We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Brewster House Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Shullsburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Hanover
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Very good food and service. Nice historic setting in an old hotel. Cheese shop attached for some great fresh Wisconsin cheese. Reasonable price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DonaldO899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Historic and Charming”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had an early morning appointment at Truck Country in Shullsburg, WI for our RV. It was time for a late breakfast. We had never been to Shullsburg. Using a company car, we drove to the downtown area and by chance walked into the beautifully restored 1855 Brewster House at 210 West Water Street. We had fluffy 3 egg omelets; swiss with half dollar sized mushrooms and a ham with cheddar cheese. Both were excellent. The American potatoes were expertly seasoned. The best I've had in quite sometime. Less than $6 each. Friendly wait staff. Very clean restaurant and bathrooms. There is a attached gift shop. You walk through the cheese shop to get to the restaurant. Well stocked with a variety of microbrewery beers, wines, local honey, jams, syrups and deli cheeses. Check out the bar area and its tin ceiling with limestone walls. There are historic pictures throughout the bar and restaurant. The second floor is reserved for Shullsburg Creamery Corporate Headquarters. Ask your waitress for the historic walking tour guide of the town. It is clean, well kept, and surrounded by manicured homes. Those who live here obviously have pride in their town. The restaurant and town were a delightful surprise.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

On the way to Lake Geneva, WI we stopped at Brewster House in Shullsburg, WI. We sat in the room the farthest East of the entrance and picked a table that overlooked the main street. I had a prime rib open face sandwich which was excellent for flavor and tenderness at a great price. Connected to the restaurant is the Shullsburg Cheese Store which is worth your time to check out.

The town has a small historical downtown where Brewster House is located and there are two nice shops in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“As good as Grandma made”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

During an outing around Wisc. we stopped by the Shullsburg Cheese store and visited Brewsters next door.
The food was wonderful, prices reasonable, and service "down home" friendly.
If you pass this way, try their pulled pork sandwich with what tasted like "home made" fries.
The next time I'm there it will be the Macaroni & Cheese I'll try.
Everyone around us was having the cheese soup. It must also be a local winner.
We had pear pie for dessert. Had never had it before. Probably wouldn't have it again.
It was good but if I had extra room I'd have their fried macaroni & cheese wedges appetizer.
As you may have guessed, it's a cheese lovers paradise.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toobks70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Ia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

If you like cheese this is the place there is a store attached to the restaurant which carries all kinds of cheese meal was good we split the French dip and also each got a cup of cheese soup which was great.Great place to visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brewster House Restaurant also viewed

 
Shullsburg, WI
 
Shullsburg, WI

Been to Brewster House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing