We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Sister Resort
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Little Sister Resort in Chalet #15. It was clean and had plenty of space. We were located next to the barn on the property which I think is used by Maintenance and grounds crew. It was a bit noisy with them coming and going starting in early morning. Beautiful view of the golf course from the patio which we enjoyed. Bath towels and washcloths were old, thin and very scratchy. Next time we will bring our own from home. Great location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeanne215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was our 3rd year there, 2nd in this cabin, and we absolutely love the place! You feel like you are "up north" yet within minutes of all the Door County attractions. Cabin was very neat and clean (they added A/C this past year). Awesome sunset views...I don't think they get any better! Fred & Fuzzy's has great food and entertainment!

Room Tip: A cabin by the water has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We wanted a private cabin in the woods...on the lake. I was delighted to find this resort nestled on the lake with lovely views and perfect sunsets. Add bikes, row boats, a dock with comfy chairs, and this little secret place fit the bill. I hadn't been to Sister Bay in 32 years and was pleasantly surprised to find the quiet Little Sister Resort. Who needs a Hilton or a chain when this patch of heaven exists?

Room Tip: Cabin 25 had a wonderful view. I would ask for a cabin on the water side of the street for best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
7  Thank Meg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

At the last minute I planned a trip to Door County because the original plans, sailing on the S.S. Badger was canceled due to mechanical problems. I was able to get a cottage for the night at Little Sister Resort. Our cottage was wonderful, 2 bedrooms, bath, a sitting area and a screened in porch. We had a coffee maker, refrigerator and a microwave. Parking was very close and a short walk away was the restaurant, Fred and Fuzzy's. Fred and Fuzzy's is great to go for a meal or just drinks to watch the sunset. Little Sister Resort has a great private dock with an upstairs room where there are games to play or just hang out and watch the waters of Green Bay and the sunset. When we were there they had a nice continental breakfast (during the season they offer a home cooked breakfast). There are rowboats, paddle-boats and kayaks that you can use. Even though the location is great and close to many Door County activities, when you are at Little Sister Resort you feel very secluded, a cottage, chalet, or log cabin in the woods by the water. Note that this is smoke free environment and pets are not allowed.

Room Tip: This property has 6 Chalets, 13 Cottages, 5 Log cabins and 3 homes to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Oceans2view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in Cabin #27 with two adults and two children. We enjoyed our stay, as we went here looking for a more "traditional" Door County/cabin in the woods by the lake experience. We weren't looking for an "all inclusive resort". Here are my observations:

Space: Not a lot of it, but we didn't spend a great deal of time indoors. The shower stall is ridiculously small. Ladies, wax your legs before coming because you'll have to be a contortionist to shave in this shower. (Not exaggerating.)

Cabin Amenities: Dated decor, but clean and tidy. Decent sized fridge, which we packed full with food stuff and drinks we brought with for our own breakfasts and lunches. Small microwave available and small coffee maker (bring your own coffee beans). The office had coffee available though. Towels were a tad small and rough to the skin. Make sure to bring your own beach towels to use. Mattresses were WAY uncomfortable (slab 'O concrete firm). Didn't get a decent night of rest the entire stay. Nice windows all opened to allow a wonderful breeze. Baseboard heat and air conditioner in the living room helped cool the place down on our last day when the weather heated up. There is also a small table in the extra bedroom that you can use for eating at. We had brought our own card table to set up food on and prepare sandwiches, and the table in the cabin was a bit bigger ( we opted to use our own since it was smaller and took up less space).

Outside: Each cabin has it's own patio and is furnished with plastic Adirondack chairs and a table. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on our patio, having snacks, eating a meal, enjoying a beer! There are 2 (?) weber grills to use - just find one and drag it back to your cabin. Also bring your own charcoal and grilling gear. Our personal opinion was that cabin 27 had the best view - other cabins and trees blocked most of the view of Fred & Fuzzy's on one side, and cabins on the other side of us had an obstructed view of the lake because of the boat house down near the docks. Not sure who put it there, but there was a "clothes line" tied between two trees, which came in handy more than once. Parking for each cabin is right next to your cabin. We joined another family for a camp fire one evening which was down near the water. The wood must of been damp (not covered with a tarp), so it was ridiculously smokey.

Fred & Fuzzy's: The restaurant was within a short walk down the hill. I have a separate review of that place. I only bring it up here because there is a A LOT of traffic for this restaurant from about 6-9 p.m.....Every Single Night (weekend was worse). We even had one person want to park in our driveway (we told them "no". Some people are just too bold! When they pay $135 a night, they can have the parking spot there too.) So there's a constant parade of cars and loud motorcycles driving through trying to find a parking spot, turning around when they can't, foot traffic going down, foot traffic going back up, plus boats and wave runners docking at the pier. When the sun finally sets, applause breaks out. It kind of disrupts the peacefulness of being in a cabin near the lake. This was my main gripe about this resort. The rest I could easily deal with.

Beach Area: It's classified as a "children's beach" and IMO is for the 6 and under crowd, so this was a bit of a disappointment to my 9 and 12 year olds (we ended up going to the Sister Bay Beach just down the road, which was wonderful.) There's hardly any area to swim in at the resort's beach, although if you wanted you could jump off the piers into deep water (although there is a lot of plant growth, which would make me nervous getting tangled up in it while swimming.) There are ample chairs to recline on the pier, but no umbrellas set up anywhere, so you're in the sun.

Room Tip: Cabin 27 had the best view (see my comments)
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Joselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This place is a gem and offers a delightful way to unwind and relax. Clean but no frills, the little sisters resort can take you back in time of fat tire bikes and row boat trips around the bay with your loved one. The layout of this place is nooky so you never feel overcrowded. The trees and shrubs are mature and the stone paths meander offering a pleasant walk even if its just to the office for a cup of coffee. Cabins are clean and simple. Ours had a beautiful fireplaces though it was never chilly enough to use it. We did have a few fires in the fire pits around the grounds which were great. We were visiting during the collar season so our stay did not include the meal plan.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Bring a bar of soap and shampoo. The soap dispensers might also be a relic of the 60s and leave roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This place is worth driving across the country to visit. The views are gorgeous and so are the Scandinavian waitresses at Fred & Fuzzies. A perfect 10! And when I caught my 22" smallmouth on memorial day weekend, I felt like I was in heaven due to the wonderful sleep I got in Cabin 20. No wonder all the smallmouth choose to live here during the summer, I wish I could too.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Herbecmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
2.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
852 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Scandinavian Lodge
Scandinavian Lodge
#9 of 17 in Sister Bay
142 reviews
5.9 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#10 of 17 in Sister Bay
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Sister Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Sister Resort

Address: 10620 Little Sister Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9182
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Sister Resort at Pebble Beach, a Door County family tradition, is nestled within a secluded twenty-acre cedar forest bordering 400 feet of picturesque Green Bay shoreline.Totally Smoke-Free and No Pets Allowed Facility. Beautiful Sunsets. Making Memories. Creating Traditions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Sister Hotel Sister Bay
Little Sister Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing