We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“everything i had hoped it would be”
Review of Village View Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Village View Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
evansville,in
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“everything i had hoped it would be”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

after checking out most all of the motels web pages in door county we settle on the village view in sister bay. I was looking for a charming little place in the heart of all the shops and restaurants and village view seem to fit the bill. I loved the way it looked in its pictures. But sometimes that can be deceiving, not this time. I was very pleased on arriving. It was everything i had hoped for, very charming, very clean, the staff was very friendly. It was a very quaint little place. Marie

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marieevansville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    30
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
74
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

What a treasure this little motel is. There are 4 or 5 different buildings on site, each with a few rooms. We had a nice spot next to our building to enjoy the night time breeze - chairs were provided as well! Our host recommended the bowling alley for dinner and we were excited to find that the food and service were great. The motel rooms at Village View are newly remodeled and very clean. Coffee and rolls were served in the morning. We had a party of 4 and traveled by motorcycle. We would definitely stay here again.
Jodie & Trent Mueller

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JodieWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We stayed here for the second year as we like the location and they are very nice units. A lot of places to sit outside and relax. I especially like that they don't have a lot of amenities that we don't need. We usually leave in the morning and don't return until evening. The units are very clean and the people are very helpful and friendly. I would recommend it to anyone. We have intentions of staying there again next year. We also visited with other guests who return there every year, which tells a lot about the motel. I would give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jud43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

When inquiring about vacancies, the owner hung up on me, saying, "Whatever," when I had asked his name for the intent to call back at a later time to make reservations. Needless to say, I didn't call back at a later time and booked with a friendlier competetor. I've never been so disappointed with a business just from making a phone call.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pirminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Recently, I took a site seeing road trip up to Door County from Chicago and stayed over night at the Village View. Nothing fancy, just a very clean, quaint and friendly motel in the heart of Sister Bay. Jim & Tina the owners were both very courteous and helpful; you could tell that they cared about their guests and took great pride in their establishment. They even had free coffee and danish in the morning! Although it was perfect for myself; there wasn't a lot of area where children could play. Village View was certainly an excellent value for the money and certainly exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadwarrior09Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We recently spent a few day at Village View, Sister Bay, Wisconsin. It was a wonderful experience. Part of the buildings date back to the 1800's. The resoration has been done with great emphasis on showing the old with the new. The landscaping was beautiful and colorful and the whole setting was immaculate. Our room was large and clean and quiet. The owners were very friendly as was their staff. It is walking distance to restaurants and shops. All in all it was a great few days. We would recommend it highly.

  • Liked — friendliness
  • Disliked — clean
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktckids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

We were refered to the Village View from our B&B that did not have rooms for a third night. The Village View has a great location in Sister Bay halfway up the Door County Peninsula making everththing convenient. It has a nice location in Sister Bay just across from the boweling alley / supper club, you must go as they have great food, big portions and very reasonable prices.

The motel was clean and modestly appointed, it is a motel only, no pool or other facilities, Tina and Jim do put out some pastries and coffee in the morning. Unlike some of the other reviewers we had a pleasant encounter with Tina and had an interesting conversation on how they came to own the Village View. A very pleasent country type welcome and stay.

It appears the imperfect online reservation system was the instigator of two prior guests poor experience. We called directly and had a good experience.

  • Liked — Good inexpensive accomodations in a good location.
  • Disliked — Lack of a pool.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.5 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#5 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village View Inn

Property: Village View Inn
Address: 10628 N Bay Shore Dr, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9594
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sister Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sister Bay Village. Contemporary, immaculate rooms in a true in-village location.18 rooms in 6 individual buildings nestled on a wooded acre. Within walking distance of all village activities: restaurants, shops, galleries, beach, marina and park. Extended Cable TV. Free Wi-Fi. Morning coffee and pastries. Two night minimum on summer and fall weekends. Three night minimum on holiday and festival weekends. Open May through October. Sorry, no pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Village View Sister Bay
Village View Inn Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing