We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roots Inn & Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 4 Sister Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

It was an accident that we stayed here. A hotel/motel we booked mixed up the reservation and put us up here for the night. We stayed in a small room. Breakfast was great, but just wished the room was a bit bigger. The grounds was beautiful and well kept. I would try them again and see if i could get a bigger room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZafferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed two nights at Inn on Maple in July 2011. Since this was our first stay at a B&B, we do not have anything to compare the experience to. However, we really enjoyed out visit, that this sets the bar high for future comparisons of B&Bs.
The owners, Louise and Bill, are very friendly and excellent hosts. They are a great source of information on local recommendations. Our room was smaller than a regular hotel room, but very clean and quaint. Comfy bed, soft towels, and soap that I really liked! Attached shower and in-room sink were more than adequate for our needs. Public space was excellent, specially the outdoor deck where we were served breakfast (weather being cooperative). Nice backyard. Both places would have been great to sit, relax and watch the birds and the squirrels, which we only did after breakfast each day.
Talking of breakfasts, they were wonderful! Louise is a superb cook. We loved the fresh-made breads and muffins, cherry-filled french toast, peach soup (really a light smoothie), the spinach frittata, along with the other items served. With Bill doing most of the serving, guests are really made to feel welcome. We also got to meet a visiting relative who was helping Bill and Louise. There were cookies (which we did not try as they were chocolate chip cookies and we do not like chocolate - Gasp!) and lemonade available thru the day. A good selection of teas for non-coffee drinkers. If you linger around after breakfast, you might meet the hosts' dog Lily, an older sweet cockerspaniel.
Small gift shop on premises. Located very close to the main street (Hwy 42), but we were surprised by how quiet it was. Other guests we met only at breakfast were friendly.
If we return to Door County, we will definitely stay at here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Once you stay here, you will return to enjoy the wonderful breakfasts each morning. Rooms a bit small, but decorated in Victorian style with lovely antiques. Comfortable beds and all rooms are ensuite. Innkeepers, Bill and Louise, will make you feel like friends of the family.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed here for a night over Labor Day weekend and it was our first time at a B&B. The owners Bob and Louise are extremely friendly, helpful and just overall great hosts.

The Inn is in an ideal location and close to everything! The property is well maintained, comfortable and makes you feel very much at home. You have access to a dinning/porch area, an entry area and a living room with a TV, couches, tables, chairs, guest bathroom, etc. They have games available, as well as a piano for those that can/like to play. There is coffee, tea and cookies out at all times! Also, Louise makes an AMAZING breakfast!! We had stuffed cherry croissant french toast, bacon, a blueberry muffin, cherry juice and coffee! The meal is included with your room and is probably better than you would get at any of the local restaurants!

Our room (#5) was tiny, comfy and quaint. It had a bathroom with shower and small sink in the room. No TV, but it was not needed. There was an alarm clock and some relaxing CDs provided, as well as some chocolates. We had our lap top and watched movies after we came back from dinner.

All the guests were friendly and quiet. You could still hear people from the local bar/restaurants b/c of the location, but it was not too bad.

They have a parking lot in the back, as well as a nice porch and backyard. The property itself was built in 1902, but you can't tell b/c it is updated and well kept.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. If you are planning on coming here and want to stay at a B&B, I strongly suggest you give them a try!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZChicagoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Just got back from a trip to Door County. We stayed at the Inn on Maple for 2 nights and loved it! Bill and Louise were so great. The beds were so comfortable and we loved coming back to the inn in the afternoons to hot cider/tea/coffeee and cookies. The breakfasts were so good and very creative. Hands down, I would stay here again. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

This was by far the best experience I have ever had at a B&B. My wife and I always wanted to go to Door County and finally got the chance for our 25th anniversary. We chose a B&B in Sister Bay to give access to the whole county. What we didn't expect was the great couple that owns the Inn on Maple, Louise and Bill are great and easy going people, very knowledagble about the areas and attractions and restaurants. They gave us the inside scoop on where to go and what ot do, just why we stay at a B&B. But the breakfasts are to die for, just when you think it can't get any better out comes the stuffed french toast. The building is clean, neat , quantly decorated and tidy, the location is great and the feel is homey.

I would deffinately go back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

The innkeepers were very informative and helpful. They had great suggestions for places to eat, things to do and where the best theatres were at.

The room with the 2 twin beds was small but very comfortable. The hospitality outstanding. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. With Door County being a Cherry hotspot, the breakfast always included cherry juice and something with cherries in it. The chocolate cherry muffins were absolutely tasty.

Each of the rooms had its own private bath. They provided lemonade and cookies in the evening and had a beautiful deck to enjoy the evenings.

Would highly recommend. Plenty to do in Sister Bay and just a short drive away from Fish Creek.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MILeisureTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.4 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
182 reviews
3.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
81 reviews
1.9 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roots Inn & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roots Inn & Kitchen

Address: 2378 Maple Dr, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9150 (Formerly Inn on Maple)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sister Bay
Price Range: £83 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 rooms all with private bath and AC. Located in the heart of downtown Sister Bay, minutes walk to beach, marina, shops, restaurants, bars. Listed on the National Historic Register, sitting on .6 acres of beautiful gardens and large outdoor elevated deck. Restaurant and bar on site, open to public for lunch. Inn guests always get happy hour! Rotating breakfast, and daily complimentary drink and ap ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roots Inn & Kitchen Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing