We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing stay at the Church Hill Inn”
Review of Church Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Hill Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Sister Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing stay at the Church Hill Inn”
Reviewed 29 June 2008

During our week's stay in Door County, we stayed at a couple other traditional B&Bs, but wanted more freedom on our last few days to eat breakfast when we choose to. After reading reviews of the Church Hill Inn, I called in March to book our June reservation under their "Stay 3 nights, get one night free" promotion. I was surprised when the reservationist told me they only had one room left, so I immediately booked it.

We were pleasantly surprised when we checked-in and found we had a beautifully decorated corner room with a private balcony and a long window seat with large, bright windows. The in-room mini-fridge was much appreciated when we brought back leftovers from dinner or wanted to chill wine.

The breakfast buffet was offered from 8-10 am in their breakfast room, and was a pleasant experience with soft music and servers that served the beverages. The buffet had a variety of items, including an egg dish, muffins, scones, fruit, cereals, breads, and more, and everything was delicious.

Although we didn't use it, their Honor Bar was a nice amenity that had the feel of an English Pub, and we always saw several guests relaxing there and enjoying a drink and the complimentary snacks in the afternoon.

The adjacent "Country Walk" shopping village was an unexpected bonus, and we enjoyed a wonderful Italian dinner at the Pasta Vino restaurant there.

If we are ever fortunate enough to return to Door County, we will definitely stay at the Church Hill Inn, and would likely stay there for our entire visit.

  • Liked — Location, tasteful decor, British theme, cleanliness, breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — Balcony porch light on an automatic timer that didn't turn it off until 10:30 pm
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PineZanOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    28
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
93
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2005

We found Church Hill Inn on the i-net and made our reservation via phone. When we got there, it was so "homey" feeling! The inn is beautiful itself, and the rooms we had were unique and very comfortable. The front lobby area is very inviting and we had a glass of wine and played a game of cards while looking through books and brochures about Door County. One of the employees told us about Fish Boils and recommended one in a nearby town. They were all so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a total treat! Go ahead and buy their cookbook while you're there because when you get home, you will wish you had. :) Lots of British memorabilia and the fun London Taxi (which we didn't use, but took pics of it anyway as it was parked right out front) made it feel like a farther away place than it is. Beautiful, relaxing, comfortable bed, clean, friendly staff, great food .... A+ :)

  • Stayed July 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JoniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2005

A friend and I visited Door County in July 2003 from Texas. We were in Door County to relive a book we read by LaVyrle Spencer titled "Bitter Sweet". The descriptions and details of the towns and scenery made it a must on our places to visit. Our expectations were far exceded and that included our visit to Churchill Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were given assisstance with directions, places to visit and dining experiences. The Inn was as charming as it's pictures online. I stayed in the English Meadow Room and my friend was next door in the Map Room. Both rooms were clean and beautiful. The lobby looked like an English pub equipted with an "honor" bar and cards to play. There was also an English Taxi available if you needed a ride anywhere in town. The beds were very comfortable and the Inn was quiet at night. My favorite memory of the In was the journal in each room which you could write about your visit to Door County. I stayed up reading all the entries and enjoyed adding mine before I went to bed. The breakfast the next morning was fantastic. There was homemade granola, juices, fruit, egg casseroles, scones, and other muffins and breads. It was all so good that we bought the cookbook to take home. I would definately stay at Churchill Inn the next time I am in Sister Bay, WI. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st paul, mn
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2005

We stayed at the Churchill Inn in Sister Bay, Door County Wisconsin, for the 12th annual Lighthouse Walk on May 20-22, 2005.

This is a lovely Inn. Our room was clean, comfortable and opened to a garden/courtyard. There is a free snack in the evening and a free breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was simple but well prepared: eggs and polish sausage, oatmeal, dry cereal, toast, fruit...

The atmosphere was quiet and relaxed. I don't think this would be a great hotel for kids, but it is perfect for a weekend away for Mom & Dad.

We enjoyed our stay very much and would return.

Helpful?
11 Thank stpauligirlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.5 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
#12 of 17 in Sister Bay
70 reviews
1.7 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Hill Inn

Property: Church Hill Inn
Address: 425 Gateway Drive, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9450
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sister Bay
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Church Hill Hotel Sister Bay
Church Hill Inn Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing