We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disapointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Birchwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birchwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, Minnesota USA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little disapointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed there again when we went to Sister Bay June 2, 2013. The bed room was very warm. Wished we had a fan. (They took it out). There was spider webs on the furniture on the balcony. My husband went down for the continental breakfast and came back up with bad creamer and mold on his bagel. The mattress needed to be replaced - we had back aches every morning! Never the less, we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjrenb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CollakR, General Manager at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear madam,

I am sorry you were disapointed with your recent stay. All of our mattresses have been replaced to a softer type based on our guests requests a year ago. Each unit is individually owned at the Birchwood Lodge and owners decide on decorations and contents of their units. We would be happy to relocate you to the unit with ceiling fan if it has been requested. I would like to thank your husband for bringing into our attention the issue with the mold in prepacked bagels that were delivered to us. We were not aware of this because the items are individually wrapped. As soon as your husband informed us we have removed them from the breakfast line and have contacted our vendor. I am sorry for all the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay.

Roman Collak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    26
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
64
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stay here with a large group every summer--about 18 people. They are great about accommodating us and storing our expensive bicycles for us. The rooms are clean and spacious. I especially like the Jacuzzi tub and the balcony. It's quiet, comfortable, and the staff is friendly. Back for year five this summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMLevicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

This was our first time staying at the Birchwood Lodge and it probably won't be the last. We stayed for one night during the winter when there's not much open in Sister Bay. But the lodge has a really nice indoor pool, whirlpool and exercise room to keep guests busy. The hotel is just around the corner from downtown Sister Bay, which is a very easy walk. Sister Bay Bowl is close, at the top of the hill, and they have a pretty nice menu.

Our room was one of the premiere suites, which has a nice double whirlpool, fireplace and kitchenette. As rooms go, this was very well appointed. It seems they have thought of everything. The kitchenette has a sink, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, plenty of dishes, glasses, wine glasses and utensils. The bathroom has a nice double shower and its own heater.

The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, even when we requested a special room. One of the staff members even called a restaurant for us to make sure they were open. They have pool towels available at the front desk and most anything else you can think of. We were very impressed with how clean the facilities were, especially our room.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, which seems to be a little quieter. The second floor has the pool on it and might be a little busier. Continental breakfast is light but when Al Johnson's is just down the street, why fill up at the hotel? Yogurt, fruit, coffee, packaged sweet rolls. Just fine by us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeenahMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Our family has stayed at the Birchwood Lodge every year for at least 6 years! We love the location (an easy walk into Sister Bay) and the owners. Accommodations are large, clean and offer a 'condo-type' feel. Love having a kitchenette, fireplace, and balcony. There is an indoor pool that's always inviting and clean. Very reasonably priced. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCB711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Went to Door County over the Columbus Day weekend. First of all, it's not easy to find a nice new or updated hotel in Door county. Most of them are small, family owned places and many of them are outdated or just plain old. The Birchwood Lodge is a newer place and it has many amenities like a work out room with nice equipment, laundry, indoor pool and whirlpool. The rooms themselves have whirlpools in them. There is plenty of parking and it's walking distance from many of Sister Bay's attractions. During the fall color season, you have to book a minimum of 3 nights on weekends but the rates are very reasonable and there are many things to do in Door County. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveler1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed at Birchwood Lodge for the Labor Day weekend this year [Aug 31 - Sep 3]. It was our first trip to Door County and we couldnt have picked a better place. The hotel is a 2-3 minute walk to the waterfront. Leave your car in the hotel if you want to walk down the Marina. The Bayshore Drive is a beautiful stretch and lots of little shops and places to eat. The room service is great. Roman at the front desk was exceptional in providing us with travel tips on places to see in and around door county.

This hotel offers free bike rentals & tennis racquets - so be sure to take advantage of it!!

Room Tip: First floor rooms on the back side have a walk-out patio. Perfect for the evenings to sit and relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srinidhi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, WI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Birchwood Lodge to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was a surprise to me, so I had no clue where we were going to stay. I was pleasantly surprised by the place my husband chose. It met all my expectations for a quiet and hospitable stay in Door County. We stayed in a jacuzzi suite with a king sized bed. It had a small sitting area, kitchenette with fridge (for all the wine!) and microwave, and flat panel tv.
PROS:
-Very clean rooms, decorated with a nautical theme. Housekeeping did a great job and the room was well stocked with towels, toiletries, and information for things to do in the area.
-Comfy room and bed. Although we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, it was perfect for our needs.
-Friendly staff. The lady who checked us in was incredibly nice and helpful, giving us suggestions for meals in local restaurants.
-Nice pool areas (indoor and out). Hot tub was hot, just how I like it. Might be too hot for some though.
-A "green" hotel. Promotes conservation of water and creating less waste.
-Private balcony, perfect for sipping wine and relaxing after a busy day of site seeing.
CONS:
-No elevators, not exactly accessible for everyone. Luckily we didn't have a lot of luggage to haul.
-Exterior could have used some updating.
-Because they are "green" they also didn't water the lawn, so it was pretty burned up from the ridiculous heat this summer.

Room Tip: Our room over-looked the outdoor pool area, which was fine, but not exactly picturesque. I would ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samicogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.5 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
6.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandinavian Lodge
Scandinavian Lodge
#10 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Lodge

Property: Birchwood Lodge
Address: 10571 State Highway 57, P.O. Box 646, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9085
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Birchwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"From the moment you walk in the Lobby" of Birchwood Lodge, you will find yourself in the world of Romance and Elegance. Our luxurious accommodations are suitable for both leisure and business travelers. The Lodge is within walking distance to the quaint village of Sister Bay, home to a waterfront village park and beach, a variety of shops and restaurants. No need to travel to Europe if you can experience Romance in the Heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Sister Bay
Birchwood Sister Bay
Birchwood Lodge Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing