We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and great location!”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Country House Resort in Sister Bay to celebrate a birthday and dine at our favorite restaurants. We were able to stay just before the summer rates went into effect so our stay was a very good value.

The rooms, while they have the usual appointments, were more comfortable than most and had special little features, such as very nice soaps and shampoos, big fluffy new towels, pillow top bed with very comfortable pillows and a great view overlooking the bay. The room included a fridge, coffee pot with excellent coffee and since we were too early in the season for a hot breakfast, we had OJ, scones and yogurt in our fridge. Wi-fi worked fine. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Bay view, preferably.
See more room tips
Green Features: They actually had recycling containers in the rooms!
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all of the little extras we provide for our guests. The Quiet season is definitely a great value but right now all of the resort amenities like our full European continental breakfast buffet, outdoor whirlpool, bikes... are available at our spring rates. Again a great value before summer gets into full swing! We certainly hope to see you during some of the other seasons at the Country House. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    99
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
258
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dalton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed here with another couple in a neighboring room April 25 and 26. The rooms were so nice and clean. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable, which is hard to find sometimes. The staff was very well informed and easliy answered our questions about the area and where to go. The cleaning staff went out of their way too to be helpful. Will for sure come back to this resort next time we visit Door County. Very nice walking along the water too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank co2dci04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes great pride in providing outstanding service and making each of our guests feel welcome. Thank you for recognizing their efforts. It means a great deal to them. We hope your travels bring you back to Door County and the Country House again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed in the freezing cold to do the candlelight ski walk at the state park. This resort was well kept and extremely clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable unlike another Door Co. resort we stayed at. We will book here again. We did have a hard time initially getting to our room due to the first time staying here, the snow cover, and it was dark. I drove down to far and wound up on a private drive. All in all, highly recommended!

Room Tip: It was off season so we were one of the few there. I would always stay in a top floor room just bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return for another visit. We apologize that you had difficulty finding your room at first. The property is a bit sprawling, and can be rather confusing at night, but the additional space does keep us nice and quiet and secluded. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

My husband and I decided to try the Country House Resort in Sister Bay because they offered suites and are dog friendly. The grounds are beautiful and there is a ton of potential for this facility to be a great vacation option. Our disappointment started upon arrival. We had a late check in and so are keys were waiting since the office was closed. We expected that and had not issues with that policy. However, once we picked up our envelope there was a note stuck inside the pages stating the office would also be closed tomorrow for Thanksgiving and that there was extra breakfast items in our room along with extra towels. My husband and I started to get concerned because we arrived at 9 p.m. and all stores in the area were now closed so whatever food they left us is what we were going to be stuck with.

Upon arrival to our suite (suite 503) we found that room to be dated but clean. The breakfast items consisted of two scones, yoplait yogurt, two coffee packs, and orange juice. Keep in mind, the office would not be open until Friday morning so this was our breakfast options for 2 days. We quickly noticed there was no iron or ironing board which we needed. We couldn't call for those items because the note inside the "welcome packet" stated to only call in an emergency. What resort owner does that? Who tells their guests to only call them in an emergency? At this time, we are now irriated but are just happy to be there and relax.

We went from irritated to really upset when we heard kids running above us from until 1 a.m. and then they started again at 6 a.,m. This facility does not allow children under 13 typically and there was nothing stating that due to the "quiet season" or due to the Thanksgiving Holiday there would be children present and running around keeping us up. Again, not an emergency situation so don't call and "bother' the mgt. team or owners.

When the office did open Friday morning my husband did go in and voice his concerns because we were there until Sunday. The receptionist did not apologize but only stated that the owners had family over and so there were kids around. They also said that irons and ironing boards are no longer put in the rooms because they customers ironing on the floor. They didn't apologize for not making themselves readily available,they didn't offer any discount even though they charged the same rate for Thanksgiving as any other night, and we never heard from a Mgr. or Owner during our stay.

When I went in to check out on Sunday morning there was an older gentleman behind the counter and he asked how my stay was. I said very disappointing. He didn't ask me why or what he could do to correct the situation he just said, "Oh, I am sorry to hear that. Have a nice day."

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Niles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
I am VERY sorry that you found your stay with us disappointing and we clearly failed to meet or exceed your expectations on several issues. I am even more concerned that we failed to address your concerns when they were brought to our staff's attention. I have asked our manager, Amy, to contact you directly regarding your stay.

For several years we have closed the office on Thanksgiving to allow our staff time to enjoy the holiday with their families. We used to contact everyone staying with us to make sure that was OK. After several years of guests saying they didn't need service on Thanksgiving I think we took for granted that we didn't need to contact guests in advance. I apologize for that assumption and will ask our staff to make sure next year that guests approve the limited service or we will provide full housekeeping as usual.

We will also be reviewing the wording on the Welcome Letter for late arrivals to be sure that guests know they are welcome to contact our on-call staff with any concerns during their stay. I personally drafted the welcome letter in the in-room guest directory to ensure guests know we are available and welcome the opportunity to deal with any concerns as soon as possible. I will ensure this message is clear and consistent throughout our communications. We are a small, family-owned property and after-hours calls ring on our cell phones or in our homes. We do this so that we are available to our guests at any time, but attempt to word the contact information so that we do not receive calls in the middle of the night for minor issues that could wait until the office is open. I am truly sorry that you felt unwelcome to contact us with your concerns immediately during your stay and, as I indicated previously, my greatest disappointment is our failure to address your concerns when they were brought to the attention of our desk staff.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback and the time you took to post your comments. Please know that we will be making changes to address many of the concerns you raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
337 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

On our trip to Door County, my wife and I decided to stay further north for three days and decided to stay at the Country House Resort recommended by other Trip Advisor travelers. We were not disappointed. Our room was clean and we had plenty of room. The people were very helpful and very accomodating. The grounds were very pretty especially with the Fall Colors when we were there. The resort is near the bay so you can walk down the pathway to the bay from the resort. Our only complaint was the breakfast. We were hoping for something a little better than what was offerred. The yogurt with the cherries was a good touch. We both liked that.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwillini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My husband and I spent our 22nd wedding anniversary at this resort the first weekend in October and found it to be quiet, peaceful and the view from our King waterview room (room 305) was spectacular. The blend of the fall colors and view of the water were amazing! We took a dip in the outdoor hottub despite the 40 degree temps, and loved having the cozy robes from the room to jump into when we were done. We are hoping to return next year:)

Room Tip: Waterview rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slafae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Country House has a gorgeous setting on a bluff overlooking the water. The rooms are a little "rustic" but comfortable. The owners obviously keep the place well maintained. There is plenty of activity for a family group or for just a quiet weekend. Nice swimming pool, large out-door jacuzzi, plus bicycles and row boats available for use at no extra cost. Good selection of restaurants in Sister Bay.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a room with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcb1Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
3.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
229 reviews
11.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
324 reviews
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Property: Country House Resort
Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing