We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country House: beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 July 2007

We have just returned from our seventh visit to the Country House Resort in Door County and we are making plans to return next year. Why? It is beautiful and relaxing and has lovely water views from the balconies. The staff is well informed and accommodating, a plus for me, as I have mobility issues and need to have wheel chair accessibility in the rooms and on the grounds. I asked for a hand-held shower to be installed and was assured that would be no problem. A bath chair was also provided. It is a perfect place for a long weekend getaway and one is assured of a restful night's sleep on beds with luxury linens and pillow-top mattresses. The lovely sound of the fountains and songbirds makes perfect background music. The continental breakfast is more than adequate and especially enjoyable when taken outside to umbrella shaded tables near the pool and spa.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ckwwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2007

My experience started with the confusing hotel reservations. Add in the fact that they upped the rates, and they broke up my reservation into 2 reservations to make it look less expensive.

I was given a quote for a package of 4 days for one reasonable price with the "best view" in that class. I reserved early and things were looking good.

Then they sent the confirmation e-mails later that showed 2 separate reservations. One for a 3 day package for the price that I was quoted for the 4 day reservation, and then a second reservation that appeared to be entered later for one additional day. These came as completely separate e-mails. The additional day tacked on an extra days fees, at almost 300 dollars was a quite a bit over priced.

By the time that I got the confirmations and realized what they had done, reservations at other resorts were harder to come by, so we ended up staying there anyway. Owner was rude and made no concessions for the misrepresentation.

We were pleasantly surprised with the staff, but the hotel was way overpriced. While there weren't real impressive special touches, the staff was friendly and helpful on many occasions.

However, as far as the resort itself, If you aren't dead set on having no kids at the resort there are lots of places in better shape closer to the beach/shore (shore was rocky), and less expensive.

No food service other than continental breakfast but the continental breakfast was a notch above the norm, with fresh fruit and organic breads and cheese.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mikeiastate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2007

We've been staying here for years, and we've yet to have anything but a wonderful experience. The grounds are immaculately gardened. The pool areas are comfortable and serene. And the views are spectacular. Wonderful service. And always clean. I recomend it to all.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

We have been going to the Country House for years with a group of friends, but a few years ago we thought we'd change our ways and stay
elsewhere. It lasted 3 years, and four years ago we returned and we'll not venture away again. It's really a nicely appointed Resort with a great water view and a very attentive staff. Not accepting young children is also a positive, and we always get the relaxation we look for when we come. We already booked our stay for next year, and are already looking forward to our visit. Come see it and enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bumpy1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2007

Several couples have been coming to the Country House for many years and have always enjoyed our stay. The internet access in each room was a nice added touch this year for those of us who like to "stay in touch". As the prices continue to go up it would be nice to see some improvements made - two examples would be upgrading the TV's in each room and improving the maintenance of the grounds. Several years ago it was very well kept, but has gone down hill over the last few years.

It is a great place for couples and a great central point from which to enjoy all of Door County.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank deerbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

The Country House is the best kept secret in Door County. The grounds are lovely with beautiful gardens and fountains. Having both a pool as well as a hot tub, you can relax in either warm or cool water. The staff is always willing to assist whether it's to help you find a restaurant or accommodate any type of request. We have stayed there for several years and always look forward to our return. In fact when we leave we always make our reservations for the following year. A big part of our enjoying Door County is staying at the Country House.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mikelynns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2007

This is an adult friendly resort and in such a beautiful, quiet setting on the edge of Sister Bay. We were there the first week in June, before the busy season, and had a terrific time. The room was clean, the staff friendly/helpful, and the lush landscaping is gorgeous. We enjoyed the cookies every afternoon and the continental breakfast each morning. The small coffee carafe in our room was handy for taking coffee from the 24 hour supply in the lobby. It was cool so we didn't get a chance to try the outdoor pool or hot tub but the the pool area was lovely.

If climbing outside stairs is a problem be sure to request a first floor room. We stayed on the second floor in the adjacent building and enjoyed the extra excercise the outside stairs required. It made up for all of the restaurants we sampled while in Door County.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Camera_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
830 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range: £69 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing