We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iconic Fish Fry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sister Bay Bowl

Sister Bay Bowl
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Sister Bay Bowl is a family-owned, family-friendly landmark offering great food, friendly service, ample portions, full bar and just happens to have a six lane bowling alley. "Da Bowl" is located on the hill in heart of Sister Bay.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Iconic Fish Fry”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I have been coming up to Sister Bay for over 35 years and we always go to " The Bowl " on Friday for the fish fry. Let me tell you how the fish melts in your mouth, the lightly breaded fish is curled because it is briefly steamed before frying. This has always been an old fashioned place with the wait staff working at a hurried pace to turn tables so more anxious customers can come in and get the goods. Wonderful Sister Bay Bowl.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChaChi121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    139
    46
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adams, wi
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friday Fish Fry”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Had a weekend get away and went to Door County and stopped in Sister Bay, while talking to the motel clerk asked her a good place to get a fish fry, she pointed the wife and I to the Sister Bay Bowl. A very low key place friendly staff and since off season we were seated quickly. I had the whitefish and the wife had the perch, both were great. They have a dual loaf of bread, white/wheat and was warm. We asked for second loaf as we were leaving and they gave one at no charge. Prices were within reason. View of the snowy downtown was neat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OK Fish Fry”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We went to Sister Bay Bowl for a fish fry in the Fall, and had high hopes! There were so many cars parked near by and a long wait for a table. Sorry to say that we were so disappointed!! The fish was heavily breaded and very greasy. We much prefer a more flavorful, lightly breaded coating. Everything was just average - no special service, nothing special for food - just ok. There are so many better options in Door County. We will not go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SCB711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fun place to go!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

great prices and just a fun place to go. prices are perfect and the staff is great. thank, i will be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weeatalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREEN BAY
Level Contributor
882 reviews
428 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Nice beef, great local atmosphere ”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Both had the Saturday night prime rib special. A nice size with salad and potato for $16.95. Well prepared medium rare. Good service in a busy dining room. Local favorite with decent bar and of course a bowling alley (not visible or audible from dining room). Other nightly specials.

Helpful?
1 Thank dsj5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sister Bay Bowl also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Sister Bay Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing