We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!”
Review of Black Pig

Black Pig
Ranked #8 of 164 Restaurants in Sheboygan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The food is delicious! The mac and cheese and truffle fries are a must. The decor is great, as is the beer selection. The staff was helpful and I woul definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    68
    26
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Best Lobster Mac & Cheese EVER! The decor is not what you would expect from a Sheybogan restaurant. The staff knew the menu very well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kroberts27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall good”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Nice atmosphere and no lunch wait. The kids menu was a good price and included a drink. My husbands Bloody Mary had lots of fixings including a cheese curd and bacon. I got the portobello dish from small plate menu and it was a great size if you eat smaller portions. It was also very good tasting.

Helpful?
Thank Jane060913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nearly special”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The decor was great, loved the metal ceiling. One expects noise on a busy Saturday night, but the noise in the downstairs eating area was LOUD. The broccoli Mac was nice...not great. Fries were skinny, seasoned (we ordered the vegetarian) and tasty. We ordered them before the meal and loved them. Although our server introduced himself shortly after we were seated, he then disappeared for quite a while. No vegetarian entree, so I ordered the small plate with panko breaded portobello. Both friends ordered a burger. Food took quite some time to arrive. Burgers were reportedly very good. Too bad they don't have a similar gourmet veggie burger. My dish was a bit lukewarm, but tasty. The restaurant uses local products. Portions were large. Prices were quite economical. We left with the feeling that this could be a really great restaurant some day...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Siampayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Back Again and Food Still Faithful!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This was my second time to the Black Pig (we attempted to go to the Field to Fork for dinner, but it is only open for breakfast and lunch), so I remembered The Black Pig from my last visit to Sheboygan and it wanted to come back here also. So yeah for being open for dinner hours!

Everything was perfect! The service was just right, the food was served hot and fresh and our entrées were served just as promised.

This is not your pork-rib place. I don't even think they have ribs, so don't be thinking pork sandwiches when you come. Instead think comfort food with a twist, like they say. I had the black and blue salad and it was simple, classic and delicious. My friend had the spinach salad and she ate every bite as well.

There was a family with a small child so the place is good for families as well. There is a large bar along the one wall in the front section of the restaurant.

I love the décor and ambiance in this little funky restaurant and it is a great place to come, share with friends and family, rest and unwind.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kimmisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Pig also viewed

 

Been to Black Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing