We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The whole family enjoyed this B and B”
Review of Church Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Sister Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
white bear lake, MN USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The whole family enjoyed this B and B”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My wife and I love B and B's. This is the first time my family (two teenaged daughters (21 and 15 years of age) stay at a B and B. Churchill Inn is a "modified" B & B since it is much larger than a typical B&B. But for the price you pay it is a very good value. The Inn was clean and nicely decorated. The breakfasts were very good and the staff friendly and helpful. If anything the staff could improve the outside garden/patio area. Also I wouldn't bring small children since the typical guest was certainly described B&B experience so that made my wife and I very happy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank narmberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    28
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
93
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We just returned from a three day trip to Door County that was for our 5th anniversary. My wife and I were going for a quick little getaway for relaxation and to take pictures of the fall colors. We stayed all three nights at the Church Hill Inn, and while not the worst place we have ever stayed, it is most likely a place we will never stay at again. For what the Inn charges, particularly during peak season or for big events (in our case, the Fall Fest right in Sister Bay), we did not believe the price fits what you actually get. In addition, we must make sure to note that for anyone under the age of 45-50, be forewarned that the Inn tends to lean towards the older crowd (60-80). There is absolutely nothing wrong with that, it is just something to consider if you wish the meet or converse with others while staying at the Inn. Before giving the pros and cons of the Inn, we also wanted to state that we believed that the food was simply average. It was all edible or decent, but not as great as everyone on this website makes it out to be - we were expecting a wonderful breakfast based on the reviews and were disappointed.

Pros - Very nice and friendly staff; honor bar is somewhat unique; free wi-fi; seating area and fireplaces in the different wings; and location for events in Sister Bay or for getting to other towns in Door County.

Cons - walls paper thin (could hear clearly conversations of those next door, and showers of rooms next door and above sounded like they were in our room - want to give a shout out to Dolores and Frank, our next door neighbors on night #1, and thank them for getting us up at 6:30am); pillows very lumpy and uncomfortable; all services essentially shut down by 9pm (for example, my wife could not get coffee in the evening after returning from dinner around 9:30pm), average breakfast food.

Just a side note about the town of Sister Bay for those who may not know - the town is a little slower than those towns to the south (Ephraim and Fish Creek), so if you are seeking things like coffee in the evening, dessert, or a convenience store, everything closes fairly early (at least in the fall). Fish Creek and Ephraim seemed to have more of a nightlife so to speak, in terms of longer hours of operation of restaurants and stores. It was a very nice town, but it skews towards a slightly older crowd.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, so I do not enjoy giving the Inn an average review, but I believe it is better to give our perspective on how we viewed our stay at the Inn so the next prospective couple looking for a place to stay has as many reviews to consider as possible. It would have been nice to know ahead of time of the paper thin walls, poor pillows, and average age of those staying at the Inn prior to making the reservations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank midwestlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Church Hill Inn for three nights while on a get-away belated wedding anniversary celebration. The rooms at the inn are each furnished to invoke a British B & B. Ours was the "Chess Room", decorated with various chess decorative arts and an old-world feel. The bed was a very comfortable queen-size four poster, the bath adequate and clean, and the balcony a nice place to do a bit of afternoon reading. The inn has two floors and each has two cozy living areas complete with a fireplace at the center of a cluster of rooms. These are beautifully decorated in a cozy country inn fashion and have books and games available for use. The inn was full but very quiet the weekend we stayed.

The highlight of the Church Hill Inn, though, has to be its hot, home-cooked breakfasts. The food was delicious and always included a fresh baked good. Breakfast was served at small tables with wait service. A tip was requested.

We would definitely stay here again when in Door County.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraK70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

A nice place to stay. We had a big room, really appreciated the big complimentary breakfast buffets in the morning, liked the quiet location. It was easy to get to everywhere else in Door County from here. Staff was incredibly healpful with suggestions. The bar area is great too-- it's nice to get a drink and some munchies after a busy day but before you're ready to go out to dinner.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

My husband and I went there for our ten year wedding anniversary and the had a great time. I can not exactly decide what the best part of the inn was - bed linens, the soft bathrobe, the excellent service, the unbelievable honor bar, breakfast in the morning, soaps, fluffy towels. It was all well worth the price. Our room was large and spacious. Our balcony was private. Our windows were without a spot.

Relaxing it was. It was so very hard to leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TurkeyGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Native
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Our stay at the Churchill Inn included Friday through Monday morning. We came up for the Pumpkin Patch festival and made it a "family" gathering with my son,daughter-in-law and her parents. The rooms were nicely decorated, although there were cobwebs from the valances to the ceiling, dirty kleenex under the bed and candy wrappers under the TV cabinet. The breakfast served each morning was average and the hors dourves that were served in the early evening left a lot to be desired. The front desk closed up promptly at 8:30 p.m. which meant that any complimentary coffee and tea was removed by then. All in all we felt we could have had comparable amenities at a Hampton Inn or Country Inn and Suites for less money. Would we consider staying there again? Definitely not.

  • Liked — The king size bed
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mcorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

From my first phone call through checkout, the staff was pleasant and attentive. The room we reserved was off a delightful courtyard centered by a flowing fountain, surrounded by flowers; almost like our own secluded patio. The four-poster bed was comfortable and the bathroom very well-appointed with a large Jacuzzi, big enough to share. I appreciated the fact that it was not a corner tub and not in the room with the bed. The Honor Bar was a welcome surprise. Never having experienced such a thing before, I felt I had the run of the house. Keeping our own tab allowed us to buy only what we needed and the selection was extensive. Breakfast, served off a buffet line, was made all the more enjoyable with our own server filling our coffee and juice orders. Everything was delicious! The inn's location was perfect for our weekend away and we've already booked the same room and time for next year! Thank you, Church Hill Inn for your wonderful accomodations.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms.
  • Disliked — No gluten-free items for my spouse's breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Matildail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.5 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
163 reviews
1.7 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
214 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Hill Inn

Property: Church Hill Inn
Address: 425 Gateway Drive, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9450
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sister Bay
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Church Hill Hotel Sister Bay
Church Hill Inn Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing