We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Peaceful, Relaxing, Respite found in Out of the Way Inn...Cochlite Inn of Sister Bay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small, Peaceful, Relaxing, Respite found in Out of the Way Inn...Cochlite Inn of Sister Bay.”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay located on Highway 42, south of downtown Sister Bay, between the Bay Ridge Golf Course and Pirate's Cove Mini Golf Course. Just look for the large rock on the left side of the road with our name on it, and we're tucked back behind the trees.

My husband and I are photographers, and staying in Sister Bay was key to our trip over the June 7-9th weekend of the Door County Lighthouse Festival this year. I had lists upon lists of places to stay, but I was looking for something quiet and secluded away from the crowds...yet close enough to the highway to get places fast. We didn't need a pool. We had three really early morning rises with drives to Gills Rock and Fish Creek each morning about 20 minutes away in either direction. Coachlite was in the middle of the action, gave us the perfect central location with easy access to direct routes for quick transport and return. Rich, the owner of Coachlite Inn, was one of the best hosts we've every had...he was quick to give us some great advise for a very special spot to visit, and corrected one location for us that would not have happened at all without his help. I also found it refreshing that he still considers himself a visitor after years of being a tourist on the Door and now an inn owner. It was this kind of enthusiasm and love for the location that makes me want to return again....and soon! BTW...we got some great lighthouse and wildflower shots...just what I was looking for! I would recommend Coachlite for anyone who wants to "be a tourist" on a budget!

Room Tip: Tell them Carol Toepke sent you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope to see you again soon. The Fall colors are wonderful for photography in Door County. We're just saying... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    55
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prior Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

It's a pretty place. The owners are extremely accommodating. We had a room with a kitchenette, and a few things were missing or not working. Within hours of our mentioning this brand new fixes were in place. Great referrals for restaurants, and fun things to do. Cannot say enough...we've stayed before, and will stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your honest and positive review. We love our return guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Coachlite a few weekends ago, and it was a great experience. The Coachlite is a very peaceful place to stay. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed the hot tub. The hotel is close to Sister Bay, so you won't waste time driving around looking for fun. A+++ experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

During the middle of our stay and with no notice they shampoo'd the carpet in our room!
When we came back to our room in the afternoon, it was to a wet carpet!! The response when I said something to the owners was much less than satisfactory.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Maxie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
We are very sorry that you were unhappy. Our family is fully invested in helping our guests to enjoy their stay here. As far as our response to you. We did apologize and ask if there was something that we could do. You answered me by asking, "What could you possibly do?". I told you that we would be happy to let you check other rooms to see if one was better for you. You were not interested in that, and stayed three more nights. Again, we are sorry that you were unhappy.
We tried very hard not to trouble our guests with the carpet cleaning. We scheduled cleaning to be done during regular housekeeping times when guests were out for the day. We had them do extra extracting of the moisture, set dehumidifiers and left notes in the room in case you wanted to be moved to another room if any of this was a problem. We check each room after the housekeepers and cleaners are finished each day. We actually thought that the carpet cleaners had missed your room and one other because they were so dry. We specifically asked the carpet cleaners if they had missed your room because it did not feel damp at all. They said that they made it a point to leave it very dry because there were guests. I asked another guest how her room was. She said that she had kneeled on the carpet to put things into her refrigerator and felt no dampness. We do our best to keep a clean environment for our guests, and we're very sorry if your carpet was damp. Always let us know as soon as possible if there is something that can be fixed for you, and we'll do our best to help you have a happy stay. Peace to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great location in Sister Bay. Family owned and operated- friendly, very helpful and clean. Spent a recent weekend and felt welcome and very relaxed. Outdoor hot tub a hit with family members. Lots of singing birds and just right for a quiet weekend away. Nice location close to shopping, local attractions and churches too. Some rooms have a shower/hot tub combo for one. Continental type breakfast in office/ lobby area.

Room Tip: Two- 2 level buildings- some limited handicapped parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Rick_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Visited Door County for a nice fall girls' weekend, and stayed at the Coachlite Inn. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for introducing us to Julie's. This is the perfect place...it's not too far from Fish Creek and it's very close to downtown Sister Bay. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. The complimentary breakfast was a perfect start to our day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TM827_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Visited for a quick fall weekend to Door County. It's less than a mile from downtown Sister Bay, and not too far from Fish Creek. The outdoor hot tub was great in the cold weather, and the breakfast offerings in the AM made it easy to start our days. The rooms were nice and spacious too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C_K_B_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.8 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
394 reviews
1.3 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
#12 of 17 in Sister Bay
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
171 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay

Property: Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Address: 2544 S. Bay Shore Drive, P.O. Box 221, HWY 42, Sister Bay, WI
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and quiet in the pines, the Coachlite Inn lends the illusion of seclusion, yet is only one half mile from the heart of Sister Bay. We are within easy walking distance of the Country Walk Shops, restaurants, golf, churches, miniature golf, go carts, and amusement parks. Access to bike, walking, and jogging trail directly in front of the Inn. Within a mile are boutiques, art galleries, beaches, marinas, sailing, fishing, and tennis. Also nearby are the Famous Door County fish boils, horseback riding, professional theater productions, music concerts, night clubs, Peninsula and Newport State Parks, ferries to Washington Island, orchards and the many natural wonders of Door County.Our accommodations include Classic Rooms, featuring one queen bed or two full size beds. Our larger Deluxe Rooms offer one king bed or two queen size beds and the Plus rooms have whirlpool tubs. We also have queen, kitchenette, and two bedroom Suites available. All are tastefully decorated and include color cable TV with HBO, air conditioning, electric heat, ceiling fans, full baths, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, and in-room phones. Complimentary Door County coffee, juice, fruit, bakery, cereal, and milk are served in our lounge from 8 - 10 am. Sit and relax on our patio or next to the Koi pond! Wireless HSIA is available throughout the property. Lobby and desk are open and coffee is available 24 hours per day. Your hosts live on-site to better accommodate all of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachlite Inn Of Sister Bay Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing