We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for friends to stay”
Review of Scandinavian Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scandinavian Lodge
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed at the Scandinavian Lodge Oct 10-13, 2011 and found it to be a great place to stay. We were with another couple and having two bedrooms and baths was what led us to stay here. The two-bedroom condo was very comfortable and reasonable. The location was quiet, easy to get to places in DC, and having a full kitchen helped save money for other things to door in DC. The staff were friendly and helpful. If we are in Door County again I know we will stay at the Scandinavian Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRJ-MLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

I'm giving this 5 stars because it was very well run, the rooms, although slightly bland in decor, were comfortable and absolutely immaculate. We didn't really use the full kitchen, but it was wonderful when traveling with several families to have the gear to cut up melon and cheese and even make a little toast for a pre-breakfast hold-over until everyone awoke. The location and staff were wonderful. I haven't got a single complaint with the Scandinavian Lodge. That said, I do advise the two bedroom suites be used for adults in one room and kiddos in the other -- the "master" bedroom is spacious and very well appointed (king bed, tv at comfortable viewing level, full shower and jet bath) The "kids" room has a queen size bed, the tv was mounted at about 6' off the ground and since the room was only about 30" wider then the bed, that meant it was almost impossible to comfortably watch tv from bed. (the room is postage stamp sized, and there's no additional seating in the second bedroom, so it's not as if there was any comfortable spot to watch the tv from.) The shower in that room was not adjustable, no one who used the shower could get it to aim at an ideal spot. Again, as a kids room, just fine, but if traveling with two couples or even separate families where an adult and child are in each room -- it is not an equitable room division. And if the people who get the big room come out complaining that the pillows are standard sized and not "King" ... you're free to pelt them with the darned pillows.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treelouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is a great place to stay if you are traveling with family. We stayed in a two bedroom two bath, it has a full kitchen, access to deck from both bedrooms & the living room. It has an indoor & outdoor pool. They all have a fireplace & a jetted tub. My only complaint is that when my toddler twins started crawling, I didn't realize how dirty the carpet was. It needed cleaned, but everything else is clean. It's probably not an easy job. Also, the staff is not very friendly. They're not rude, just not friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I have been to Door County many Times and this is the best place we have stayed. The room was comfortable and clean. The pools were very refreshing. The staff was helpful and courteous. Having the full kitchen sure helped us save some money for the fun stuff to do up in DC. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool. THat way you will get more sun into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We returned to the Scandinavian Lodge after trying the Settlement in Fish Creek last year (nice, but outdoor pool only). We stayed in a 2-bedroom condo unit which was perfect for our needs. Having the full kitchen, dining area, and living room are great and help make it feel like you are not right on top of each other. The location is a few blocks away from the main town area and north of the busiest cities in Door County, so if you are okay with driving a few extra minutes to "head north", you will be rewarded w/a peaceful stay. The rooms were overall well-maintained and clean. One afternoon when we were napping and put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door, we awoke to find a wicker basket of clean towels at our doorstep - a nice touch. The Scandinavian Lodge has indoor and outdoor mid-size pools, which are nice in terms of being able to adjust w/the weather. The water in the indoor pool was slightly cloudy - not sure if that has to do w/the bromine or not (don't wear silver jewelry - will result in a removable dark tarnish!) - the water in the outdoor pool was clearer. Other nice features include a guest coin-operated laundry, small video game room, and ping-pong/small kiddie pool area. No breakfast is served, but again, if you make a quick trip to the local grocery, you'll have everything you need in the in-room kitchen to make yourself any meal or snack you could need.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingPs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Location: This is where this place shines. It is just out of Sister Bay. Close enough to walk if you want, 2 minute drive. On 57, two blocks for 42. Easy to get anywhere in Nor Door or even southern Door.

Service/front Desk: Reservations staff and front desk staff were friendly. Not over the top, but nice enough.

Room: 2 bedroom suite. Both bedrooms had 1 bed (king and queen respectively). Rooms themselves were small. Both had bathrooms en-suite. Living room/dining area/kitchen was fine. Everything was in working order. Nice big deck with big picnic table. All in all, very comprable to other condo/hotels we have stayed at in DC.

Pools: Indoor pool was well lit, open, and airy. Pool itself was a good temp, not cold and not hot. Pool was also a very nice size, plenty of room for lots of active kids. Seemed very clean. Nice spa, nice sauna. Kids pool was in seperate room, which was very nice (no need to worry about toddlers wandering into the big pool). Outdoor pool was a bit on the small side, but very nice. good bushes around it to give it a more private feeling. All in all, very happy with the pools.

Overall: Our family of 4 liked it very much. We would have preferred having 2 beds in the second bedroom, but we haven't found that anywhere in DC so weren't surprised that the Scandinavian didn't have them. When we go back to DC next spring/summer, it is likely we will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask the nice lady when you reserve your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank opinionFIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were big with tons of storage. The swimming pools were great for the kids. We were able to do our laundry with no problem. Customer service from the front desk was great. They helped me a lot with some paper work I had to take care of right away. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buttons1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.8 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
406 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
240 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandinavian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandinavian Lodge

Address: 264 Highway 57, P.O. Box 355, Sister Bay, WI 54234
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range: £64 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandinavian Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandinavian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavian Hotel Sister Bay
Scandinavian Lodge Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing