We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Postcard”
Review of Kendal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kendal House
Ranked #1 of 3 Blakesley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2012

What a beautiful B&B, My wife and I stayed for a weekend with our 5 year old on a visit to the area last month and were so pleased with ourstay. Our daughter loved the family's children being there too and they were so good at keeping her entertained.

The property is beatiful, full of character and our room was a generous size for the three of us. Karyn and Iain made us feel very welcome at all times, their local knowledge is oustanding and they were bery helpful. There is also a pub opposite which does lovely bar snacks. Breakfast was served at the time we had arranged and was just perfect.

Thank you, we look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregSimcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Kendal House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

My partner and I stayed here last night and fell in love with the place straight away! From booking Karyn was so friendly and helpful and great at responding to any queries really quickly. We arrived at 6pm and as it was a Sunday a lot of pubs had stopped serving food and we were directed to a few places nearby that were still serving so we were pleased there was still a bit of choice after a 3 and a half hour drive!
Karyn and her daughter showed us to our room, and they were so polite and helpful. The room itself was just up our street, and the bed was HUGE and so comfortable, great night sleep! The shower was great too, very powerful, and everything was clean and tidy. When we came down for breakfast this morning there was a choice of cereal and we also had tea, coffee, juice, toast and a full english made just how we like it, it was so good that we ate more than we should and as a result we've been full all day!
We were in the area as we were visiting Silverstone for a driving experience, and location wise Kendal House was spot on, just a short scenic drive away, I think in an ideal world we would live in the area but for now we'll be staying at Kendal House when we visit in future! I was shocked to read some of the previous reviews as we honestly had no complaints to make, Karyn has a lovely home and we look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Give them a call if need be, very helpful!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We were given a very warm welcome from the hosts and were very pleased with our room. My son was very happy as he was able to play with the children of the house and he is very keen on a repeat visit!
The bedroom was lovely and the onsuite facilities very good. We were impressed by the breakfast that was on offer and enjoyed talking to the hosts about the surrounding area. They were able to recommend some places to eat and local attractions to visit.
A charming and very welcoming family and house. I have no hesitation in recommending this B and B to anyone.

Room Tip: The bedroom with the kingsized bed is very quiet and extremely comfortable, with a shower and bath i...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBrooks186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The B& B was booked well in advance of the visit but we were offered a room with a bathroom on the floor below after booking en suite. The room had just been vacated by a family member. It looked as though the bed had just been vacated! The room was dusty, untidy and full of the previous occupants belongings. The dart board was novel! After a complaint was lodged we were moved to the flat and were told it was fully serviced and self contained. This was a typical student flat. Like the previous room it was full of the regular occupants belongings. Nowhere to store clothes as all the cupboards and drawers were full of clothes, shoes under cupboards, suitcase under the bed, food in the kitchen and even an onion sprouting skywards in one of the cupboards. The whole place was dusty and the floors were dirty, especially the bathroom. A black rug and black towels did not inspire confidence. We were charged £90 a night for the privelege of staying here! As it was late at night when we arrived we felt we had no alternative but to stay. As an experienced Youth Hosteller I can cope with basic but not this!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mansell1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarynAnne, Owner at Kendal House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

As always, we welcome our guests' comments but we are very disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the accommodation. I do wish you had expressed your concerns at the time so that we could have had the opportunity to make your stay a more pleasant one.

As you know you stayed with us during one of the busiest weekends of the year and we therefore make use of rooms that are usually reserved for ourselves. However, everything was thoroughly cleaned and tidied. But as a result of your comments we have decided not to use the flat for B&B accommodation in the future, as it clearly does not match up to the quality and standards available in the rest of the house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Myself, my husband and my son of 12 stayed here for the Moto GP 2012 which was taking place at Silverstone. The old house was very welcoming indeed as were the owners and their children. A most comfortable stay with an excellent breakfast. There was a great little pub just over the road too which was handy for a few drinks and a bite to eat. It only took us about ten minutes, possibly even less, to get to Silverstone Circuit on the Sunday morning as the route from this B & B cuts out all the queues! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We mentioned to the owners that our son, although only 12 years old, is rather tall for his age and...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tink-G1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a very charming B&B. It is a beautifully quirky old house with heaps of character. The room we stayed in was huge, and had a super king size bed with a fantastic mattress, as well as a new en suite bathroom.

Breakfast also lived up to the house its self. We had a full English breakfast that was delicious, but cereal and continental breakfasts were also provided although we could not manage them.

I was slightly concerned about parking from an earlier post on here, however there was plenty of room for 10 or more cars so this was not an issue what-so-ever. It is also 10 minutes to Silverstone race circuit so great location.

To top off the fantastic house, room and breakfast the owners are lovely. I would recommend the B&B to my friends and family very highly. Will certainly be trying to book again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We spent two nights at Kendal House at the weekend of the Historic Sports car Club Championships and booked all of the rooms for a reunion of fellow-apprentices from the 1960's (5 couples). Ian & Karyn made us all feel very welcome, and the whole place was full of character, quiet, and convenient for Silverstone circuit. We had the Guest Lounge all to ourselves, and Ian & Karyn laid a real fire for us each day. The rooms were all very clean & tidy, with much more character than any modern hotel or motel. Breakfast was also very generous, and another social occasion. We would come again without hesitation.
There is a friendly local pub 5 minutes walk down the road.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en-suite but this was not a problem.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakesley
4.3 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
426 reviews
6.0 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,460 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#8 of 29 in Northampton
1,292 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#23 of 29 in Northampton
417 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kendal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendal House

Address: 7 High Street, Blakesley, Towcester NN12 8RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester > Blakesley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blakesley
Price Range: £68 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kendal House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kendal House is an 18th century coaching inn, now converted into a large family home. Set over three floors, this beautifully restored building retains many original features whilst offering accommodation of the highest standard. We have 4 charming en-suite rooms available to guests. Rumour has it that both Winston Churchill and the Queen Mother have visited the property during the village's busier times. But these days our guests tend to choose us so that they can combine a visit to Silverstone racetrack with a relaxing stay in our peaceful village (only 10 minutes drive from the track). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Kendal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing