We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Country House. We were so impressed with the beautiful location and the friendly manner of this resort we would surely recommend this place to our friends.

If we had a concern it would be and it is a matter of preference the bed was to soft for us. Everything else about the place was terrific.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the bay 1st floor the view was great. Other reviewer say the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize that you found the bed a bit too soft and hope you were still able to get a good nights rest. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation of our resort to friends as this is our most valuable marketing tool. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was treated to a stay at the Country House Resort for a special occasion. The location was kept a secret until our arrival.

We were greeted by Scott and Darcy and their warm smiles and friendly personalities set the tone for the remainder of the stay.

The grounds were impeccable with beautifully flowered landscaping and breathless views of the shores of Sisters Bay.

We stayed in the coach house and the accommodations were exquisite

To add to the charm of the place breakfast room and food was really among the best I have had in my travels.

It seems that this beautiful place attracted a very nice clientele. We met many a charming couple around the breakfast treats It had kind of a bread and breakfast atmosphere. Just a lot of smiles. Plenty of Chicago Bear fans to trade friendly jibes! :9)

I would recommend this place, beautifully overlooking the shores of the Great Lake to anyone who would listen to me carrying on.....

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so pleased that we could play a part in your special occasion and surprise. A special thanks for your kind words about Scott and Darcie it means a great deal to our staff to be recognized. The Carriage House is a unique one of a kind accommodation that is enjoyed and requested by many repeat guests. We hope you will become one of those repeat guests and return to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here for three nights prior to the Memorial Day weekend. This was our third time staying here, and there will be fourth in our future. Definitely our favorite place to stay in the county. They have a very friendly staff who greet you warmly when you check in (don't forget to grab a free cookie!). Room was immaculate, and stayed that way through our visit. We stayed in a 2nd Floor Water View Suite. The view into Sister Bay is fantastic. The room has everything you need, whirlpool tub, fridge, two bathrooms, fireplace and nice HDTV. They also have free wireless, and the room we were in had a Blu-Ray player with Netflix, which was a nice added feature. Can't say enough good things about the place, and can't wait to return the next time we vacation up in Door County.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor Water View Suite is great for a couple, lots and lots of room. Only downside is that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NathanT946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We know there are many lodging choices in Door County and are truly honored to be your favorite place to stay. I am so pleased that you enjoy our second floor suites. They are my personal favorite for the view and extra space. We look forward to seeing you again soon and promise to have our friendly staff waiting for you with a warm cookie. :) Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We last stayed at this property 2-3 years ago, and enjoyed it just as much, if not more this time.
Our room was a King room on the second floor with a water view - a must if you are staying here! The spacious room included a comfy recliner along with a table and two chairs. The carpet was brand new and everything in the room was fresh and clean.

Breakfast is fine - hard-boiled eggs/yogurt/fruit/cereal/various bagels& toast to heat up. The only thing I would change is to have warm eggs & bacon or sausage as an option.

The property is sited high above the bay and the view from the private balcony was amazing. The grounds are beautiful and there is a steep path that leads down to the waterfront where you can relax, or take the nature path that leads into town.

There is an outdoor pool, (not open yet), and a hot tub. Children under 13 are not allowed....dogs are, and you might hear the occasional bark.

Overall, the property feels like a world away from the busyness of the highway, even though you're just a block or so away from all the action. We love it here, and will return again.

Room Tip: Second floor, waterview is a must. (Be aware that there is no elevator if you have problems with st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property and we are so happy to have you return to stay with us again.We appreciate you comments regarding our many updates this past off season. We spent significant time and money on the in-room upgrades and it is always gratifying to have guests notice and approve of our efforts. I hope that you were not disturbed by any barks on property. We do not allow dogs to be left alone in rooms to limit the possibility of other guests being disturbed. I appreciate your request for more hot cooked breakfast items, unfortunately our food service license from the state is limited, not full service, and does not allow us to handle raw products like eggs or meat. We try to provide a very extensive European Continental breakfast with the variety of cereals, pastries, breads, cheese, yogurt, cherries..We will continue to look for new and varied products to add. Thank you again for all of you kind words and suggestions. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We recently stayed two nights at The Country House Resort and loved it. Very nice place---rooms are big and very clean. We had a balcony looking at the lake and the beautiful flowers and fountains. Staff was very friendly and breakfast was great. A nice quiet retreat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We feel that our water views and location are what truly set us apart and our goal is definitely to provide a quiet, relaxing atmosphere. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just got back from a mid May weekend stay, and we keep coming back to the Country House Resort year after year. They have beautiful views, and a wonderful lakefront path through the woods. The location is great - walking distance to the village of Sister Bay. The breakfast is nice, the rooms are always clean, and the staff is always friendly.

Room Tip: a lake view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally20032013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you so very much for being one of our loyal repeat guests. We sincerely appreciate your review and are pleased that you had another enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

The wife and I stayed February 14th 15th rooms nice very clean but a little outdated with the decor. Had homemade scones both mornings very good. Our room had a wall unit for heat/cool and elec heat in bath/hall.wall unit didn't work front desk said someone would look at it she later called and said they were waiting for a part. Why put me in the room it you new unit wasn't working. Elec heat did keep up somewhat .i am not one for demanding an upgrade or anything but a I'm sorry here's 10 bucks off your room or something would have been nice.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and express your concerns regarding your recent stay with us.We are pleased that you seemed to enjoy your stay overall but I sincerely apologize for the mechanical issue you experienced and I am very sorry that we did not communicate more clearly about the situation. We were not aware that there was a problem with your room until you reported the concern and our maintenance person investigated. At that time he determined the thermostat was not working and a new one was promptly ordered.

The rooms were originally heated with the electric base board heat but when the thru the wall AC units were replaced we chose units with a combination of heat and AC that were more efficient and cost effective in heating the rooms. The baseboards were not removed as they serve as an excellent back up, as they did in your case. The rooms can easily be heated to over 70 degrees by the electric heat and therefore we did not anticipate that your stay with us would be negatively affected. I apologize if this was incorrect. We were completely booked so an upgrade would not have been possible but our manager will be contacting you about a rate adjustment.

Regarding the room decor we are in the process of making significant investments in upgrading the rooms. Your room has been freshly painted and also has the new window treatments but other upgrades such as new light fixtures and mirrors or still a work in process. I hope you will choose to visit us again and check out the finished upgrades.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
852 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
249 reviews
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Scandinavian Lodge
Scandinavian Lodge
#9 of 17 in Sister Bay
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range: £65 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing