We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AFTER FROZEN CUSTARD IT'S DOWNHILL FROM THERE”
Review of Gilly's Frozen Custar Drive-In - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gilly's Frozen Custar Drive-In
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
WISCONSIN
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“AFTER FROZEN CUSTARD IT'S DOWNHILL FROM THERE”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A long time Sheboygan resident here and many locals look at the reviews here and are more than a bit skeptical. The frozen custard is certainly good. And the old fashioned drive in with car hops is terribly quaint. BUT! BUT!! BUT!!! There are numerous places in Sheboygan and throughout Wisconsin that serve great frozen custard and ice cream. If you hang your hat on that alone you will not do well. Burgers are Gilly's are small and near tasteless unless one doctors them up with an abundance of condiments for a taste of ketchup, mustard and pickles. Cute names do NOT equate to tasty food. Drive by on any summer Saturday or Sunday -- prime time for this kind of food and you will see only a handful of cars in their lot. The honeymoon with this restaurant was over just weeks after opening!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great frozen custard and nice restaurant. Staff very helpful with directions.”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We only had the frozen custard but it was wonderful. The restaurant was clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. It is not a chain but privately owned.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen44Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy custard and great service!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We actually stopped here several times! My family loved the custard! Loved burgers and the loved the wait staff. It was a drive-in and was very clean, accomodating, friendly and delicious! We ended many evenings with ice cream and sitting at the patio tables. On our last night, the manager offered to give us half off as an appreciation of our visiting. We thought that was very kind and loved the small town feel of Gilly's!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kadykel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old fashion drive inn”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

5 of us went, sat at a table, waitress was so nice, food was really good, cheese curds were really good,hard rolls for hamburgers were great, icecream sundaes were fabulous

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Terrific little gem. Best cheese curds ever!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Yes, I gave it a 5 star rating, but we'll put it in perspective. This is a cute little drive-in with waitresses that come right to the car, just like the old days. The menu has clever names such as Packer, Snurtle and Razanna Sundaes. They have the usual burgers and hotdogs, but also a hot beef and Sloppy Joe sandwich. The prices area very reasonable, the burger was delicious, served on famous Sheboygan Hard Rolls that they butter and toast. The fries were very crispy, but moist and soft on the inside, not greasy at all. The root beer float was very good, tasty custard and right amount of soda. (Sometimes they are too heavy on one or the other).

My husband (against my protests) got their cheese curds with ranch dressing on the side. I was appalled--deep fried fat, dipped into more fat?? Cardiac city! Well, I had to try ONE, or two or five...They were honestly the best ones I've ever had. Light breading which was flavorful and the cheese was hot, gooey and salty. I usually have only one or two, but these babies were addictive.

It's also fun to just be there. It's cool to have the window down, visit with your neighbor and listen to the 60's music. There's also a fascinating story behind their burgers. According to the Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel.They teamed with the UW Madison food science program to create the best hamburger patty around. They now serve it at this location and Green Bay.

So, is it a fancy five star restaurant? No, but it IS good tasty old fashioned food, well-prepared with good service in a fun way at a very reasonable cost. If you don't want a sandwich, there are plenty of custard items and sweet treats to try instead. After being in business for 60 years, they know how to serve their customers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frozen_Tundra_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilly's Frozen Custar Drive-In also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing