We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay but eat somewhere else”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Sister Resort
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to stay but eat somewhere else”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed in a cottage for 2 nights recently, which was adequate, but not a great deal moneywise.
Dinner at Fred & Fuzzies was less than good.
Horrible fish and chips (how do you mess that up), horrible whitefish sandwich, horrible chips and salsa, and all while sitting in plastic chairs at an unbalanced table in a gravel lot inside a clear plastic patio.
Continental breakfast only offered on 1 day.
They have bicycles available but we were told they were not to be taken beyond the immediate resort area.
Too bad. With their location they should put in a little more effort.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taylor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    18
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I discovered this place from having drinks at Fred and Fuzzies (its outdoor bar and restaurant) a few years' back and just had to go back to stay. It is a wonderful location--a small, quiet, picturesque bay with good sunset views. Just off the beaten path, it feels like you are further "away" than you really are--Sister Bay is a few minutes away and Ephraim is just down the road too. Kayaks, bikes and paddle boats were available for easy and free rental. The docks are lined with comfortable reclining chairs. We had one of the water view cabins which came complete with mini-fridge, microwave and cable TV with DVD options. (Cabins were refreshed daily by a cleaning crew as well.) After driving all over the peninsula, I didn't see a place that could beat this one! Check out their specials online--we got a 'stay two nights, get a third for free' deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank badgerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed in the 4-bedroom/2-bath home on Golf Road overlooking the golf course. It fit the needs of our family perfectly (three kids- ages 8,7, and 4). Oven, microwave, refrigerator/freezer, full kitchen with dishwasher and a large family room with fireplace- great to read stories near the crackling fire at night. We NEVER watched the TV and the kids didn't ask. Nothing fancy, everything straight out of the 1950's- decor and even the smell of the rooms reminded me of my grandparents' house.

Little Sister has old-school, rustic, woodsy charm. At first, we weren't sure if we made the right decision because there was no pool and we were worried that there wasn't going to be enough to do. However, after a few minutes on the beach, we realized it was better to not have a pool. The kids were captivated with jumping off of the pier, swimming in the lake and trying to swim "far out" with life jackets on, and making sandcastles on the kids beach. The resort allows you to take out boats and bikes for free.

Finally, can't stress enough the convenience of the FANTASTIC free morning breakfasts. Our kids were able to gorge and we were able to last until dinner with a light lunch/snacks on our own.

In a nutshell, Little Sister Resort was exactly what we were looking for. It is not cheap, but they do not nickel and dime you. I like being on vacation and not having to carry my wallet all around the resort. Love the experience, loved the surroundings, and enjoyed the guests. Family oriented, good folk all around.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong. Cabins and Chalets are adorable. Golf Road house for larger parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WisconsinDad34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

LSR has always been the one place where both of us can truly unwind. Friendly staff... it is nice being welcomed back year after year by name. Most of the time we have had Cottage 23 with screen porch and stone woodburning fireplace. The cottage is clean and comfortable. Breakfasts are great. The food at LSR's Fred & Fuzzy's Waterfront Grill is very good, They used to serve dinners 5 nights a week, but changing times.... Great hiking in nearby state parks.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank absws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here for a week and loved it! We stayed in one of the chalets and enjoyed having the comforts of two bedrooms, a full kitchen, and cable TV with a DVD player. However, it was quiet and secluded enough that we felt as if we had still "left it all behind." Our daughter loved the children's beach and the playground located on the property, and we all loved being able to take out one of the resort's pedal boats onto the lake.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chickadee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I've been to this resort 5 out of the last 6 years and it just amazes me at how it seems like home away from home. The service is wonderful; the staff friendly; and the rooms are so comfortable and cozy with their fireplaces and recliners. Also, I don't believe I've ever slept better on the road!
The resort itself is nestled in some of the most scenic and beautiful country I've ever seen. The sunsets are awesome, and Fred and Fuzzy's is a terrific place to unwind with a few drinks and/or have dinner while watching the sun go down. If you happen to still be there once it's dark, you'll witness a sky filled with stars (saw 7 shooting stars last trip!)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank radoslav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

My Mom & I are among many regular visitors to Little Sister Resort. We stay every fall around mid-October. We always reserve the same cabin for the following year when we leave. The staff is very accomodating and always greets us by name. We have also stayed in the chalet a few times as well. The entire property is always clean, quiet & welcoming. Firewood is provided for the cabins with fireplaces, which adds even more charm to an autumn getaway! Prices stayed consistent for the 10 years we have been going & are very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rezquen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
2.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
68 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
#12 of 17 in Sister Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Sister Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Sister Resort

Property: Little Sister Resort
Address: 10620 Little Sister Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9182
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Sister Resort at Pebble Beach, a Door County family tradition, is nestled within a secluded twenty-acre cedar forest bordering 400 feet of picturesque Green Bay shoreline.Totally Smoke-Free and No Pets Allowed Facility. Beautiful Sunsets. Making Memories. Creating Traditions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Sister Hotel Sister Bay
Little Sister Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing