We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to stay here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roots Inn & Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 4 Sister Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Just got back from a trip to Door County. We stayed at the Inn on Maple for 2 nights and loved it! Bill and Louise were so great. The beds were so comfortable and we loved coming back to the inn in the afternoons to hot cider/tea/coffeee and cookies. The breakfasts were so good and very creative. Hands down, I would stay here again. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Roots Inn & Kitchen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2008

This was by far the best experience I have ever had at a B&B. My wife and I always wanted to go to Door County and finally got the chance for our 25th anniversary. We chose a B&B in Sister Bay to give access to the whole county. What we didn't expect was the great couple that owns the Inn on Maple, Louise and Bill are great and easy going people, very knowledagble about the areas and attractions and restaurants. They gave us the inside scoop on where to go and what ot do, just why we stay at a B&B. But the breakfasts are to die for, just when you think it can't get any better out comes the stuffed french toast. The building is clean, neat , quantly decorated and tidy, the location is great and the feel is homey.

I would deffinately go back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

The innkeepers were very informative and helpful. They had great suggestions for places to eat, things to do and where the best theatres were at.

The room with the 2 twin beds was small but very comfortable. The hospitality outstanding. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. With Door County being a Cherry hotspot, the breakfast always included cherry juice and something with cherries in it. The chocolate cherry muffins were absolutely tasty.

Each of the rooms had its own private bath. They provided lemonade and cookies in the evening and had a beautiful deck to enjoy the evenings.

Would highly recommend. Plenty to do in Sister Bay and just a short drive away from Fish Creek.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MILeisureTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

The owners of this inn are true inn keepers who know their business and surroundings. Breakfasts were hearty and delicious and although the rooms were small the common areas more than made up for it. A full TV room and large, expansive deck were at our full disposal. Lemonade and cookies in the evening were a nice touch and the inn keepers were always available for information or a friendly chat. Couldn't recommend this establishment more!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank patterbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2006

Husband and I just returned from our 3rd stay at Inn on Maple.

Sister Bay is a good, central location of Door County. It's less chaotic than Egg Harbor or Fish Creek, but certainly not quiet or isolated.

This is the typical B&B in terms of decor and atmosphere. Some of the rooms are tiny, but they all have private baths. The rooms are extremely clean.

The breakfasts here are the very best of any B&B or inn that we've been, too. Each morning, there is always a complete and interesting breakfast served to you by the owners. The owners are fun and entertaining, but also very resourceful and very good innkeepers.

We've stayed at a couple other places in Door County and always keep our eyes open for different options, but we keep returning here for a wonderful stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoChique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.4 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#8 of 17 in Sister Bay
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
177 reviews
3.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
786 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roots Inn & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roots Inn & Kitchen

Address: 2378 Maple Dr, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9150 (Formerly Inn on Maple)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sister Bay
Price Range: £81 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 rooms all with private bath and AC. Located in the heart of downtown Sister Bay, minutes walk to beach, marina, shops, restaurants, bars. Listed on the National Historic Register, sitting on .6 acres of beautiful gardens and large outdoor elevated deck. Restaurant and bar on site, open to public for lunch. Inn guests always get happy hour! Rotating breakfast, and daily complimentary drink and ap ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roots Inn & Kitchen Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing