We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely mix of hotel and B&B”
Review of Open Hearth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Open Hearth Lodge
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely mix of hotel and B&B”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We came for a weekend getaway at the end of April - right before Door County's rush season. It was easy to get the room we wanted, for the less expensive off season rate. Everything was lovely. Very clean, staff was very friendly, accommodations were lovely. There is a pool and hot tub that we ran out of time before we could enjoy, but looked very inviting. There's a light continental breakfast in the morning, which was honestly one of the selling points when I was comparing hotels before I booked this one.

The room we booked has a king sized bed, a jacuzzi tub, a tv with cable and a DVD player, and a small fireplace. It was perfect. Everything worked, everything was clean, housekeeping was attentive. There are snacks and drinks available in the lobby if needed. We will definitely come back again, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHeadedGirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    58
    9
    7
    0
See reviews for
61
72
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I generally only write reviews for one of two reasons, a really bad experience or a really great experience. I was blown away by the Open Hearth Lodge in Sister Bay, WI. The website looked good and the prices were fantastic, so we decided to stay here for the weekend. The room was modern, super clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed for the weekend stay. The staff and owners were extremely kind and helpful, we felt like friends, not just guests. Our daughter loved the pool area and they even had some pool toys for kids. Overall, this was the best experience we've ever had away from home, we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Was there this past weekend for a family weekend getaway and had an awesome time! The hosts John and Nora were very welcoming along with their staff. All of our families rooms were ready to go when we arrived and the hot tub in our room was very relaxing! We also loved relaxing in front of the fireplace with our wine after a long day of shopping and the fresh complimentary breakfast and hot coffee every morning! I would highly recommend staying at the Open Hearth Lodge anytime of the year. Can't wait to go back later this summer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This little hotel is fabulous especially when you consider the price for a room in Door County. Everything was super clean. The pool and hot tub area did not smell of chemicals---a real plus to me! Breakfast included hard-boiled eggs, again, more than I had expected. And to top it off, no matter what staff member we talked to, all were friendly, going over and beyond to answer any questions and meet our needs. :)
For anyone coming to DC and wanting a relaxing time for a great price, I highly recommend this little hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

John and Nora run a 1st class Lodge/hotel. I've traveled extensively in my 68 yrs. and I've seldom found people/owners with more friendly, but professional style. Immaculate room and guest facilities. The whirlpool was a special delight for me--and was absolutely sparkling clean. Having done bacteriology work in my career, I am very careful about pools etc. The entire pool/whirlpool area, like the rooms is immaculate. The friendly attitude of both of these very fine people was heart warming for me--a recent widower. I now count them as friends! Please folks, do yourself a favor and stay with these wonderful people at their beautiful Inn!!!!

Room Tip: Cannot miss with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

For the price, it was much nicer than we expected. Looking for a bed for the night but now wish we had more time to enjoy pool and hot tub. Fireplace/sitting area in lobby cozy. Not much for breakfast other than usual simple things but one should not expect much for continental breakfast.

Bed was VERY comfortable and room had a fridge which was handy. Supplied soap was low end quality so I wish I had brought my own. Minor complaint considering how nice room was for the price. Decor was very, very nice also.

We stayed here off season (winter) and do hope to return someday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go_GreenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom suite which was very reasonably priced. The beds were comfortable and the lodge was quiet. There was a bus group also staying at the lodge while we were there and it never got loud or seemed overcrowded. Our main concern (which is our fault not the lodges) is that we were not aware that the 2 bedroom suite was on the second floor and there is no elevator. I have mobility issues which make climbing the stairs a little rough at times. As I stated however this was out own error in not checking before booking. Breakfast was very basic but ok. Based on the price and the rooms we had, our group would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.5 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
#12 of 17 in Sister Bay
70 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Hearth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Hearth Lodge

Property: Open Hearth Lodge
Address: 2669 S Bay Shore Dr, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9160
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Hearth Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is in a meadow on 6+acres at the Welcome to Sister Bay sign. Clean, friendly, well appointed, we offer fine accommodations at a reasonable cost, year round... Located minutes from beaches, state parks, biking, hiking, golf as well as the art, music and theater of Door County. Visit orchards, farm markets, wineries, or hang out at the pool or near the fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Open Hearth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Hearth Hotel Sister Bay
Open Hearth Lodge Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing