We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standby for Mexican in Sheboygan.”
Review of El Camino

El Camino
Ranked #18 of 164 Restaurants in Sheboygan
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Standby for Mexican in Sheboygan.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and I always go to El Camino when we are in the mood for Mexican. It stands up to comparison against my favorite mexican places in Milwaukee! The salsa is wonderful and always super fresh! My husband thinks the steak tacos are the best in the area. Always a good choice. BUT, the bar leaves a bit wanting. If you are looking for a good bar hangout--or even just a martini to go with your dinner you'll be disappointed. Stick to the menu and you'll be fine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    12
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Wonderful chips and salsa, great wet burritos - I usually order the bean and cheese or the chicken. I can't really comment on anything else since
I love these dishes so much.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas and good food”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Really yummy margaritas made jsut right! The food is good and the portions are HUGE. I loved the MILD salsa (made in house) and probably the best I ever had.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I've been here a few times. Excellent traditional cuisine. Generous portions, Thursdays are Ladies night, margaritas are $3 that night. Check it out. Recommend the chili rellenos... yum. Plan to return...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wandering137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have not been to many authentic Mexican restaurants so I'm not sure I can judge the authenticity of the food, but it was delicious and the service top-notch.

It was ladies' night and we had $3 margaritas! Can't beat that as they are usually $8.50. There was also a strolling Mariachi band that played us a song, making the whole experience delightful.

I would def recommend and do plan on returning the next time I'm in town. If you are looking for a quiet date spot, this probably isn't it. The acoustics make this place very noisy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Camino also viewed

 

Been to El Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing