We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cary, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The host is a great source of information and warm. Quiet place with great views. near town but secluded. Quiet place. Sister Bay has a nice park with beach and boat ramp for canoes.We have stayed here before, and besides the friendly and helpful staff the main reasons for us to go back are that is very quiet, and that the views from the rooms are great. We stayed in room 210 and a phenomenal view of the lake. The breakfast is very good

Room Tip: .We loved two bedroom suite
See more room tips
Green Features: very friendly. Recycling encouraged Local plants in garden
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 137SteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for returning to stay with us at the Country House and thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoy our location, atmosphere and view. We believe we have a unique and special spot and enjoy sharing it with others. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    102
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
266
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have stayed here before,
and besides the friendly and helpful staff the main reasons for us to go back are that is very quiet,
and that the views from the rooms are great.
We stayed in room 210 and a phenomenal view of the lake.

The breakfast is very good, waffles, cereal, bagels, bread, fruits, cheese, etc.
At no extra cost one can use a small rowing boat, a kayak or bicycles.
The garden and grounds are well maintained, a steep path leads you to a private dock directly on the lake.
Parking on site is also for free.
Free wireless internet in every room.

Did I mention how quiet it was ?
Every room was occupied and we did not hear any other guest while we were in our own room.

Will definitely come back to this great hotel !

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
First we want to thank you for being a repeat guest of the Country House and then also for taking the time to post a review. We work very hard to maintain a quiet, relaxed atmosphere and always appreciate hearing our guests enjoy it. Thank you for sharing the things you value most, as guest feedback is the most important factor as we continuously evaluate our services and amenities. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for our One Year Wedding Anniversary and absolutely loved the resort! We thought the breakfast was FANTASTIC!!! The cherry tarts, mini cinnamon rolls, cherries with yogurt and granola were our favs :) The staff was friendly, the resort was quiet and the big whirlpool was definitely a plus. We also liked being able to take the nature trail to town-everything was nice and close-yet far enough away that the resort was peaceful. We also had fun playing tennis at the resort and enjoyed the great view of Lake Michigan. Keep up the great work-we appreciate it!

Room Tip: We had room 203- a queen pool view and thought it was perfect. The only thing I would want more woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieSchueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and chose to celebrate your 1st Anniversary with us! It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the complimentary amenities we have to offer as well as the breakfast. We hope you will consider making the Country House an annual tradition for your Anniversary! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Peninsula
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

OK, get some basics down if you consider staying here. First, they have a lengthy time to ask for a refund so you can find yourself in a bad stretch of weather with no recourse but to go and try to grin and bear it or just figure the bucks are gone and find someplace else to go.

Second, the room quality is about the standard of a Super 8 or similar franchise. We would have accepted that except that the bed, albeit with a comfortable mattress, was only a full size. As a couple we are not large people so we coped even though we are used to finding at least a queen in today's motels. There was enough space in Room 214 to accommodate one of that size.

Third, if you have problems with steps or carrying everything up a flight there are no ramps or elevators to the second level. Sometimes there might be an employee available to help carry something heavy but do not count on it.

Still, despite the price (understandable considering the limited tourist season in Door County), we enjoyed our stay overall. The grounds with water fountains were meticulously kept and very attractive. The pool and pool area were clean and inviting. We took advantage of the free bike (hubs needed oil) and the nature trail along the shoreline. Others used the kayaks and row boats that are available as part of the room fee.

The continental cold breakfast was very good but if you are looking for a lot of fruit choices you are limited to bananas and a bowl of cherries in their liquid. The coffee dispensed from a machine was much better than many places we've been that use the same method.

The view from the second floor balcony outside of our room was great as most rooms are situated for good views of the Bay of Green Bay. We were struck by the fact that despite having a full house, all guests were considerate of each other and there was no undue noise at any time. It probably helped that we never saw one urchin or a rug rat there during our stay, and the majority of guests ranged in age from middle aged to baby boomers. We took a gamble without knowing what the weather would be so far in advance and lucked out in all respects.

We understand the need for revenue in the limited seasonal time that such a place can operate for maximum profit but are unsure if we might gamble again because of that refund window. It would be more fair to the customer if there was a one week limit for a full refund and 50% refund for days 6 to 3 prior to the reserved date with no refund less than three days notice. If there is good weather predicted this place would not have a problem getting someone else within one week prior to the date because of its uniqueness, the exemplary management, and for what it offers.

Room Tip: Aim for the first floor if you need ramps or elevators which they do not have.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins were in each room and reminders to those who have extended stays to try to "be green" with the use of towels.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rally4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for talking the time to post a detailed review of our property. The information about our cancellation policy is correct. We do require an actual deposit and it is refundable up to 14 days minus a service fee. This is common practice in a seasonal destination area like Door County where guests generally make advance reservations and cancellations can be difficult to rebook. We of course work with guests if they have an emergency but there is so much to see and do in Door County in any weather. Shops, restaurants, galleries, theater...

Regarding your room, we have several room types ranging from small, non-water view rooms to large multi-room suites with whirlpools, fireplaces and private water view balconies. This allows us to offer rooms that meet a wide range of tastes and budgets. The room you stayed in (214) is the smallest and least expensive of our water view rooms. I am sorry that you were disappointed in the accommodations and hope you will try a larger room on your next visit. I also understand your confusion about the bed size. My husband and I have a king size bed at home and when we travel and must stay in a queen bed it seems so much smaller! Having purchased the mattresses,ordered the sheets and made that bed many times :) I can assure you it is a queen size. The only size beds we have on property are queens or kings.

We are please that you found our quiet atmosphere, view and amenities enjoyable. You are indeed correct that the rooms are a small part of what our property has to offer and that the location and overall amenities are what make the Country House unique and special. We hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Located in a quiet spot just outside the main Village of Sister Bay - quiet, restful and beautiful. We enjoyed walking the nature trailing, having our breakfast outside with Sister Bay as the backdrop. Well run - plan to visit again in the near future.

Green Features: Recycle, give guest choices re sheet and towel changes.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and especially our location. We feel we have the best of both worlds. Our location off the highway and on 27 acres keeps the atmosphere peaceful and relaxed, but we are also within walking distance of Sister Bay. We hope you are able to visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwood, mo
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The title describes the proerty as well as the guests. As i was lugging a suitcase up the stairs, one of the young female employees about to clean a room offered to help me with the suitcase. The front desk delivered an iron and ironing board to our room within minutes of requesting it. They were super accommodating and friendly. The grounds are ample and welcoming with several choices of where to sit and relax.The room was too dark for my light-loving husband but I found no fault with the room. It took me a while to discover that there was a refrigerator in the cabinet under the tv. I really appreciated the reservation process. I needed to cancel part of our reservation 16 days before, and there was no glitch.

Green Features: They are very committed to recycling and make it easy for guest with in-room labeled containers.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and pleased to hear that our staff took good care of you. Like most small, independent properties we rely on a small group of great staff to wear many hats. It means a great deal to them when their efforts are recognized. Thank you for doing so and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here with friends for 3 nights in early August, our friends have stayed several times before but it was a first for us. We loved it, so peaceful, so relaxing and the walk through the woods to the town of Sister Bay was so pleasant. We loved the gardens and our room overlooked the Lake and gardens, we used the balcony to have an early evening drink on and just lapped up the peace and quiet. I am never keen on help yourself breakfast, the thought of other people handling my bagel is too much but this time food was well covered and all seemed very fresh and clean, just loved the Door County Cherries and Yoghurt......... not too much variety over the three days but a good choice for a continental breakfast. Would recommend this hotel for a peaceful getaway, and for just chillin" Very good restaurants within walking distance if you are up to a 15min walk each way.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room with a balcony overlooking the lake and gardens,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We are so pleased that your friends introduced you to the Country House. Over 60% of our guests are repeats or referrals from repeat guests. It is such an important part of our business and the best advertising possible! We hope like your friends you will return to stay with us often. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
170 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
3.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
70 reviews
11.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
336 reviews
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Property: Country House Resort
Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing