We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see true Sheboygan restaurant made from an old train depot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gosse's

Gosse's
Ranked #16 of 162 Restaurants in Sheboygan
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must-see true Sheboygan restaurant made from an old train depot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick lunch the other day with my boyfriend. He's from New Jersey & hasn't yet experienced many of the restaurants Sheboygan has to offer, & the broasted chicken dinners here served with broasted potato wedges, homemade coleslaw & bread were always a favorite of mine growing up. We sat at the bar & ordered brandy old fashioneds (a Wisconsin specialty my boyfriend has become quite fond of) while we waited for our meal. The drinks were great, not made from that crappy mix, and all in all it was a huge value (cash only!) The chicken skin, however, was so salty that we found it difficult to eat. The meat itself was terrific, and I've eaten there plenty of times throughout the years without issue. Maybe the cook just had a heavy hand with the seasonings this time. I will return, because it is such a great value, & the atmosphere is just so Sheboygan, which is my home town. :) This place does have a great Friday fish fry which draws a pretty good crowd.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mpautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Second visit to Gosse's in Sheboygan and came through again. Fantastic steak sandwich on a buttered Sheboygan hardroll. This time I had the double brat, also served on ahard roll. That brat brought back memories of my childhood and it was only $4. They take only cash, no credit cards, which keeps prices low. Nice railroad decor and excellent bar. Give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Red0454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a find in Sheboygan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Visited with 2 friends and saw this restaurant on Trip Advisor and they were NOT wrong! This is a must if you want lunch at a cute place with very low prices. They do not take credit cards or checks, only cash so that keeps prices very low. The steak sandwich was fantastic. It comes on a true Sheboygan hard roll which brought back memories seeing I was born in Sheboygan but now only visit there. Drinks there were very inexpensive too, where can you get 2 beers and a margarita for only $8. Look at the menu, you won't believe the prices. So glad we saw this on Trip Advisor!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Red0454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“OMG! Eat the steak sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Though the name is a misnomer, in Sheboygan County this is a glorified hamburger, this will be one of the best things you have ever eaten in your entire life, I swear! Gosse's has one of the best in the county! I like mine with cheese. The steak sandwich comes on a Sheboygan Hard Roll, another thing you shouldn't miss while you are in town. Pair it with a local 3 Sheeps beer for the perfect lunch. If you want to hit the trifecta, save room for a homemade torte for dessert. Service is excellent. Just bring cash, for they take no checks or credit cards...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Krissie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenparal, hostess at Gosse's, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thanks for the positive review. We truly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Gosse's has a very limited menu, but everything on it is good. The hamburgers have great flavor, and the buns are true hard rolls. Their broaster chicken is the best around, and they one of the best perch fry's you can find in town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenparal, hostess at Gosse's, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you very much for the positive review. We truly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gosse's also viewed

 

Been to Gosse's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing