We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Country House last weekend and really enjoyed the grounds and the absolute quiet!
The grounds are so beautifully landscaped. The front desk people were very friendly and willing to answer any questions you may have.
We enjoyed the hot tub (huge and very well maintained) several times and spent time hiking their lovely trails. Rarely saw another person. It was like you had the whole resort to yourself.
I believe they may cater to an older, quieter crowd and we enjoyed that.
The continental breakfast was very nice and tasty and the 24 hour coffee pot was wonderful on the cold evenings we were there.
If there was a down side I would say it was that the rooms were rather plain, but the deck and view were special.
May have been a bit pricey, $200.00/night with tax, for the décor of the room, but everything else made this a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, including our location, view and quiet atmosphere. We appreciate your feedback regarding the room decor. Each year our staff and family review all of the guest feedback we receive to determine our projects and investments for the off season. The reality of a small business is that we must prioritize and invest available funds wisely. We believe that our guests provide the best input on the upgrades we should pursue. Thank you for your assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

The staff at the Country House Resort are very helpful and informative. We are already booked for next year. Going in June the rates are cheaper. The weather was a little cooler but the pool is heated. They also gave a gift certificate to one of the local restaurant. The view is beautiful and there are trails to walk. Looking out the patio you can see the bay. Everything was clean.

Room Tip: Second floor great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thrilled that you are booked again for next year. The rates you enjoyed in early June are also available for a few weeks in late October and the Quiet Season rates (Approx. Nov-Apr) are a great value! We hope you will try another season at the Country House. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We've been coming for 7 years & it only gets better! Every year things are added & improved. Off the highway, it's quiet & scenic with clear view of Sister Bay (the water), beautiful grounds with lots of trees & flowers, & a wooded path to the shore (& into town, a nice hike). Rooms are large & comfortable, staff helpful, breakfast buffet outstanding. Now accepting pet dogs in specific room, we saw several but heard none. If you wish, there's a pool & a spa outdoors, tennis court, shuffleboard & horseshoes. Great area for biking. Can't wait till next year! Di

Room Tip: All rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

First I want to thank you for your many years as a Country House guest and then also for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so honored that you choose to return year after year to stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

our suite was absolutely immaculate. View was perfect. Sister Bay Marina was straight off our deck. Beds were super comfortable and so loved the down pillows. Great flat screen TV. We felt very comfortable here and have no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your water view suite. With the whirlpool, gas fireplace and private balcony it is a lovely accommodation for a peaceful getaway. We are glad you found it to be comfortable and relaxing. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Seems to attract guests who are older--mid-60s and up--looking for quiet and old-fashioned summer "resort" amenities such as shuffleboard, horseshoes and shady spots to sit. Has something of the feel of a summer camp for seniors. Our room had a slightly musty smell--otherwise clean and tidy, with pretty good flat-screen TVs (slow response to changing channels with remote). In-room fridge had ice maker that didn't work. Biggest disappointment was breakfast, a help-yourself mélange of hard boiled eggs, salami, toasts and pastries, cheese cubes, machine-dispensed orange and cranberry juice, processed cereals, packaged instant oatmeal and plastic cups pre-filled with waffle batter, a bowl of yogurt, bananas and one other fruit, most recently cherries. Very heavy on fats, cholesterol and carbohydrates, very light on healthy choices, and very tasteless, no better than the cheapest Best Western/La Quinta sort of breakfast--which seems out of character with what the resort is trying to be and certainly out of character with its price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rupa621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property, We hope that you enjoyed your stay overall and apologize that you found the breakfast disappointing. We do not have a full restaurant license and are therefore limited in what we are able to offer and how things must be dispensed and presented at a self serve buffet. We are continually looking for allowable options to expand our offerings and variety. We recently added the waffle maker which has been a big hit. Regarding the demographics of our guests, there may have been a slightly older group of guests during your stay as school had or was starting in many areas. Generally we have a wide variety of ages from honeymooners, couples enjoying a getaway without the children to empty nesters and retirees. We hope you will try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

What convinced me to make the reservation was the note "no one under age 13". That fit into our liking of adults only resorts. The staff was great, resort was clean and quiet, comfortable beds and linens the casual breakfast was all we needed to start the day. (that and good coffee). Great view from our room of Sister Bay Marina and Green Bay. Have recommended this resort to our travel agent and friends for a peaceful getaway weekend. I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a 2nd floor room in case the people above have heavy feet and don't sit still.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your review and especially for recommending us to your travel agent and friends. Our location, and policy to accommodate adults and children over 13 years of age, does contribute to our peaceful atmosphere. We hope your getaway allowed you to rest, relax and recharge. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The host is a great source of information and warm. Quiet place with great views. near town but secluded. Quiet place. Sister Bay has a nice park with beach and boat ramp for canoes.We have stayed here before, and besides the friendly and helpful staff the main reasons for us to go back are that is very quiet, and that the views from the rooms are great. We stayed in room 210 and a phenomenal view of the lake. The breakfast is very good

Room Tip: .We loved two bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 137SteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for returning to stay with us at the Country House and thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoy our location, atmosphere and view. We believe we have a unique and special spot and enjoy sharing it with others. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
3.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
820 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
182 reviews
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
0.9 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range: £70 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing