We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Fails to Please Us” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never Fails to Please Us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We've been coming for 7 years & it only gets better! Every year things are added & improved. Off the highway, it's quiet & scenic with clear view of Sister Bay (the water), beautiful grounds with lots of trees & flowers, & a wooded path to the shore (& into town, a nice hike). Rooms are large & comfortable, staff helpful, breakfast buffet outstanding. Now accepting pet dogs in specific room, we saw several but heard none. If you wish, there's a pool & a spa outdoors, tennis court, shuffleboard & horseshoes. Great area for biking. Can't wait till next year! Di

Room Tip: All rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
First I want to thank you for your many years as a Country House guest and then also for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so honored that you choose to return year after year to stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    96
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
253
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
hancock
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

our suite was absolutely immaculate. View was perfect. Sister Bay Marina was straight off our deck. Beds were super comfortable and so loved the down pillows. Great flat screen TV. We felt very comfortable here and have no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your water view suite. With the whirlpool, gas fireplace and private balcony it is a lovely accommodation for a peaceful getaway. We are glad you found it to be comfortable and relaxing. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Seems to attract guests who are older--mid-60s and up--looking for quiet and old-fashioned summer "resort" amenities such as shuffleboard, horseshoes and shady spots to sit. Has something of the feel of a summer camp for seniors. Our room had a slightly musty smell--otherwise clean and tidy, with pretty good flat-screen TVs (slow response to changing channels with remote). In-room fridge had ice maker that didn't work. Biggest disappointment was breakfast, a help-yourself mélange of hard boiled eggs, salami, toasts and pastries, cheese cubes, machine-dispensed orange and cranberry juice, processed cereals, packaged instant oatmeal and plastic cups pre-filled with waffle batter, a bowl of yogurt, bananas and one other fruit, most recently cherries. Very heavy on fats, cholesterol and carbohydrates, very light on healthy choices, and very tasteless, no better than the cheapest Best Western/La Quinta sort of breakfast--which seems out of character with what the resort is trying to be and certainly out of character with its price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rupa621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property, We hope that you enjoyed your stay overall and apologize that you found the breakfast disappointing. We do not have a full restaurant license and are therefore limited in what we are able to offer and how things must be dispensed and presented at a self serve buffet. We are continually looking for allowable options to expand our offerings and variety. We recently added the waffle maker which has been a big hit. Regarding the demographics of our guests, there may have been a slightly older group of guests during your stay as school had or was starting in many areas. Generally we have a wide variety of ages from honeymooners, couples enjoying a getaway without the children to empty nesters and retirees. We hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
243 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

What convinced me to make the reservation was the note "no one under age 13". That fit into our liking of adults only resorts. The staff was great, resort was clean and quiet, comfortable beds and linens the casual breakfast was all we needed to start the day. (that and good coffee). Great view from our room of Sister Bay Marina and Green Bay. Have recommended this resort to our travel agent and friends for a peaceful getaway weekend. I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a 2nd floor room in case the people above have heavy feet and don't sit still.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your review and especially for recommending us to your travel agent and friends. Our location, and policy to accommodate adults and children over 13 years of age, does contribute to our peaceful atmosphere. We hope your getaway allowed you to rest, relax and recharge. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The host is a great source of information and warm. Quiet place with great views. near town but secluded. Quiet place. Sister Bay has a nice park with beach and boat ramp for canoes.We have stayed here before, and besides the friendly and helpful staff the main reasons for us to go back are that is very quiet, and that the views from the rooms are great. We stayed in room 210 and a phenomenal view of the lake. The breakfast is very good

Room Tip: .We loved two bedroom suite
See more room tips
Green Features: very friendly. Recycling encouraged Local plants in garden
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 137SteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for returning to stay with us at the Country House and thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoy our location, atmosphere and view. We believe we have a unique and special spot and enjoy sharing it with others. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
166 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have stayed here before,
and besides the friendly and helpful staff the main reasons for us to go back are that is very quiet,
and that the views from the rooms are great.
We stayed in room 210 and a phenomenal view of the lake.

The breakfast is very good, waffles, cereal, bagels, bread, fruits, cheese, etc.
At no extra cost one can use a small rowing boat, a kayak or bicycles.
The garden and grounds are well maintained, a steep path leads you to a private dock directly on the lake.
Parking on site is also for free.
Free wireless internet in every room.

Did I mention how quiet it was ?
Every room was occupied and we did not hear any other guest while we were in our own room.

Will definitely come back to this great hotel !

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
First we want to thank you for being a repeat guest of the Country House and then also for taking the time to post a review. We work very hard to maintain a quiet, relaxed atmosphere and always appreciate hearing our guests enjoy it. Thank you for sharing the things you value most, as guest feedback is the most important factor as we continuously evaluate our services and amenities. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for our One Year Wedding Anniversary and absolutely loved the resort! We thought the breakfast was FANTASTIC!!! The cherry tarts, mini cinnamon rolls, cherries with yogurt and granola were our favs :) The staff was friendly, the resort was quiet and the big whirlpool was definitely a plus. We also liked being able to take the nature trail to town-everything was nice and close-yet far enough away that the resort was peaceful. We also had fun playing tennis at the resort and enjoyed the great view of Lake Michigan. Keep up the great work-we appreciate it!

Room Tip: We had room 203- a queen pool view and thought it was perfect. The only thing I would want more woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieSchueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and chose to celebrate your 1st Anniversary with us! It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the complimentary amenities we have to offer as well as the breakfast. We hope you will consider making the Country House an annual tradition for your Anniversary! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
2.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
11.8 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
24.8 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Property: Country House Resort
Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award winner - Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at an elegant, adult, wooded waterfront retreat. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private balcony overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Many with 2-person whirlpool, 2-person body spray shower and fireplace. Complimentary bikes, rowboats, tennis and an in-season European style buffet breakfast. Amenities include heated outdoor pool, whirlpool, sun deck, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Dogs accommodated is designated "dog friendly" rooms & suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing