We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven for a non-meat eater!”
Review of Grasse's Grill

Grasse's Grill
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Great burgers, sandwiches, salads, dinners, Wisconsin made ice cream, desserts, and great beer and wine selection. Our focus is on homemade, fresh foods utilizing Wisconsin products. Lots of vegetarian options! Jimmy and Jessica Grasse
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven for a non-meat eater!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Drove all the way up to Sister Bay to try out Grasse's Grill, since they have so many vegetarian options and all their stuff is local and homemade. This is the sandwich I had:
APPLE ORCHARD --- grilled whole wheatberry bread, apples, spinach, toasted walnuts, cinnamon & Renard's cherry cheddar.
OMG... wasn't sure with the cinnamon, but the flavors were WONDERFUL together!! Some sweet potato fries on the side, and an ice cream to go. They have wonderful burger choices that can all be made with a black bean burger if you choose. Nothing fancy atmosphere-wise, but REAL homemade food with local farmers products.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DiningDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    144
    39
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly, good home-style meal”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were very pleased with our dinner at Grasse's Grill. It has a warm, "homey" atmosphere with excellent food. Their beer cheese soup was a perfect starter for a cool, September evening. My husband ordered a house specialty, Iva's Meatloaf which was very tasty and I ordered 1/2 rack of the Rock Island Ribs which were moist and delicious. Jake and Sadie gave us superb service, attentive but never hovering or intrusive. It's definitely a "go to" place in Sister Bay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Homemade Food in Sister Bay”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I called about 20 minutes ahead of time during the Fall Fest weekend. Was able to get a table for 4. Food is advertised as home made. We opted for items on the sandwich menu. They were very, very good. I had the Death's Door burger (jalapeno, BBQ sauce, cheese, lettuce, onion.) Excellent! The grilled corned beef had red potatoes and onions on the marble rye bread. Another great item! We had never been to this restaurant before, but well worth the trip. Sertvice was good, good selection of beers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Perch”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Fall Festival time in Sister Bay, looking for a late evening meal. Other places were either very crowded, closing or had a long wait time. Thought we would try Grasse's Grill and what a treat it was. After a very short wait 6 of us were given a table by the fireplace, and Jake provided excellent service. He was especially helpful with dining selections. He guaranteed the perch dinner and/or sandwich was the best in town. How could we turn it down. 5 out of 6 opted for the perch, and Jake was right. It was breaded just right, had excellent taste and texture. It served on a toasted bun that just made it taste that much better. The beer/wine selection offered something for everyone in the party. The sixth in the party opted for Nana's mac and cheese and that too was excellent.. Would recommend Grasse's for a dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Str-IL508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Huge whitefish”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This appeared to be the cozy downtown local hangout. We sat at the bar/counter and had some interesting local beers on tap and dinner. The whitefish ($15) was huge - about a foot long - very tasty and well filleted (nothing I hate more than badly filleted fish). My wife's "Beach Road Brisket" ($13) was basically roast beef, a decent portion, nothing special. I suppose if you order the right thing, you'll do well here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank btindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grasse's Grill also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Grasse's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing