We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Ribs, Annoying Service”
Review of Texas Roadhouse

Texas Roadhouse
Ranked #35 of 164 Restaurants in Sheboygan
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Description: Legendary Food, Legendary Service
Restaurant details
Description: Legendary Food, Legendary Service
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty Ribs, Annoying Service”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stopped at the Texas Roadhouse on my way back to Chicago. This was my second visit. Upon entering a gaggle of high school/college girls greeted me cheerily at the door. As I was walked to my seat, the hostess chatted me up with questions like, "Do you come here often?" and "Isn't the weather beautiful" and "How is your day today?" with feigned enthusiasm. As I sat in my booth, I watched and listened as the hostesses practiced the same plastic greeting to everyone who entered.

Immediately upon being seated, I was given a bucket of peanuts and a basket of rolls (the kind you buy frozen and bake) and sweet butter. I had the half slab of ribs, which were fall off the bone tender, buttered corn (which I expected would be on the cob but was basically dressed up canned corn) and the mashed potatoes and gravy. The food was good. But I find people trying so hard to seem happy somehow phony and annoying. Maybe other people like that kind of thing in servers but it detracted from my experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disgusting bathroom,”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Everything else was great prime rib!
for $20 service (Gilly) was great manager came to check on us,
Bathroom was more than just untidy it has not been cleaned in a long time and was pretty bad.

Helpful?
Thank mabarley777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good steaks but has gone downhill a bit”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

On our last visit, my daughter and I ordered salmon and husband ordered steak. The steak had to be sent back to cook a little bit longer. This isn't a huge deal for us and it was excellent as usual when it came back out. Daughter's salmon was good but mine was not even close to being done. Salmon not being cooked through seems to be a common problem here as it happens too many times to me. I was hesitant to order it but did anyway. Back to the kitchen it went and it was cooked through when brought back to the table. I will no longer order the salmon. I was surprised that we were not offered any free appetizer coupon from the manager when the food was brought back to us. I've always been given a free appetizer coupon before when this happens. We never use them but it's the gesture that is appreciated.

The last few visits I've also noticed that some waitstaff is more busy sitting and chatting with friends than taking care of customers.

We'll continue to go but should we continue to encounter uncooked food and unattentive waitstaff we'll stop going. It's too bad because they really do have excellent steaks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimmers71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Won't go back anytime soon”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

1/2 full restaurant on a Wednesday night. Seated us with a child that needed a high-chair in high traffic area by bar when there were plenty of outlying areas clear. First waitress took order, never came back, later a waiter (Gilbert) came back to "replace" other one, no reason given. Brought drinks, but no water as requested. Waited about 45 minutes for salad and appetizer combo. Never checked on meal after served. Waited another 15-20 minutes after finished eating for bill. Plenty of staff there, just apparently all incompetent. Not atypical from other times eating there. Probably the last time will eat there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrible! Don't waste your money!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We are forgiving people and punished ourselves more than once. Out of a total of six visits we had one fairly good experience. Won't go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Texas Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Texas Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing