We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Gem!”
Review of Church Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Sister Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What A Gem!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Church Hill Inn. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very charming and immaculate. Very comfortable beds and lot's of pillows. Our room also had two wing back chairs so you did not have to sit on the bed or a hard backed chair to read or relax. This resort is the best place to go if you are looking for a quiet, child free environment.The honor bar was great. The pool very relaxing.
Breakfast was very well done. The sitting rooms at each end of the floors was filled with games, puzzles and books to use. If I had to give a negative comment it would be that the bathrooms were a little small. This resort is close to many restaurants and shopping. We sat on our balcony one evening and watched the sun go down. We will definitely return to this gem of a resort!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    28
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
93
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I recently stayed here with my wife and we would definitely call it more of a hotel than a bed and breakfast. Our room was clean and had everything we needed, but the decor could use some updating. We had several problems using the wi-fi while we were there, as did other guests. When we asked at the front desk about it, we were told to re-start our devices (which did not solve the problem) or to go to a part of the inn where it was working. The front desk staff was not very welcoming or friendly but the housekeeping staff was very nice and friendly. The breakfasts were good and the breakfast staff was friendly and prompt. We liked the location and proximity to places in Sister Bay. We thought the pool closed fairly early and one of the days we were there it never even opened. The honor bar had a good variety at reasonable prices. We would definitely recommend checking out the restaurant, Chop, located right behind the inn. Overall, it was a decent place to stay but could use some refining and updating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel in Sister Bay. The lobby area is very inviting. The breakfast is very good. We were in a double queen room. The furnishings were very attractive, the bed was comfortable and it was roomy enough. The bathroom was very small as was the television. There is no coffee service in the room-coffee available at 7:00 in the lobby. We were not able to connect to Wi-Fi on any three of our devices in the two days we were there. The desk clerk says it is intermittent. This hotel seems to be for adults. We did not see children here. What would make this hotel a bit classier is to upgrade the paper products. Bath tissue is the cheapest I have seen anywhere. This was our first visit to Door County so I am not sure how to compare this hotel to others in the area.

Room Tip: There is not an elevator so choose a lower floor if you have a hard time with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here for 2 nights. Very nice comfortable inn. We booked an oversize English room which put us on the 2nd floor. Our room was called Fox and Hounds. No elevators which wasn't a problem for us but may be for some people so request 1st floor if needed. Room was nicely appointed with a view of the pool. The best parts was the location and free breakfast in the morning. Right off the main road and you could walk to downtown sister bay if you wanted. The free breakfast in the morning was great! Homemade coffee cake & muffins, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, toast, cereal, and an entree which one day was a breakfast casserole and oatmeal and another day biscuits and gravy and hot ham. If you are looking for a good dinner place - The Chop is right around the corner in the shopping complex. Very nice dinner with great food!! Would recommend and stay here again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sunandbeachSt.Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the inn for a long weekend in the end of July. It was very nice. Pool was a little small but when your the only person using it, its not too bad! We had a whirlpool tub in the room which we used every night...bed was comfy. AC was a little loud and bathroom was small with a small shower stall that looked like it could use some updating but had great water pressure and scalding hot water (not a bad thing). Breakfast was good...but make sure u bring money to tip. Overall I would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickiDudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

No critical complaints really, just felt like an old persons home. Owners are really not friendly and it's decorated like your English grandparents home but otherwise it's quite nice. Enjoyed the pool and complimentary appetizers.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solegirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have stayed at this Inn several times over the years and the quality has remained constant. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the homemade breakfast is always delicious and the hosts are very gracious. Additionally, the other guests are friendly and fun. The best of Door County to our thinking!

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so be aware that you will have to negotiate stairs if you choose the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billandmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.5 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
162 reviews
1.7 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
214 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Hill Inn

Property: Church Hill Inn
Address: 425 Gateway Drive, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9450
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sister Bay
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Church Hill Hotel Sister Bay
Church Hill Inn Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing