We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandwiches and ice cream - what more do you need?”

Door County Ice Cream Factory & Sandwich Shoppe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: The Door County Ice Cream Factory and Sandwich Shoppe makes its own super-premium ice cream on site. Patrons can watch ice cream being made during production hours. Over seventy varieties of ice cream and sorbet are made with 29 available on any given day. We also have a full line of sundaes, shakes, malts, and draft root beer floats. Enjoy your ice cream in one of our freshly made waffle cones or enjoy a sundae with our house made hot fudge. If you are hungry for a meal, we offer a full line of sub sandwiches as well as soups, salads, and homemade pizza. Enjoy your ice cream or food in our building which was constructed in 1912. Adorning the walls are vintage photographs of Sister Bay and the surrounding areas. We have an outdoor play area for kids and plenty of seating both inside and out.
Restaurant details
Description: The Door County Ice Cream Factory and Sandwich Shoppe makes its own super-premium ice cream on site. Patrons can watch ice cream being made during production hours. Over seventy varieties of ice cream and sorbet are made with 29 available on any given day. We also have a full line of sundaes, shakes, malts, and draft root beer floats. Enjoy your ice cream in one of our freshly made waffle cones or enjoy a sundae with our house made hot fudge. If you are hungry for a meal, we offer a full line of sub sandwiches as well as soups, salads, and homemade pizza. Enjoy your ice cream or food in our building which was constructed in 1912. Adorning the walls are vintage photographs of Sister Bay and the surrounding areas. We have an outdoor play area for kids and plenty of seating both inside and out.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sandwiches and ice cream - what more do you need?”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I made a few trips here and I was always happy (and full). Soup and 1/2 a sandwich = very filling and delicious! I had the ham sandwich. OMG!
Sherwood Point Panini = very tasty. Comes with a pickle and a bag of chips. YUM!
Chocolate phosphate -- what else do I need to say.
Chocolate and Cherry sundae -- vanilla ice cream, Door County cherries, hot fudge, whipped topping, nuts, and a cherry on top. Heaven in a bowl :D
Busy but fast service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JLK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    61
    13
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding for families”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is great for families with kids. Family Pleaser special can not be beat for value, easily feeds us and our three kids, very reasonbly priced for the area. Home made ice cream tastes terrific - enough variety for any one. Old world charm in the building. Can be busy between 6:00pm and 8:00pm. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

One of our regular stops when we visit Door County. Our first couple of years we went to Not Licked Yet in Fish Creek when we wanted ice cream (or in their case custard) but after our first visit to the Ice Cream Factory we made this our place for ice cream. Nice, simple atmosphere with a lot of character and plenty of favors of high quality ice cream. One of these days we'll try the pizza. Only reason I didn't give it a 5 is I still think $8 is pretty steep for just 3 scoops of ice cream between my wife and I.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Walpole
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Easy to miss on 42. Try not to”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Real ice cream made on premise. a wide variety of sandwiches and pizza. The chili is tasty and not overly spicy, but enough of a kick to satisfy all but the hardest core chili fans. The sandwiches are generous and service is quick, even when they are busy. For a lighter appetite, the half sandwich and soup option works well. I stumbled on this place a few years ago as it is across the street from Tannebaum christemeas and holiday shop and I make a point to have lunch there every year when we are on vacation in Door County

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston New York
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The ice cream there is the best I have had anywhere. There is a huge variety of ice creams. What was interesting for me is there were roughly 20 of us converging on the shoppe around 9 p.m. and I was thinking - how on earth are they going to serve us all before closing. Well they did it very well. Also, there are several places to sit and eat the ice cream.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandyKingstonNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Door County Ice Cream Factory & Sandwich Shoppe also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Door County Ice Cream Factory & Sandwich Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing