ritrovo
Ranked #1 of 156 Restaurants in Sheboygan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding and Authentic Italian Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

This is the most authentic Italian pizza that I have had outside of Italy. Everything is fresh and the crust is handmade. The owners and servers really take pride in their craft and their processes are certified by the folks in Naples, Italy. Go there and enjoy the experience. There is also a wine bar with an extensive wine list.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfRider911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    63
    15
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
478 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Worth the drive to Sheboygan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

This Italian deli is loaded with great food and buys for an Italian meal. Across the street from the excellent Trattoria Stefano in Sheboygan, this is a great place for lunch. The soups taste like my mother made them, the Positano salad is delicious and filling. Il Ritrovo means "a place to meet" and this is a great to place to meet; however, I would and have come here by myself for a meal. Only about 6 miles from the American Club and Whistling Straights/ Black Wolf Run...I highly recommend making the short trip to Il Ritrovo

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sublime and surprising every time we visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Il Ritrovo never disappoints. Whenever we visit Milwaukee, we always make time for a trip to Sheboygan so we can eat at Il Ritrovo or Stefano's across the street. (These restaurants are owned by the same chef.) This visit my husband and I took clients out to lunch there, and it was excellent as always. I usually try and order whatever the special soup or pasta or pizza or entree is for the day because it's bound to be something I've never had before. Everything is fresh and expertly prepared. The service is exceptional, too. Here the waiters all know the menu and can describe anything with impeccable detail. After lunch, make sure you visit their adjacent coffee bar, gourmet grocery store, and browse their kitchen goodies. And when you step into Field and Fork (we'll try this cool place for breakfast next time), buy a macaroon or two or three! They are simply sublime.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Spruce77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, WI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“This place is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Love the food here. Real italian wood fired pizzaria...the Fonduta al Forno appetizer is a must have, and the pizzas are awesome, from the menu regulars to the "special". Definitely check it out if you are in the area, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
177 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Will try something else next time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I would not return for the pizza.Should I return ,I will try something else on the menu.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Ritrovo also viewed

 

Been to Il Ritrovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing