We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A winter surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CHOP

CHOP
Reserve with OpenTable
CHOP is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With an emphasis on classic American Steakhouse cuisine, Chop is Door County's First Choice for great steak and seafood. CHOP is a great place to eat, combining an intriguing atmosphere with excellent, high-quality food and service.
Wauwatosa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A winter surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Chop is remaining open for the winter (until March, we were told) which makes staying in Sister Bay even better!! We had halibut and walleye, respectively, with wild rice, the house salad, and bananas foster cheesecake. Another outstanding meal with great service. They have also added a deck out front that provides quite a bit of space for next summer's outdoor dining. Looking forward to that!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_and_DebbieWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    101
    36
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So good you'll feel like you just had sex!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband had steak and I had the salmon. I normally am cautious about ordering fish dinner out but it was absolutely WONDERFUL! Fresh, homemade, and very gourmet flavors. Great food and service, beautiful presentation. The entire meal we were saying "Mmm!" (no joke, this was throughout the ENTIRE meal) We also got dessert & coffee afterwards just to top it off. This place really nails it on the head. Everything was amazing. Afterwards we were sitting at our table staring at each other so satisfied. A+ We'll definitely be back to this restaurant for our next visit to Door County!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ladybug12445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent End to a wonerful day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had read about this restaurant several weeks ago in the newspaper. We were looking for somewhere for a good steak and little did we know how great dinner would be. This is a small restaurant so reservations are highly recommended. We had a bit of a wait, even with reservations but the wait was well worth it. My filet was wonderful as was my husbands steak. Everything was absolutely delectable and as someone else had commented, the maple utter was sooo great.! I had a pumpkin bisque, which I had never had and I loved it. I wanted dessert, but there truly was no room for anything.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Loved it and we will be back the next time we are in Door County.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hmjeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicksville, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Upscale and so yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Chop was simply delicous. The fresh bread with maple butter was to die for. The caesar salad was excellent. My steak was cooked to perfection which mashed potatoes that were creamy. Dessert was soooooo good- cheesecake! It was pricey but totally worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a great dinner. The filet mignon was cooked perfectly and tasted heavenly! We shared the Chocolate flourless torte and a Salty carmel fudge sundae for dessert. They were both delicious. I would highly recommend the restuarant. It was the best food we had in Door County!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CHOP also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to CHOP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing