We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not impressed”

Northern Grill & Pizza
Ranked #15 of 34 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are all about great food and fun! Casual dining for the entire family. Outdoor dining with fireplace and cozy Northwoods theme. Steaks, seafood, our famous homemade pizza, spaghetti and lasagna. Full bar with casual pub seating. Large groups welcome. Gameroom and outdoor play area for kids. Home of the Door County Cherry Bomb Cocktail!
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Liked the name and looked good on the outside but not impressed with the inside. Our salad was horrible (old wrinkly lettuce) and the pizza was just ok a bit overpriced we thought.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmers630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    57
    38
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Food is tough in this town. If you're looking for a passable meal this place will do the trick. They can handle large groups and will get you out quickly. Fast food table service. Think Applebee's.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Sister Bay casual”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Let me start by saying that friends have told me that the Friday night fish fry and the Saturday night BBQ Baby Back ribs are worth the visit.

We went there on a monday night with a group of 16 people so we ordered off the menu. If you order a large tap beer before 6 o'clock it's $2.25 - after 6 it's $4.50.

I had the Walleye sandwich which is lightly breaded and fried and served on a homemade roll with cold slaw and chips (french fries $1.00 extra). The sandwich was excellant but pricey. My wife ordered wings ($10.75) and the house tossed salad with walnut honey dijon ($5.25) and loved it.

Some of the other orders were the supreme pizza which they are known for (sausage, pepperoni,onions, green peppers and fresh mushrooms - Small 12 inch $19.25 - Large 16 inch $23.25). Burgers ran from about $7 to $12.50 depending on size and what you want on them.

The restaurant was not crowded but the outdoor play area was crowded with several families with children.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Wings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Cute restaurant, great bar and very good wings (get the Uff-Da). Pizza was very good as well. It is a little overpriced - 2 orders of wings (7 wings each order) and a 12" pizza with a glass of wine and 1 soda was $50. Then again, everything at the Door in spendy. I would definitely go back, there is great outdoor seating and it's family friendly with a play area. The food was very good!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 13CMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice for adults and kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I went there with 5 other friends. We ate outside by the wood fire place. It was a nice atmosphere and there was a playground next to the dining area where the kids could play. The food was good. Nice selection of wine and other drinks. Food was a little on the expensive side, not unlike the rest of the area restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heavylunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northern Grill & Pizza also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Northern Grill & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing