We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay, with the dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheboygan, WI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great stay, with the dogs”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough about this place. It is dog friendly so that is why we stayed the first time. But, it was such a find!
The free breakfast is very nice, we all enjoyed it. There is a lovely walking trail down to the lake. The view from the deck is gorgeous . And it is close to our favorite stores and places we like to eat. Don't hesitate to stay here, it is a keeper.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Walk7818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
First, thank you for continuing to choose our property on your visits to Door County. We appreciate the review and your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoy the breakfast, view and our location. The best part of being in the lodging business is helping people to make special memories and seeing repeat guests that become part of our extended Country House family. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    99
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
262
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoughton
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Country House is in a beautiful setting in Sister Bay. The views of the bay are gorgeous, and the location is superb. Within minutes we were able to go kayaking, kayaking, golfing and bicycling. It is close to town and some nice restaurants. THe pool was clean and beautiful and the hot tub at the end of an active day was welcoming. The staff was helpful and welcoming as well.

The one negative, which is a big negative is the fact that the bed was way too soft and overdue for being replaced; which caused both my wife and I to have sore backs after 3 nights. The room was also a little small.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our property. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed the resort, our amenities and so much of what Door County has to offer.

I am extremely sorry that you and your wife found the bed uncomfortable and sincerely apologize for your sore backs. We want all of our guests to be relaxed and well rested after a stay with us. While we evaluate and replace a number of mattresses each year during our off season, we will definitely follow up on your comments and sincerely thank you for your feedback.

We hope that when your plans bring you back to Door County you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marengo, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Overall I really enjoyed staying here. I think the pricing is great and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The property is pretty. Though we had to drive about 30 min getting to our destinations (outside of sister bay), like wineries and restaurants we wanted to try, I would stay here again. The bedding and pillows were exceptional ( I really mean it, best sheets and pillows I've ever had at a resort), and overall the resort was quite. I've never slept so well in a hotel on vacation ( and this was memorial day weekend which I'm sure was super busy for this resort). There were not however many channels on the TV to watch, and the ice machine wasn't working on the day that we were leaving. Those afternoon cookies were yummy, but in short supply, as I'm sure everyone caught on to how awesome they were. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available during the day was a huge hit and something we took advantage of. I would absolutely stay here again, it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake, it's so nice to wake up and see the beauty of nature.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent job! Recycling throughout the hotel and in your room. They also conserve water by only washing bedding on request, there's a note card you leave on the bed to let them know you want your sheets changed.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We greatly appreciate your feed back and are so pleased that you found your stay enjoyable and the bedding so comfortable, and that you were able to return from your visit well rested.

I apologize that we were out of ice when you checked out. After you mentioned it to the front desk, we immediately checked the machine and found it to be functioning properly. Unfortunately, as you mentioned, it was a very busy weekend and guests filling coolers had depleted our supply. I am also very sorry that our cable TV line up did not include the NBC Sports channel with the NHL game. Our current service includes 50 channels but we are actually in the process of researching new options and will definitely take your concern into consideration. I hope you were able to enjoy the game at one of the bar/restaurants we recommended that were carrying the game.

We certainly hope that your travels bring you back to Door County soon and look forward to seeing you again.

To assist others with perspective on our location: The Door County Peninsula is approx. 42 mi. long from the northern tip at Gills Rock south to Sturgeon Bay. The Country House is located 10 mi south of Gills Rock or about 15 north of Egg Harbor. We are rather centrally located for many of the most popular areas to visit in Door County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We made the trip up from Iowa to spend a long weekend in Door County. We booked the trip 6 months in advance and were anxiously awaiting the trip to begin. When we got to the Country House Resort, we were immediately swallowed up by its mixture of charm, class, quiet living, and plenty to do right at the resort (not to mention being minutes from downtown).

What to do? They offer bikes for free use, have trails that go down to the water and along the shoreline. There is a really nice whirlpool and a heated pool. Plenty of chairs set out to sit and enjoy the view of the bay. A shuffle board 'court' and beautiful gardens to look at.

The rooms? The rooms are beautiful. We walked in the front door (room 110) and the first thing we saw was our view out the sliding back door of the bay. The beds are huge, comfortable, and have really nice pillows. Nice LG flat panel TV's, a refrigerator, nice bathroom, and a nice table and closet to put stuff.

Main lobby & offerings - There is a 24 hour coffee 'bar' with really good coffee or hot water for tea. The breakfast was fantastic. If you can't find enough food to fill up (oh by the way, it's included), you're way too picky. There were free daily newspapers, books to read, and even puzzles and board games if you got stuck in for the day for any reason.

We likely won't visit Door County every year because we travel all over the country, but when we do go back, there is NO doubt we'll be back here.

Room Tip: Pay the couple extra dollars for a water view, it's worth it!
See more room tips
Green Features: I loved seeing the environmentally consciousness of the hotel. Had separate receptacles for paper, garbage and other recyclables. Even the soaps and things were 'green.' Love to see this as a bonus add on.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjhilgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words and for making the trip from Iowa to visit us! I know that your description of the resort and our amenities will be more helpful to future guests than anything I could add. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we lived up to the expectations we know build when you book months in advance. :) I understand that Door County might not be a frequent destination for you but we sincerely hope to see you again when your schedule allows. Thank you again and we wish you safe travels wherever you may visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent a long weekend in Door County and stayed in a queen lakeview room. The view was fantastic! The surrounding land was great. Nice quiet roads for running; tennis, shuffleboard and other fun lawn games; and a nature trail down to the water where we enjoyed our coffee each morning. The breakfast was more than you would typically expect at a hotel. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahH933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the view and our peaceful location. It sounds like you were also able to enjoy many of the complimentary amenities that are available right on the resort property. We hope that your travels will bring you back to Door County again this year and that you will return to visit us at the Country House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Country House Resort in Sister Bay to celebrate a birthday and dine at our favorite restaurants. We were able to stay just before the summer rates went into effect so our stay was a very good value.

The rooms, while they have the usual appointments, were more comfortable than most and had special little features, such as very nice soaps and shampoos, big fluffy new towels, pillow top bed with very comfortable pillows and a great view overlooking the bay. The room included a fridge, coffee pot with excellent coffee and since we were too early in the season for a hot breakfast, we had OJ, scones and yogurt in our fridge. Wi-fi worked fine. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Bay view, preferably.
See more room tips
Green Features: They actually had recycling containers in the rooms!
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all of the little extras we provide for our guests. The Quiet season is definitely a great value but right now all of the resort amenities like our full European continental breakfast buffet, outdoor whirlpool, bikes... are available at our spring rates. Again a great value before summer gets into full swing! We certainly hope to see you during some of the other seasons at the Country House. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalton
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed here with another couple in a neighboring room April 25 and 26. The rooms were so nice and clean. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable, which is hard to find sometimes. The staff was very well informed and easliy answered our questions about the area and where to go. The cleaning staff went out of their way too to be helpful. Will for sure come back to this resort next time we visit Door County. Very nice walking along the water too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank co2dci04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes great pride in providing outstanding service and making each of our guests feel welcome. Thank you for recognizing their efforts. It means a great deal to them. We hope your travels bring you back to Door County and the Country House again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
3.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
233 reviews
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Property: Country House Resort
Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing