We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was Pretty Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Good View from our Deck, Clean Room, Delicious Cherries and Yogurt served with Breakfast.
It is in a great Location-- Just a few minutes Away from the best Swedish Pancakes in the Whole state (Al Johnsons)
The Staff were friendly and Helpful.
My Parents loved it too. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walk7818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Country House Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

When visitng Door County, consider staying at Country House Resort in Sister Bay. It is a great rustic property located a little off of Hwy 42 on the water. Very quiet, and has all of the amenities you could ask for. Included is a European breakfast which includes Door County cherries and yogurt, and all kinds of other goodies. The staff are wonderfully friendly, the grounds and rooms are well maintainted. Sister Bay is centrally located to all of the other towns, as well. We've been to Door County several times, and have stayed at other places which were fine. But Country House Resort is now 'home' as we've stayed there two years in a row and will be back again next year.

1  Thank Curt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a room over the parking lot, it was clean but small. The mattress was the old style flat and hard. With the pillows being "hotel" flat. The continental breakfast was average.We did take advantage of their Segway package which also included a $40.00 dinner certificate, and a $25.00 Certificate from the Door County Tourism dept. was able to use it but took us many tries to finally find someone to accept it. So just average for us.

Room Tip: If you stay during the warmer months maybe try the water front side.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THEPRINCESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our resort. I apologize that we did not meet and exceed your expectations. The room you described is our smallest and least expensive but the mattress is a pillow top. I am sorry that you did not find it comfortable. Mattress preferences are so personal that it is difficult to find a style that appeals to everyone but I will make sure that there are no signs of wear or damage. Each room should contain a choice of both feather and foam pillows and additional pillows of either type are available upon request. I have asked our manager to review both the inventory and quality of the pillows in each room.

I am very disappointed to learn that you encountered difficulty in redeeming the Door County Visitor Bureau gift certificate. It is our intent in providing these, to offer our guests the widest possible options for redemption. We will provide your feedback to the Bureau and work to ensure better education and acceptance among local merchants.

Thank you again for your input and we hope that overall you enjoyed your visit to Door County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just spent the weekend here with friends and had a wonderful time. We had a suite with 2 King bed rooms and a mini-kitchen and living room with fireplace. It was the perfect setup for two couples. When we weren't out sightseeing or eating we were able to relax in the living room with a few bottles of wine and a great view...we had a balcony overlooking the water. Although the weather was cool, we were able to enjoy the outdoor spa in the evening. Breakfast was perfect - plenty of choices from hard boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, and a different home made pastry or muffin each day. The grounds are very nice and peaceful. Location is a 2 minute ride to all of the downtown of Sister Bay - very convenient. It is centrally located for visiting all of the other northern Door County towns. We would definitely return to this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelswithbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had a great time this weekend! The staff was wonderful, the atmosphere so relaxing and quiet, and the scenery really was spectacular. This is the 3rd time we visited Door County (we did NOT stay here) and said if this resort didn't work we wouldn't go back. Well, I can't wait to go back again. We're already making our plans. We had a King Suite and it was really nice. Their breakfast was perfect for us and I loved having fresh coffee throughout the day. It really is "an adult retreat" that allowed people to bring their pets (we didn't bring ours this visit but will in the future) and everyone was very friendly. The nature trail, the gardens, the flowers ... everything was just perfect. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Suite was great - view was facing the bay. Really nice!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for providing a review of our property. We are so glad that you found the Country House and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on future visits to Door County!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The lake and garden views from your small, private balcony are lovely but the rooms are simple, average hotel rooms. One of the small, resin balcony chairs had cracks and was about to break under the weight of my average-weight husband. We paid extra for a jaccuzzi tub and extra shower heads but otherwise there was nothing special about the room for the price. Biggest complaint was the thin bottom sheet covered in scratchy pills....it made for a very uncomfortable sleep. The towels were of higher quality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freshmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our property. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations as is always our goal.

The room you describe with the whirlpool and multi-jet shower is one of our Specialty Rooms. They are single hotel room type accommodations of average size as you indicated. The resort offers a wide range of accommodations from small non water view rooms to large multi room suites.

I especially apologize for the broken deck chair. We are planning to replace the deck chairs with a new and upgraded design for 2013 but any current chairs in disrepair should immediately be replaced. Regarding the sheets we did replace all linens in the past year with high thread count sheets but it sounds as though an old sheet was missed. I have asked our housekeeping staff to ensure that there are no old sheets still in use.

Thank you for bring these matters to our attention but I am very sorry that we did not catch them before you did. We strive to maintain a high level of quality in all areas and will reexamine our procedures to ensure such things are not missed in the future. We would appreciate another opportunity to serve you on future visits to Door County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

A country inn and a resort, this has all the amenities that matter, but is still simple and unpretentious, very comfortable. A little disappointed in the breakfast--lots to choose from but all of it do-ahead and serve-yourself, such as French toast slices wrapped for microwaving. Even one hot fresh alternative like quiche would have been so welcome, but even so, it's all several notches above the typical continental offerings. Appreciated the dog friendly aspects. A significant discount at a good restaurant was a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are worth the modest additional cost.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rupa621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
174 reviews
3.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#8 of 17 in Sister Bay
76 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range: £68 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing