We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lifted Our Spirits On A Cold And Rainy Night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Restaurant

Waterfront Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lifted Our Spirits On A Cold And Rainy Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We've been coming to Door Co for easily 35 years and somehow this great place remained unnoticed to us. Turns out they've been here 10 years and Wow, what a great spot. As intimated in the title, it had been a nasty nasty day and evening weather-wise and we were in serious need of warmth and comfort. Waterfront did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with with warmth and professionalism. As you enter, you know that this is one of the more upscale restaurants for Door Co - which is known for a little more low key old fashioned 'supper club' dining. (Although no one's ever explained to me what a 'supper club' is). In truth, there aren't that many really upscale dining spots in Door Co - many good just not exactly upscale. Anyway, we came in from the cold and rain and emerged into a large entrance area - nicely decorated - and from there you further emerge into several dining areas and a bar area that we didn't really see. The staff - from the woman at the front to our waiter and everyone else we encountered was just great. Most of the tables appeared to have water/ dock views. Ours certainly did. My one and only caveat is that from the description of this place, I expected a bigger selection of fresh seafood and steaks. I thought that's what we would find. I can't comment on the steaks because I think I only saw one on the menu and the only fish/ seafood that caught any interest was something with lobster (my fave) but it seemed way too convoluted in terms of it was... this with this with this and so on. I'm a purist and just want my seafood strait forward. Admittedly that's just me. What they did have was a nice little array of pasta dishes. All done moderately complex (again not for me) but not so much as to be overwhelming. Our party tried 3 different ones - which I think was about all there was and all were very good. Anyway, thanks to this very lovely place for a nice, warm evening

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gogirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    44
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sister Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best... ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

First time we ate here was right after a trip to France. I looked at my wife and said, "This is the best plate I've had all year!" In a word: Stunning! From atmosphere, wine list, menu this is a great experience. We've been many times and will go many more. Yes, get the sunset window seat (or eat on the deck) because this is the best marine restaurant view in Door County. Apps and wine at the bar are a great romantic, classy experience too.
I hope the owners continue to keep the quality way up there and not succumb to huge portions-take-home-box scenario everyone else seems to do. One of the qualities we truly respected on our first visit was the presentation of a beautifully prepared plate with a realistic portion.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Hidden In Door County !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

One of our newest "annual traditions" while up in Door County is to always plan an evening around the Waterfront Restaurant. The views of the water from the dining room are hard to beat, and the decor of the restaurant says fine dining--but not in a stuffy way. A wonderful wine list, and cocktails from the bar never hurt when enjoying your hard earned time off !!.I highly recommend going on an evening that they are offering the pasta tasting night. We have sampled everything offered over the years, but I highly recommend the Bolognese Pappardelle, the Truffle Pappardelle, and the Risotto. Do not make the mistake of thinking that this is a tasting menu and the portions are small. I promise you that you will not leave the table hungry. I am a big fan of experiencing the casual bar type dining that this area has to offer, but if you are looking to include a "fine dining" night during your visit trust me ----try the Waterfront.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We had such a great time at Waterfront. The food was delicious and the staff so nice! Our waitress Phuong was lovely, spoke excellent English, and gave us some great tips about what to do in town. I recommend the beef burger but the entrees were also great. Will definitely be going back

Helpful?
2 Thank Susannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A true gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Happened upon this by chance and we were very pleasantly surprised. The food and presentation were exceptional; the service was well done, the view was dynamite and the wine list well balanced. The menu changes and offers some unusual combinations nicely presented. We were looking for fresh local fish and weren't disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizabethgoestoWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing