We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and fun”
Review of JJ"s La Puerta

JJ"s La Puerta
Ranked #14 of 37 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Great casual place to eat and socialize with others. The food is great-best chips/salsa and margaritas in Door County. House shot: The Bernie. Ring the bell! Sugar Shack Tiki Bar on the water located behind JJ's for sunset!
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relaxed and fun”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

JJ's is an institution in Sister Bay. While the food varies from OK to excellent, you won't get a bad meal here, the menu is large, and the reception and servers are friendly. You feel as though the workers here are happy, and that translates to the customers. It's a great place for sandwiches, both burgers and fish, and the Mexican is only decent, but doesn't have much competition. Salads are good. JJ's has a nautical theme and pleasant open feel even though the room is narrow. The sports bar is the central focus, but somehow doesn't intrude.

We enjoy stopping at JJ's every so often.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJNJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    112
    63
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not worth your time.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This place is so far off. The food tastes like it came from a can. Theres nothing authentic about the Mexican food. We left the meal disgusted and disappointed with the food here, i would never recommend someone partake in their food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not bad mexican”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stopped for lunch. The margarita I had was ok, It had huge chunks of ice in it. The flavor was ok. I had the fish taco and it was very good and plentiful. My husband had a burger and fries that was huge. The service was really good and the waitress was very attentive and friendly. Nice atmosphere. I would eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockyslope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always our first stop after the drive up”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Like clockwork, our first stop for food when we make up to Door County is JJ's in Sister Bay. Great Mexican food! If you make it up on a Thursday they have a nice crab leg special. Unlike some of the other reviews here, we have never had bad service, all the wait staff has been friendly, and the food comes out promptly. They have great variety on the menu, and the chips and salsa are great. If you are looking for a nice country restaurant that has delicious Mexican food, give JJ's a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NathanT946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This was the first time I had been at JJ's in Jacksonport although my family has been here before and they insisted that we go here for some good Mexican food. Well the food was amazing! We had enchiladas for the main course, and their salsa was incredible -- we could taste the freshness with every chip. We didn't save room for the fried ice cream but we got it anyway and of course we finished it. It's a casual place so jeans or whatever are perfect and the environment is cute. We went to the Jacksonport location but I'm sure the location in sister Bay is just as good. Delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JJ"s La Puerta also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to JJ"s La Puerta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing