We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Birchwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birchwood Lodge
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Our family has stayed at the Birchwood Lodge every year for at least 6 years! We love the location (an easy walk into Sister Bay) and the owners. Accommodations are large, clean and offer a 'condo-type' feel. Love having a kitchenette, fireplace, and balcony. There is an indoor pool that's always inviting and clean. Very reasonably priced. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCB711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    26
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
64
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Went to Door County over the Columbus Day weekend. First of all, it's not easy to find a nice new or updated hotel in Door county. Most of them are small, family owned places and many of them are outdated or just plain old. The Birchwood Lodge is a newer place and it has many amenities like a work out room with nice equipment, laundry, indoor pool and whirlpool. The rooms themselves have whirlpools in them. There is plenty of parking and it's walking distance from many of Sister Bay's attractions. During the fall color season, you have to book a minimum of 3 nights on weekends but the rates are very reasonable and there are many things to do in Door County. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveler1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed at Birchwood Lodge for the Labor Day weekend this year [Aug 31 - Sep 3]. It was our first trip to Door County and we couldnt have picked a better place. The hotel is a 2-3 minute walk to the waterfront. Leave your car in the hotel if you want to walk down the Marina. The Bayshore Drive is a beautiful stretch and lots of little shops and places to eat. The room service is great. Roman at the front desk was exceptional in providing us with travel tips on places to see in and around door county.

This hotel offers free bike rentals & tennis racquets - so be sure to take advantage of it!!

Room Tip: First floor rooms on the back side have a walk-out patio. Perfect for the evenings to sit and relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srinidhi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, WI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Birchwood Lodge to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was a surprise to me, so I had no clue where we were going to stay. I was pleasantly surprised by the place my husband chose. It met all my expectations for a quiet and hospitable stay in Door County. We stayed in a jacuzzi suite with a king sized bed. It had a small sitting area, kitchenette with fridge (for all the wine!) and microwave, and flat panel tv.
PROS:
-Very clean rooms, decorated with a nautical theme. Housekeeping did a great job and the room was well stocked with towels, toiletries, and information for things to do in the area.
-Comfy room and bed. Although we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, it was perfect for our needs.
-Friendly staff. The lady who checked us in was incredibly nice and helpful, giving us suggestions for meals in local restaurants.
-Nice pool areas (indoor and out). Hot tub was hot, just how I like it. Might be too hot for some though.
-A "green" hotel. Promotes conservation of water and creating less waste.
-Private balcony, perfect for sipping wine and relaxing after a busy day of site seeing.
CONS:
-No elevators, not exactly accessible for everyone. Luckily we didn't have a lot of luggage to haul.
-Exterior could have used some updating.
-Because they are "green" they also didn't water the lawn, so it was pretty burned up from the ridiculous heat this summer.

Room Tip: Our room over-looked the outdoor pool area, which was fine, but not exactly picturesque. I would ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samicogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Nice place with large rooms and a nice jacuzzi. Not a lot to do there, but plenty if you drive to Fish Creek. It would be nice to have a restaurant, but there is a cute little kitchen are there. Nice for couples.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very nice lodge, 7 yrs.old.a rustic feeling with a large group; of wide stairs that go down to the main lobby which has a fireplace and 2 couches. We stayed in the lodge with a king bed,which has a small wall that divides the bed from the couch and kitchenette which has a microwave,small refrigerator,sink, dishes and silverware.
They do have a complimentary cold breakfast with cereals,oatmeal,packaged sweet rolls, bagels hot water, coffee and package cocoa
The TV is up high near the ceiling where you can watch it from the couch or bed area, which is handy, a fireplace is below the TV.the other choice is a one bedroom in the lodge also. they have a nice fitness area with a few machines and a two tread mills, and bikes
.there is a outdoor and indoor pool with a large whirpool, sauna and shower.
.I would definitely stay here again, very clean and staff very nice
.It is right in Sister Bay but you still need a car to get to town.

Room Tip: the lodge is built on a hill so if you want to be on ground level ask for a room in the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank towndog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

It was okay but if I were to go to Sister Bay again I would certainly try someplace else. There was plenty of room, mattresses were okay and it is conveniently located to town, which is good because they do not have a bar or restaurant. We had a nice patio to sit out on but there were only two chairs and it was a two bedroom unit. Major complaint is that the room was very musty. It looked clean but it didn't smell clean. It wasn't unbearable but for $200/night c'mon.

Room Tip: Room 108 is good for a family or two couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.5 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
374 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
155 reviews
6.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandinavian Lodge
Scandinavian Lodge
#10 of 17 in Sister Bay
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Lodge

Property: Birchwood Lodge
Address: 10571 State Highway 57, P.O. Box 646, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9085
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Birchwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"From the moment you walk in the Lobby" of Birchwood Lodge, you will find yourself in the world of Romance and Elegance. Our luxurious accommodations are suitable for both leisure and business travelers. The Lodge is within walking distance to the quaint village of Sister Bay, home to a waterfront village park and beach, a variety of shops and restaurants. No need to travel to Europe if you can experience Romance in the Heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Sister Bay
Birchwood Sister Bay
Birchwood Lodge Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing